We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
tree3425
Lemon Tree Passage, Australia

Excellent value for a pub lunch.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 June 2022via mobile
Very old traditional type hotel. The lunch specials were $15 Monday to Friday. Could also order drinks with your lunch which was nice. The food was excellent as was the service. Old style architecture with easy access for wheelchair or if you’re a bit older lovely timber finished. The staff were friendly and came around during lunch to check everything was satisfactory. Highly recommend for lunch.
Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Reception
Booking.com
AU$158
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$158
  • Hotels.com
    AU$151
  • Expedia.com
    AU$158
0.8 km from Barron Valley Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Atherton Hotel Billiards
Booking.com
AU$137
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$137
  • Hotels.com
    AU$133
  • Expedia.com
    AU$137
0.2 km from Barron Valley Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$183
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$183
  • Vio.com
    AU$162
  • Hotels.com
    AU$183
2.0 km from Barron Valley Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$125
  • Priceline
    AU$127
  • Vio.com
    AU$112
  • Expedia.com
    AU$127
1.6 km from Barron Valley Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$180
  • Priceline
    AU$180
  • Agoda.com
    AU$144
1.6 km from Barron Valley Hotel
Booking.com
AU$168
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$168
  • Agoda.com
    AU$168
  • Vio.com
    AU$168
3.4 km from Barron Valley Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$280
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$280
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Lol.travel
15.4 km from Barron Valley Hotel
Free parking
Spa
Booking.com
AU$140
  • Priceline
    AU$140
1.7 km from Barron Valley Hotel
ZenHotels.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
1.8 km from Barron Valley Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$145
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$145
  • Agoda.com
    AU$145
  • Vio.com
    AU$145
11.2 km from Barron Valley Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Atherton
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
29
30
8
5
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
29
30
8
5
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak lunch specials by the glass old style well worth the visit pub crumbs tablelands queensland
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2022

Well…. Where to start, the accommodation was extremely basic, the taps in the rooms producing a black substance. The owner was rude upon arrival and came out with some racist remarks. Beware of the indigenous people who live in a Forrest opposite the hotel. There are reports of them carrying m’achètes and robbing work boots and laptops. As someone white from the United Kingdom, we were verbally abused by some locals. And we were also refused a refund on the weeks rent including the bond which we paid out for. The vast majority of the place was very run down and the kitchen was very overcrowded! All in all would definitely not recommend to others. The people staying at the hostel said the farm work was horrible and you were treat like a number and slurred and shouted at. Not a pleasant experience to say the least. DO NOT STAY HERE

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank milesr878
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2022

Went there for an evening dinner and paid for dinner and drinks. When my wine arrived there was lipstick smudge all around the rim of my glass. I returned the drink immediately and was given another glass. From then on I just didn’t want to be there. Very sloppy hygiene for these days.

Date of stay: February 2022
Thank 402russelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 February 2022 via mobile

Adjacent to the Barron Valley Hotel on the main street of Atherton, this café was the first stop in my road trip from Cairns out to the Gulf of Carpentaria. The coffee was wonderful (local White Whale coffee), the staff were friendly and chatty, and my corned beef and sauerkraut toastie was oh so tasty (they have a toastie menu with some really interesting choices & use local Tablelands bread from The Country Crumb). I would stop off here again in a heartbeat.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank WorldTravla7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 November 2021

On holidays and staying at Palm Cove. Visited the Barron Valley Hotel on previous holidays and have enjoyed every visit. The Hotel is beautiful! Original Art Deco. Love it!! The staff are very friendly, the food spot on. Oysters were beautifully fresh and really large. The owners are very friendly and explained the history of the hotel. We will be back and we recommend the Barron River to all visiting Atherton.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank suesK9583SN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 October 2021

Friends get together. Have previously eaten at BV and was more than pleased with the meals HOWEVER tonight we (8) were very disappointed with our meals. The chips were cold. No dressing on salad. Lamb chops on the ‘raw’ side. Chicken parmi overcooked.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank suewQ7809IX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews