We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character plus.”
Review of Bundanoon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bundanoon Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bundanoon
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We visited Bundanoon and decided to have lunch at the hotel. When you get past the bar area, you are in a graceful buildidng of times past. It has a definite 'English" feel and look to it. As it was lunchtime, they were only offering their 'snack' menu, but the menu had a good variety. The meals were substantial, and inexpensive for the quality - I had a beef and Guinness pie, with salad instead of chips. The pie was superb, and the salad had a lovely dressing. And it was only $14. Do wander around, and look at the beautiful foyer with its graceful curved staircase up to the guest accommodation. The craftsmanship in the staircase is superb, as are the original stained glass windows. Well worth a visit. I checked the accommodation costs, ranging from $130 for an en-suite room, down to $45 for shared facilities. If you are up that way, like walking, the Moreton National Park with many splendid lookouts os right there. Well worth a side trip off the Hume Freeway.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happy-Wanderer1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 88 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2012

My husband and I wandered in here while vacationing in Bundanoon, planning on having a pint and then wandering on to someplace else for dinner. We first went to the "bar" side and it was quite rough and not terribly inviting. We thought perhaps we'd just move on, then happened to walk through to the other side of the pub, which was lovely, convivial, and utterly charming, and decided to stay for a pint or two. Getting hungry, we decided to have a go and ordered dinner at the bar. The food was fantastic, plentiful, and very reasonably priced and we thoroughly enjoyed our evening. I don't know that there are many other dinner options in Bundanoon, so I think this was a good bet and a very enjoyable overall.

Room Tip: Great food and atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Definitely worth staying at if you have never been but only worth one visit. We only went as we had always wanted to stay there and to see Mary the ghost. Needless to say we didn't see Mary but in saying that our late night photo's had some very strange shadows on them. Pretty cool. You could make whatever you wanted out of them :).

It's clean, beds are comfortable and that is about it. Very expensive for what you get. Breakfast was probably the worst I have ever had and at $20 a bit of a joke.

Room Tip: Do not bother getting one with an on suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UrbanJungle1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Having heard good reviews of the restaurant at this hotel, our group of friends travelled from Sydney on a Saturday for lunch. As it was a 60 th birthday, we booked in advance. Imagine our horror when we arrived to find that there was "snack food only" ( a fact that wasn't mentioned when we booked). The staff were extremely unhelpful and did not appear to understand our dismay. The snack menu was extremely limited and whilst the beef pie was nice, the accompaniment of handfuls of commercial chips was not. An all round terrible experience.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

3 of us enjoyed a very tasty meal here last Thursday night. We knew to book, as on a previous Friday night it had been booked out. Prosciutto-wrapped prawns were solid and tasty, salmon and chicken dishes generous and well presented with seasonal vegetables. Service very friendly and efficient. Good choice of drinks. Interesting desserts and very fair prices.

Room Tip: Have actually stayed here overnight a year or so ago. Room was small but comfortable, but remember...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynnCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundanoon
10.3 km away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
997 reviews
23 km away
Peppers Craigieburn
16.9 km away
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21 km away
Links House
Links House
#1 of 9 in Bowral
396 reviews
26.9 km away
Best Western Grand Country Lodge
0.3 km away
Bundanoon Country Inn Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bundanoon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bundanoon Hotel

Address: Erith Street, Bundanoon, New South Wales 2578, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Bundanoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bundanoon
Price Range: $88 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bundanoon Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bundanoon Hotel is in the Southern Highlands of NSW, the Hotel was built in 1922 and is set on 2 hectares of beautifully manicured gardens containing many cold climate species. The Hotel is located a short walking distance from the Bundanoon Station and is a short drive to the Morton National Park which offers spectacular bushwalking as well as the opportunity to see the glow worms after dark in Glow Worm Glen. The Hotel offers different levels of Hotel / Pub Style accommodation to suit all guests. There are ensuite rooms, shower rooms, hand basin rooms and budget rooms. The Hotel also boasts a tennis court, swimming pool, full sized Billiards table, table tennis table and cosy open fires for those cold winter nights. Racquets and sports equipment is also available at the office. The Hotel has a restaurant/bistro and was awarded the 2012 Sydney Morning Herald Good Pub Food 3 Schooner Award. Bikes can be hired from the Bicycle Shop and cafe conveniently located across the road so guests can enjoy an exciting tour of the town at their own pace before returning to the Hotel for a soothing hot drink in front of the open fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Bundanoon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing