We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel!”
Review of Bundanoon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bundanoon Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bundanoon
Reviewed 12 February 2012

What an adorable old time place to stay! Built in the 1920's there are ghosts in every long corridor! It has the most wonderful staircase and the room downstairs with the fire is breathtaking!

We stayed for one night in January 2012 and we had the time of our lives! The room was clean, the bathroom was modern, the entire experience was delightful! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the drinks moderately priced and the food DELICIOUS. I thoroughly recommend this place for people who want a weekend escape. Don't expect the Hilton.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peet75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 94 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2012

We've stayed at the Bundanoon pub on a number of occasions and have always enjoyed our time there - friendly service, and clean, but basic accommodation.

On our last visit, we booked a double room with en-suite for 2 nights - we were charged /person rather than /room - at that price we could have booked 2 double rooms and alternated.

Our room was not cleaned on the second day - bed was not made, cups unwashed, and towels were not replaced - we requested clean towels to replace the still wet ones, and this was done with little grace.

We dined both evenings at the hotel dining room - always an enjoyable experience, and it was this time as well. Breakfast was not.

Bundanoon is a small town with quaint charm, and happy memories for both of us. I'm not sure after our last experience, whether we'll stay at the hotel again. Sad, but unless they improve their customer service, they'll lose return guests.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the railway line are recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JanL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

This is a typical country style pub/hotel where you can choose an ensuite room or if on a budget, a room where you have share toilet/shower (just be careful when leaving the room, the doors slam shut and you could have a very embarrassing night). The funniest is the owner, who is a lovely man but bears an uncanny resemblance to Basil Fawlty if not entirely in looks, then in character. Go for a look and be pleasantly surprised with every room different and breakfast an experience! Good value for money. Hope you like trains.

Room Tip: Ask for "back of house"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NewcastleCatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Much more than your normal pub stay. The rooms were clean, the people friendly, the food was great. The spacious lounge with open fire and piano made for a great atmosphere. "We will return!"


John W

Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
2  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I arrived at the hotel about 2.30pm on Friday 7/10/11 and immediately went to the main bar. The service was friendly and so were the locals. At about 5pm they served free hot snacks on the bar. When all our party had arrived (about 15 people) we left to have dinner at a local restaurant and then returned to the down stairs lounge where we sat in front of the fire, talked and drank Guiness. A very relaxing and an enjoyable night. My room was old style with shower and hand basin and the toilets were just up the hall. Both were well maintained and comfortable and reminded me of classy old time hospitality. We ate as a group in the restaurant on the Saturday night and we all agreed that the meal was one of the best we have had, far better than the cost would have suggested. Overall it was a trip back to the days of grand accommodation, good and friendly service at a reasonable price. I would definately recommend the Bundanoon Hotel to anyone wanting a relaxing weekend away.
.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundanoon
10.3 km away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
913 reviews
23 km away
Peppers Craigieburn
16.9 km away
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 km away
The Sebel Bowral Heritage Park
21 km away
Links House
Links House
#1 of 9 in Bowral
389 reviews
0.3 km away
Bundanoon Country Inn Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bundanoon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bundanoon Hotel

Address: Erith Street, Bundanoon, New South Wales 2578, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Bundanoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bundanoon
Price Range: $81 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bundanoon Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bundanoon Hotel is in the Southern Highlands of NSW, the Hotel was built in 1922 and is set on 2 hectares of beautifully manicured gardens containing many cold climate species. The Hotel is located a short walking distance from the Bundanoon Station and is a short drive to the Morton National Park which offers spectacular bushwalking as well as the opportunity to see the glow worms after dark in Glow Worm Glen. The Hotel offers different levels of Hotel / Pub Style accommodation to suit all guests. There are ensuite rooms, shower rooms, hand basin rooms and budget rooms. The Hotel also boasts a tennis court, swimming pool, full sized Billiards table, table tennis table and cosy open fires for those cold winter nights. Racquets and sports equipment is also available at the office. The Hotel has a restaurant/bistro and was awarded the 2012 Sydney Morning Herald Good Pub Food 3 Schooner Award. Bikes can be hired from the Bicycle Shop and cafe conveniently located across the road so guests can enjoy an exciting tour of the town at their own pace before returning to the Hotel for a soothing hot drink in front of the open fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Bundanoon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing