We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in great prices from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Cameron M

Tolga backpackers working hostel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Feb 2020
I have been at tolga backpackers for the last 3 months and I’ve honestly had a great experience here, between December to February I was never once without work and got my farm work completed very quickly. As long as you are a good hard worker you are going to get plenty of work. Included in your rent is all transport to and from work which is a huge bonus compared to many other working hostels, and there are 3 trips to the supermarket per week. The hostel is well managed and maintained. I’d highly recommend coming here if you are looking for farm work, just be prepared for hard work and you’ll be absolutely fine.
Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Reception
Tripadvisor
AU$150
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Tolga Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
Atherton Hotel Billiards
Tripadvisor
AU$133
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Tolga Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$150
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Tolga Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$178
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$178
  • Vio.com
    AU$158
  • Expedia.com
    AU$178
2.5 km from Tolga Backpackers
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
AU$135
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
0.3 km from Tolga Backpackers
Free parking
Pool
Lol.travel
    0.1 km from Tolga Backpackers
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Hotels.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Priceline
    • Lol.travel
    2.1 km from Tolga Backpackers
    Free parking
    Pool
    Priceline
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Booking.com
    • Agoda.com
    0.4 km from Tolga Backpackers
    Vio.com
    • Lol.travel
    0.3 km from Tolga Backpackers
    Pool
    Restaurant
    Booking.com
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    • Lol.travel
    14.3 km from Tolga Backpackers
    Free parking
    Spa
    View more hotels in Atherton
    Reviews (6)
    Filter reviews
    6 results
    Traveller rating
    1
    2
    1
    1
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    1
    2
    1
    1
    1
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    1 - 6 of 6 reviews
    Reviewed 1 February 2020

    I been there for 4 weeks and just I worked 11 days, they always lie about the jobs to keep you paying the rent. The rent is to expensive, is $200 even if you don’t get job, you can’t use your own car to go to your job. Some days I been waiting 2 and even 3 hours in the farm cause the bus arrived late. The kitchen always is dirty, it has 1 microwave to everybody (more than 200 people), the fridges are dirty and full of insects. the housekeeper doesn’t clean really well. They got 2 “managers” if you can call them managers... and they are so arrogant and irresponsible, always lying about the farms jobs promised you farm that doesn’t even exist. You will share your space with people from Vanuatu and most of them are so dirty, drunk and disgusting people (they doesn’t made theirs dishwashers. Don’t waste your time and money, you can find 2 more working hostel around tolga/Atherton. Worst hostel ever I been.

    Date of stay: January 2020
    Trip type: Travelled solo
    1  Thank R3928LXstevenr
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 23 January 2019 via mobile

    Came here to do farm work. Rent was $200 a week for a six bed room. The bathroom had mice holes in the walls so we had mice living in the room - we were told we would be provided with mouse traps but we never were. The outdoor kitchen was a nightmare - there were 8 working gas hobs when we were there and about 180 people living there so it just did not work. Kitchen as you can imagine was always a mess due to the sheer amount of people cooking in it. Had to pay for the wifi as well. Yes it is a working hostel so you can’t expect everything to be perfect but to charge everyone $200 a week for it is shocking.

    Date of stay: December 2018
    Trip type: Travelled on business
    2  Thank heatherdunn16
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Tolga B, Owner at Tolga Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2019

    Hi Heather, we apologise that you did not enjoy your stay with us and appreciate your feedback. We have gone to great effort to improve our rooms and communal kitchen over the last 12months.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 8 July 2013

    Had a great night here with a very comfortable bed. Terry was very helpful with local information. The dinner that night was very good, well cooked and nicely presented. The bread for the toaster was very welcome the next morning. The outlook across the oval is relaxing and it is a good buffer from the road noise. All in all very good value for money and nice to deal with folk like Marilyn and Terry

    Date of stay: June 2013
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank abar
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 10 December 2012

    We decIded to stay here for its proximity. The motel is old but has been refurbished and has a high level of cleanliness. The manager's are friendly and the place has a bistro. On booking in I was told that the normal menu wouldn't be available as there was an "open Mic night" on and there would be a "Roast Buffet". We managed to get a plate each of what was left and more was brought out to ensure that we were catered for. There was only one roast meat available and dessert was at a cost. I didn't think the $15 per person was of good value for what we had or offered. The dessert was good with my son and I choosing the Apple Crumble and Ice Cream and my wife chossing the Caramel Slice which was also good. I would probably stay here again but not an "Open Mic Night" as the normal menu offer looked good.

    Date of stay: December 2012
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank LiveCairns
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 8 March 2011

    We stayed here when we had to evacuate due to cyclone Yasi. Marilyn and Terry are the owner/operaters. They were very helpful and welcoming and made the stay relaxing and enjoyable even though it was quite a stressful time. The room we stayed in was clean and comfortable: with a double bed, small table and chairs, bathroom, t.v, wardrobe, bench, bar fridge and toaster & kettle. You are given toast and tea, coffee ingredients each night for your breakky in the morning in your room and you have the option of having dinner at their restaurant (all tasty, home cooked meals and they make a wicked steak and gravy!). I think you can also have a cooked breakfast in the restaurant too. Marilyn and Terry also put on a bbq for all of us staying during the cyclone...we met some great people during our stay as well. I'd recommend a stay here if you are travelling through Atherton. It's also close to the town centre which makes it convenient as well.

    Date of stay: February 2011
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Wendy499642
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews