We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Claudia S
Cairns, Australia

DIRTY DISGUSTING - DEFINITELY NOT RECOMMENDED

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Apr 2015
Room we stayed in (above reception) was absolutely disgusting! It was dirty - tried to get a refund and he said "your cleaning standards are different to ours". Everything that I mentioned that was wrong with it - there was always an excuse. Even the reception itself is in a disgusting state. Definitely not recommended - personally I felt dirty and unhygienic staying in this place. Cobwebs, animal poo and dust everywhere! There were even cobwebs in the shower. The floor was flimsy and felt like we were going to fall through! Worst accommodation I've ever stayed in. As a business, they have a responsibility to stick to standards in which their products comply to and this definitely did not.
Date of stay: April 2015
Room Tip: Disgusting - don't go in room one above reception
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$173
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$173
11.8 km from Lake Tinaroo Terraces
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$168
  • Priceline
  • StayForLong
  • Agoda.com
    AU$168
11.4 km from Lake Tinaroo Terraces
Free parking
Pool
Reception
AU$156
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
12.8 km from Lake Tinaroo Terraces
Free Wifi
Free parking
Atherton Hotel Billiards
AU$155
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
13.5 km from Lake Tinaroo Terraces
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$133
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
12.8 km from Lake Tinaroo Terraces
Free parking
Pool
AU$179
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
15.2 km from Lake Tinaroo Terraces
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$140
  • Priceline
12.6 km from Lake Tinaroo Terraces
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
9.0 km from Lake Tinaroo Terraces
Free parking
Spa
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
12.6 km from Lake Tinaroo Terraces
    13.2 km from Lake Tinaroo Terraces
    Pool
    Restaurant
    View more hotels in Atherton
    Reviews (22)
    Filter reviews
    22 results
    Traveller rating
    3
    4
    3
    7
    5
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    3
    4
    3
    7
    5
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    10 - 15 of 22 reviews
    Reviewed 30 January 2015

    Only stayed one night wish I could have stayed for a week.

    Great views of Lake Tinaroo from your private balcony sit out there and drink a glass of wine or a beer or two eat your breakfast or just read a book.

    My upstairs bedroom you could lay in bed and look out over the lake down stairs there was a pullout double bed and bunk beds.

    Very hot in Cairns 37+ but up here was nice and cool

    Date of stay: January 2015
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    1  Thank Andrew S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 24 August 2014

    The unit we stayed in was a little colder than expected (we were there in winter, though) as the wind can blow down the valley. The facilities are a little run down (the BBQ is not working 100%). The unit is quiet, and it is a nice weekend breakaway. However is are no mobile signal, unless you walk up the hill. There is a cute little beach in front of the units.

    Date of stay: July 2014
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank Laurie R
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 14 July 2014

    I am not a cleanliness nut but our unit could only be described as grubby and because of that it was hard to enjoy our one night stay. The actual building looks attractive from the outside but leaves a lot to be desired. Cooking is difficult in the little galley kitchen provided. We also found it difficult to locate as directional signage was virtually non existent.

    Date of stay: July 2014
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    1  Thank silvan115
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

    I don't give 1 star often but this was one of kind. We wanted to stay at the resort, but there was a wedding on the weekend so we decided to stay this place. Upon arrival, we got bed linen at the reception due to we have an extra person, they could have put in the room but they just gave them to me. The room is enough space but not clean. Bath room was dusty and mouldy...But we tried to make a best out of it.

    They have very basic kitchen equipment. They know will have 5 people yet, they only kept 4 sets of plates and cutlery. There was no extra toilet paper do each tune we had to go to the reception to get one. No paid/non paid wifi. Our room can't even get mobile network.

    I don't think I will stay again.

    Date of stay: June 2014
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    2  Thank Makiko O
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 22 April 2014

    Stayed in a two bed unit. The location is beautiful, right on the lake and great swimming pool. The units are fine - although the lounge area is a bit small, there is a great balcony. Everything is in working order and the manager/owners are lovely. My only comment would be that the units need a good spring clean and possibly some updating - everything was clean, but obviously unused for awhile so there was dust on plates, and cooking equipment. The decor is old and outdated. But it is functional and we had a lovely night here.

    Date of stay: April 2014
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank janita_48
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews