We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hens group loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Albert Guest House & Mills Spa Suites
Oak park
1 review
“Hens group loved it”
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Lovely well appointed apartments built in an old textile Mill .
Beautifully furnished with leather lounge ,new kitchen ,leather bed heads ,tastefully decor very modern.
All the girls enjoyed there treatments in the Albert Day Spa with Whitney giving me a lovely facal
Highly recommend very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayvengelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    36
    15
    8
    22
See reviews for
13
71
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Found this place through wotif.com. It was a secret deal, but it was obvious from the description before we booked it that it was this place, and we ended saving around $40.00, if I remember correctly.

When we got there we were greeted by who I think was the owner, her toddler daughter, and an employee. They chatted with us, took our details and told us the key was in the door to our room, which had been left unlocked and was accessible from the street to anyone who wanted to just walk in. The place was also fully booked for the night (6 suites in total).

When we got in there, there were no towels in the room so I went back to Reception to ask for some. The owner was sitting in a back room looking a bit distant (I think she runs the 'spa' but doesn't get much business) and the employee kept telling me that there were towles in the room, even though I insisted there were none. She eventually gave me some.

The room wasn't much cop. The kitchen floor was very sticky, the furniture and fittings all seemed second hand and poorly installed. The finish of the room was of poor quality and the bed squeeked horrendously with the tiniest movement. You are expected to leave the room tidy when you leave, else you will be charged extra. Um, what is house keeping for?!

To top it all off, there was no breakfast the following moring. This was not mentioned when checking in or in the guest information booklet in the room. Reception hours only began at 9am (?!) so we had to leave the key in our door once again, leaving it available to anyone. So if someone off the street walked in after me, regardless that there is a police station across the street, and stole something would I be held accountable?

In short, don't waste your time with this cheap, dirty and lazy establishment. There were about 2 or 3 other places to stay in the same street instead. Next time I'll be spending more in this already overpriced town to get a better room.

Room Tip: Get a room elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsCSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Daylesford hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Good location and well-priced but floors did feel strange (see previous review) and when we arrived, the gas heater didn't work. Also, massaging shower head not working so had to have a very average shower. Would have preferred a room with a spa and bigger, more powerful shower for my husband (we stayed in apt #6, with 2 bedrooms but didn't use the one).....try one of their other apartments.
Good kitchen, very clean and for one night it was adequate. liked the blend of old and new furnishes, very eclectic mix!
Note: VODAFONE doesn't work in Daylesford/Hepburn Springs, so having no coverage was not convenient, to say the least! And these rooms don't have landllines in them, so we couldn't phone the 'listed help' number anyway.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donnak333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAlbert-TheMills, Manager at Albert Guest House & Mills Spa Suites, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
Hi Donna thanks for your review i would just like to say to other travellers that read this that unless you pay for a room with a spa you do not get one and when you book through a third party website we can not help out with those things as it is already locked in once you pay for it, and on the night of your stay we were full and can not give you what someone else has paid for, we do not put phones in the room's nor advertise that as they are not hotel rooms they are apartments, the gas fire i turned on for you myself as you asked which was working, in the shower they are not massage jets it's just another function for the water to flow from so if you use other functions the pressure is higher, and the promotional listing you paid for less than half the night is valued at $240.00 and in Daylesford there really is not much for the price and of this value for that money. Yes the floor has been left with a little tilt to add to the character, the building was originally a knitting mill and is over 150 years old now, it might not be for everyone though we enjoy, that is the only apartment that is on a tilt like that as it was the side of the mill. Maybe next time you come you could stay in another as they are all very different no 2 of them are the same in style, layout or decor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

My wife and I spent 2 nights in this charming heritage accommodation. From check in to check out we were made to feel most welcome from all staff. We were told about the history of the building and given some history of the owners. The attention we received was just the right level.
The accommodation itself is still work in progress and will be for some time, but rather than detracting from the stay it added to the charm.
We had a downstairs room with our own bathroom, complete with shower and claw bath. The bedroom while small was clean and most importantly warm.
Breakfast was a do it yourself affair with simple but adequate selections of cereals, beverages and bread, more than sufficient.
While we a tv in our room we also had access to a larger model in the lounge.
Overall, we had a peaceful and restful 2 nights at a location we would not hesitate to return to.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edmil60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Stayed here one night on our tour around Victoria. Thanks Rebecca for ease of booking and check in/out. Wonderful modern fit out - two bedroom apartment leather bedheads and lounge suites. Very spacious living area and modern kitchen. Gas fire was very welcome. Close to shops and Rebecca suggested a lovely place for our evening meal. Sloping floor at rear (bathroom) and front of building made us feel a bit unsteady - would not recommend for people that may suffer vertigo (strange I know but may have something to do with the renovation of the building I guess as it used to be an old textile mill). Bathroom was clean but mirror needs readhering to the wall and maybe a less fancy shower head (most of it not working anyway) would save room in the shower. Otherwise very happy and would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank creativecatz2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daylesford
0.1 km away
Central Springs Inn
Central Springs Inn
#4 of 5 in Daylesford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.9 km away
Lake House
Lake House
#1 of 5 in Daylesford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Frangos
Hotel Frangos
#3 of 5 in Daylesford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Bellinzona Grange
Bellinzona Grange
#3 of 5 in Hepburn Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.6 km away
Daylesford Central Motor Inn
0.3 km away
Daylesford Royal Hotel
Daylesford Royal Hotel
#2 of 24 in Daylesford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert Guest House & Mills Spa Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert Guest House & Mills Spa Suites

Property: Albert Guest House & Mills Spa Suites
Address: 12 Camp St, Daylesford, Victoria 3460, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Daylesford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Daylesford
Price range (per night): $122 - $319
Hotel Class:4 star — Albert Guest House & Mills Spa Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albert Guest House and Mills Spa Suites are centrally located in the heart of Daylesford. The Albert Guest House offers heritage style rooms, a comfortable period style lounge area to relax in and a dining room with continental breakfast provisions. Many of the rooms have en-suites and a couple of the rooms have a private victorian style bathroom with claw foot bath. The Mills Spa Suites/Apartments offer modern warehouse style self - contained accommodation with lounge/kitchenette and dining area, and many featuring a gas log fire, king bed and jetted spa bath. Some of the apartments have two bedrooms or an open plan area that sleeps up to six/ and two of the apartments can be adjoining to suit groups or families. All the apartments are stylishly furnished with air conditioning and ceiling fans. The boutique Albert Day Spa is located within the Albert Guest House and our professional therapists offer a range of personalised beauty/massage treatments to ensure you leave feeling relaxed and revived. We are walking distance to great cafes, shopping, restaurants and wine bars, the convent gallery, Daylesford lake and wombat botanical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Albert Guest House & Mills Spa Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert Guest House & Mills Spa Suites Daylesford, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing