We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
16
51
26
10
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
51
26
10
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold stylecountry pubdining roompub foodclean roomsstep back in timeopen firefriendly servicefew drinkshand basinold worldwall heatergrand old ladysunday lunchlovely old hotelschnitzelmulled wine
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We've stayed at the Bundanoon pub on a number of occasions and have always enjoyed our time there - friendly service, and clean, but basic accommodation.

On our last visit, we booked a double room with en-suite for 2 nights - we were charged /person rather than /room - at that price we could have booked 2 double rooms and alternated.

Our room was not cleaned on the second day - bed was not made, cups unwashed, and towels were not replaced - we requested clean towels to replace the still wet ones, and this was done with little grace.

We dined both evenings at the hotel dining room - always an enjoyable experience, and it was this time as well. Breakfast was not.

Bundanoon is a small town with quaint charm, and happy memories for both of us. I'm not sure after our last experience, whether we'll stay at the hotel again. Sad, but unless they improve their customer service, they'll lose return guests.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the railway line are recommended
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JanL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

This is a typical country style pub/hotel where you can choose an ensuite room or if on a budget, a room where you have share toilet/shower (just be careful when leaving the room, the doors slam shut and you could have a very embarrassing night). The funniest is the owner, who is a lovely man but bears an uncanny resemblance to Basil Fawlty if not entirely in looks, then in character. Go for a look and be pleasantly surprised with every room different and breakfast an experience! Good value for money. Hope you like trains.

Room Tip: Ask for "back of house"
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NewcastleCatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Much more than your normal pub stay. The rooms were clean, the people friendly, the food was great. The spacious lounge with open fire and piano made for a great atmosphere. "We will return!"

John W

Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
2  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I arrived at the hotel about 2.30pm on Friday 7/10/11 and immediately went to the main bar. The service was friendly and so were the locals. At about 5pm they served free hot snacks on the bar. When all our party had arrived (about 15 people) we left to have dinner at a local restaurant and then returned to the down stairs lounge where we sat in front of the fire, talked and drank Guiness. A very relaxing and an enjoyable night. My room was old style with shower and hand basin and the toilets were just up the hall. Both were well maintained and comfortable and reminded me of classy old time hospitality. We ate as a group in the restaurant on the Saturday night and we all agreed that the meal was one of the best we have had, far better than the cost would have suggested. Overall it was a trip back to the days of grand accommodation, good and friendly service at a reasonable price. I would definately recommend the Bundanoon Hotel to anyone wanting a relaxing weekend away.
.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

The rooms were clean, comfortable & spacious. The main lounge with the open fire & comfortable seating encouraged relaxation & conversation. The dinner was excellent & reasonably priced. A gem, reeking with edwardian elegance, We'll be back!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews