We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Russell Y
Ayr, Australia

Cringeworthy

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Feb 2022
Went there for an evening dinner and paid for dinner and drinks. When my wine arrived there was lipstick smudge all around the rim of my glass. I returned the drink immediately and was given another glass. From then on I just didn’t want to be there. Very sloppy hygiene for these days.
Date of stay: February 2022
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Reception
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$159
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Barron Valley Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Atherton Hotel Billiards
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$144
  • Hotels.com
0.2 km from Barron Valley Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$173
  • Hotels.com
1.8 km from Barron Valley Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$170
  • Hotels.com
2.0 km from Barron Valley Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.6 km from Barron Valley Hotel
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$134
  • Booking.com
1.6 km from Barron Valley Hotel
Free parking
Pool
    1.8 km from Barron Valley Hotel
    Pool
    Restaurant
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • Priceline
    3.4 km from Barron Valley Hotel
    Free parking
    Pool
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    • Trip.com
    15.4 km from Barron Valley Hotel
    Free parking
    Spa
    • Priceline
    1.7 km from Barron Valley Hotel
    View more hotels in Atherton
    Reviews (80)
    Filter reviews
    80 results
    Traveller rating
    29
    30
    8
    5
    8
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    29
    30
    8
    5
    8
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews steak lunch specials by the glass old style well worth the visit pub crumbs tablelands queensland
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    8 - 13 of 80 reviews
    Reviewed 13 February 2022 via mobile

    Adjacent to the Barron Valley Hotel on the main street of Atherton, this café was the first stop in my road trip from Cairns out to the Gulf of Carpentaria. The coffee was wonderful (local White Whale coffee), the staff were friendly and chatty, and my corned beef and sauerkraut toastie was oh so tasty (they have a toastie menu with some really interesting choices & use local Tablelands bread from The Country Crumb). I would stop off here again in a heartbeat.

    Date of stay: September 2021
    Trip type: Travelled solo
    Thank WorldTravla7
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 10 November 2021

    On holidays and staying at Palm Cove. Visited the Barron Valley Hotel on previous holidays and have enjoyed every visit. The Hotel is beautiful! Original Art Deco. Love it!! The staff are very friendly, the food spot on. Oysters were beautifully fresh and really large. The owners are very friendly and explained the history of the hotel. We will be back and we recommend the Barron River to all visiting Atherton.

    Date of stay: November 2021
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank suesK9583SN
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 7 October 2021

    Friends get together. Have previously eaten at BV and was more than pleased with the meals HOWEVER tonight we (8) were very disappointed with our meals. The chips were cold. No dressing on salad. Lamb chops on the ‘raw’ side. Chicken parmi overcooked.

    Date of stay: October 2021
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank suewQ7809IX
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 14 July 2021 via mobile

    This is a beautiful old hotel. We went for dinner after checking their website which said dinner from 5pm. They accepted our booking for 5pm however on arrival we were told that dinner is not til 6pm. A bit disappointing that their website can't be correct. However, with that being said the service was good and the meals were great.

    Date of stay: July 2021
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank Georgieboy1701
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 17 January 2021

    This place is absolutely garbage, when I first arrived we weren’t even spoken too just handed our keys. The rooms haven’t been updated since 1938 when last renovated and there was a hole in my floor. Brown water coming out of the sinks no privacy in bathrooms and the owner is miserable asf and spends his time drinking at his own bar. Legit a prison.

    Date of stay: January 2021
    Trip type: Travelled on business
    Thank Russelcoit
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews