We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous place for a relaxing getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
2 person Spa on the back deck at sunset
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
2 person Spa on the back deck at sunset
Road Signage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
2 person Spa on the back deck at sunset
Road Signage
Kitchen & Dining
Kitchen
Dining area with view
View from second floor landing
View from second floor landing
Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom
Second Bedroom
Second bedroom
2 person Spa with Bubbles
View of Doctors Gully from back deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Daylesford, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chrissy C
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“NICE”
Reviewed 16 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Nice little cottage in a great location. We enjoyed our stay however it wasn't as secluded as we thought it would be with neighboring properties right next door. We were getting ready to enjoy the outdoor spa when we hear a hello from a lady below us. Not very private at all. The property was lovely however there could be a few improvements with the cleaning. There were cobwebs on the windows and the spa area had old tea light candles still around it. The cushions that were on the deck were covered in dirt and bird droppings. It was very quaint and in a good location and we loved the little extra touches of the bubbles and chocolates when we arrived but for the price there are better properties around.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spa was nice but could do with an update
Liked least: No Privacy
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2016
Thanks Chrissy for your review, we always appreciate it when our guests take the time to let us know about their stay. We try very hard to make our guests stay as enjoyable as possible.

We note your comments about the bird droppings on the cushions, unfortunately it is a bush block and one of the things we love is that we do back on to Doctors Gully which brings the wildlife, unfortunately the wildlife do bring in mess, which we are aware of and do regularly clean and tidy the deck, but something we can't control.

We apologise for our neighbours being friendly and saying hello, Daylesford is a very inclusive community and again that is what we love.

We will speak to our manager about the tea lights and cob webs, this was an oversight and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention.

Thanks again for your review.

Di & Duncan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mal and R...
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous place for a relaxing getaway”
Reviewed 29 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We recently spent 3 nights at Briars Cottage and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The cottage is in a great location with a lovely bush outlook and with all the privacy one could want.
The cottage is extremely well appointed in all facets - kitchen set-up and all the little extras which are provided; the lounge and dining area and the deck out the back overlooking the bush area. Bed was very comfy and bathrooms are well appointed. Daylesford is a great spot for exploring this region of Victoria - there are numerous great restaurants and cafes from which to choose not to mention all the wineries.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2016
Thank you Ros for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Briars Cottage. The back deck is a new addition so it nice to hear that you enjoyed it. We hope that you will stay again soon.

Di & Duncan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatBat49
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tranquil cottage in Daylesford”
Reviewed 14 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Excellent communication and care from owners. Champagne, bottled water, condiments, teas and chocolates are lovely treats on arrival. Great location and quiet. The 2 story cottage gave our family space alone and together. My teenage son loved the outside spa bath. The extra touches of lap blankets and candles made it feel homely. There's plenty of accommodation in Daylesford or Hepburn Springs, though I'd recommend Daylesford in preference. Although we love a good hotel, the privacy of Briar's Cottage was a much better choice and gave us flexibility to cook or not. There are lovely cafe and food options in Daylesford.
I would have liked a longer stay at Briars Cottage and will happily return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: nature views, spa bath, lounge room
Liked least: UHT milk
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2016
Thank you Natalie for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Briars Cottage. We work hard to make our guests stay as pleasurable as possible so really love hearing when they like the little extra touches. We hope that you will stay again with us soon.

Di & Duncan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaqueline...
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Perfecto!”
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Beautiful location in bushland with rosellas and carrawongs. The spa is lovely, furnishings are homely and stylish and self contained. Very clean. No complaints, perfect little cottage to stay. I hope to stay longer than 1 night next time. Thank you Briars Cottage! :-)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2016
Thank you Jaqueline for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and we hope you will stay longer next time.

Di & Duncan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken C
1 review
“A Cozy Cottage”
Reviewed 7 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

That was my honeymoon trip to Briars Cottage. It was a comfortable accommodation provided everything we needed such as different cooking seasonings, bath salt, etc. The most impressive facility was the spa bath at the balcony surrounded by candles. Inside the bath, we could enjoy a hot bath and look at the green views outside.
Briars Cottage surely was the most enjoyable accommodation in my honeymoon trip. I would recommend my friend to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spa bath at the balcony
Liked least: The location is far from city
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Dec 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you had a memorable stay for your honeymoon.

We look forward to you staying again one day.

Di & Duncan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing