We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Wonderful experience!

My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed the Clear Air walk! Brendan was extremely welcoming and gave... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
solefaction1
Treasure hunt

Kids (and Mum) really enjoyed the treasure hunt. A terrific way to enjoy the beautiful surrounds of... read more

Reviewed 4 November 2018
Kerry D
via mobile
Read all 112 reviews
  
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
99
13
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
99
13
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews treasure hunt gps unit fun activity off the beaten track gps guided clear instructions lake daylesford team building activity great fun whole family my partner beautiful surrounds picnic rug great exercise amazing walk spend an afternoon his passion
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2016 via mobile

We had a fantastic time exploring Wombat Forest. Brendon was really helpful in identifying the right walk for us and the GPS kept us on track. It was really special to explore, with little reveals along the way such as wombat holes, creeks and tree fern gullies.

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank Maccas07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SecretForestWalks, Owner at Secret Forest Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2016

Many thanks, and also thanks for publishing some photo's of the journey.
Is that a Tom Roberts reference in the fireside shot?
Nice work.

Brendan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2016

This was a fantastic way to spend an afternoon in Daylesford. We were looking for something quiet, peaceful and relaxing. A little hike through the Wombat Forest was really great and just what we were after. Brendan met us at a cafe and went through some hike suggestions based on our preferences and what we were looking for. He showed us how to use the equipment, which was very easy to use and gave us some maps and instructions to take with us. He also asked us to check in with him midhike to make sure we were safe. We saw some great wildlife – a couple of wallabies, a kangaroo, a kookaburra and a pair of black cockatoos.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank kwassant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SecretForestWalks, Owner at Secret Forest Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2016

Thanks you for your kind review. And thank you for the feedback regarding the half way mark text 'G'day' back to me.
It's only for the longer walks. I sometimes think it could be a bit intrusive, so it's good to hear that it can be appreciated.

All the best.

Brendan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2016 via mobile

Really informative and well organised host, Brendan makes the experience really worth it, gps was also high quality and routes really easy to follow!!

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank michael_aus88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SecretForestWalks, Owner at Secret Forest Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2016

Thanks Michael.
Really appreciate your feedback. We are changing over the Garmin Oregon 300 GPS units to the newer Oregon 600s, so its great that the improved screens and usability is being noticed by walkers.
All the best.

Brendan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2016 via mobile

Wonderful birthday surprise for a friend . I chose an easy walk with my friends arm still in a sling after breaking her collarbone and it was just perfect. We loved finding the special points of interest, enjoyed the GPS that didn't talk to us to disturb the wonderful peace and bird sounds. Felt like we were miles away from home while that wasn't the case. Proved again that you don't have to go far for a perfect ( well organized) mini escape. The peaches were scrumptious! Thank you Brendan!

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank An D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SecretForestWalks, Owner at Secret Forest Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2016

Thanks for your lovely review An. And thanks also for posting some of your photos. It's great to see a walk from the perspective of the actual walker.

Cheers.

Brendan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile

With Brendan Murray today we found the old majestic trees in Wombat State Forest and we walked through ferns till we got to wombat city. All this before morning tea by Buttarto Lake. A divine morning in the shade of gum trees outside Daylesford.

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank Chantal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews