We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
georgieboy170
Kuranda, Australia

Great pub, just check the times.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 July 2021via mobile
This is a beautiful old hotel. We went for dinner after checking their website which said dinner from 5pm. They accepted our booking for 5pm however on arrival we were told that dinner is not til 6pm. A bit disappointing that their website can't be correct. However, with that being said the service was good and the meals were great.
Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Reception
AU$151
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Barron Valley Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$173
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.8 km from Barron Valley Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$280
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$280
15.4 km from Barron Valley Hotel
Free parking
Spa
Atherton Hotel Billiards
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$142
  • Hotels.com
0.2 km from Barron Valley Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$165
  • Hotels.com
2.0 km from Barron Valley Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
1.6 km from Barron Valley Hotel
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$130
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Barron Valley Hotel
Free parking
Pool
    1.8 km from Barron Valley Hotel
    Pool
    Restaurant
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    3.4 km from Barron Valley Hotel
    Free parking
    Pool
    • Priceline
    1.7 km from Barron Valley Hotel
    View more hotels in Atherton
    Reviews (80)
    Filter reviews
    80 results
    Traveller rating
    29
    30
    8
    5
    8
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    29
    30
    8
    5
    8
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews steak lunch specials by the glass old style well worth the visit pub crumbs tablelands queensland
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    12 - 17 of 80 reviews
    Reviewed 17 January 2021

    This place is absolutely garbage, when I first arrived we weren’t even spoken too just handed our keys. The rooms haven’t been updated since 1938 when last renovated and there was a hole in my floor. Brown water coming out of the sinks no privacy in bathrooms and the owner is miserable asf and spends his time drinking at his own bar. Legit a prison.

    Date of stay: January 2021
    Trip type: Travelled on business
    Thank Russelcoit
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 17 February 2020

    Great place to do farmwork and nice little town to do it in! Had a blast at this hostel from beginning to end. Mick is up front and never did me wrong. I’d definitely stay here again. Also, bones is a legend.

    Date of stay: November 2019
    Trip type: Travelled solo
    Thank 613lynh
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 5 February 2020

    Best experience and best place to do farm work on the 417 visa. They find you work and transport to and from work is included in rent. Great steak and chicken parmi too. Drank pretty much every weekend in the bar with everyone from the hostel. Good deals too in bar on drink.

    Date of stay: August 2019
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank 074091
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 27 December 2019

    I was staying in Atherton for a month and I went there to have lunch almost everyday. The staff were very nice, especially Amanda and Nina. I loved the care and attention they gave me. The meals were very nice and I ate almost everything on the menu. The pub is nice and the drinks were great. I'm returning shortly for another month and will definitely eat there again. I can't wait.

    Date of stay: December 2019
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank webamanjohnny
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 13 December 2019

    Unclear guidelines when checking in has ultimately resulted in myself and partner losing 180 dollars each for a weeks stay in a shared dorm.

    Other Australian hostels give refunds when circumstances change. Work and situation promised was not the case, and we left after honouring hours given.

    Accommodation and facilities are very poor, racist comments made by staff when taking you to and from the farm, nice as pie until you pay them and then very difficult to deal with.

    If you're looking to do your 88 days, I would advise finding work elsewhere.

    Allegedly a working hostel is being built in Atherton Valley by a rival company, independent lodges with own kitchens etc. I'm sure they'll harvest a lot of Barron Valley's business.

    Date of stay: December 2019
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    2  Thank 244tobyj
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews