We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three Cheers for Brendan”

Secret Forest Walks
Ranked #2 of 8 Tours in Daylesford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Experience the beauty and seclusion of the Wombat Forest,Daylesford, using our specially programmed hand held GPS units as your guide. No clubs or tours, just you and the company of your choice, or solo if you wish. Choose from a selection of carefully mapped scenic bushwalks to suit your tastes and abilities. Ask for a backpack of walkers essentials to round off the experience, or BYO. We also have fun and challenging GPS Treasure Hunt games (Geocaching) for families and corporate groups.
Reviewed 23 May 2016

We recently did 4.8k Daylesford GPS treasure hunt walk and it was smashing hit with our girls gang. Brendan was very helpful, well organised and tailored the walk as per our requirement. He even organised a nice herb bouquet from his garden as special gifts for 2 of the mothers to be. We really enjoyed the walk around the lake and great time looking for clues on the way to unscramble the mystery word.

Thank Achala D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SecretForestWalks, Owner at Secret Forest Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2016

Thanks you Achala.
It was pleasure to meet you and your enthusiastic friends. I've noticed that the Treasure Hunt works particularly well with women friends, who enjoy the space and exercise and also sharing in the challenge of the hunt.
All the best for the mum's to be.
Cheers
Brendan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2016 via mobile

We had a fantastic time exploring Wombat Forest. Brendon was really helpful in identifying the right walk for us and the GPS kept us on track. It was really special to explore, with little reveals along the way such as wombat holes, creeks and tree fern gullies.

Thank Maccas07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SecretForestWalks, Owner at Secret Forest Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2016

Many thanks, and also thanks for publishing some photo's of the journey.
Is that a Tom Roberts reference in the fireside shot?
Nice work.

Brendan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2016

This was a fantastic way to spend an afternoon in Daylesford. We were looking for something quiet, peaceful and relaxing. A little hike through the Wombat Forest was really great and just what we were after. Brendan met us at a cafe and went through some hike suggestions based on our preferences and what we were looking for. He showed us how to use the equipment, which was very easy to use and gave us some maps and instructions to take with us. He also asked us to check in with him midhike to make sure we were safe. We saw some great wildlife – a couple of wallabies, a kangaroo, a kookaburra and a pair of black cockatoos.

Thank kwassant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SecretForestWalks, Owner at Secret Forest Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2016

Thanks you for your kind review. And thank you for the feedback regarding the half way mark text 'G'day' back to me.
It's only for the longer walks. I sometimes think it could be a bit intrusive, so it's good to hear that it can be appreciated.

All the best.

Brendan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2016 via mobile

Really informative and well organised host, Brendan makes the experience really worth it, gps was also high quality and routes really easy to follow!!

Thank michael_aus88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SecretForestWalks, Owner at Secret Forest Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2016

Thanks Michael.
Really appreciate your feedback. We are changing over the Garmin Oregon 300 GPS units to the newer Oregon 600s, so its great that the improved screens and usability is being noticed by walkers.
All the best.

Brendan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2016 via mobile

Wonderful birthday surprise for a friend . I chose an easy walk with my friends arm still in a sling after breaking her collarbone and it was just perfect. We loved finding the special points of interest, enjoyed the GPS that didn't talk to us to disturb the wonderful peace and bird sounds. Felt like we were miles away from home while that wasn't the case. Proved again that you don't have to go far for a perfect ( well organized) mini escape. The peaches were scrumptious! Thank you Brendan!

Thank An D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SecretForestWalks, Owner at Secret Forest Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2016

Thanks for your lovely review An. And thanks also for posting some of your photos. It's great to see a walk from the perspective of the actual walker.

Cheers.

Brendan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Secret Forest Walks also viewed

 

Been to Secret Forest Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing