We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bundanoon Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bundanoon
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I arrived at the hotel about 2.30pm on Friday 7/10/11 and immediately went to the main bar. The service was friendly and so were the locals. At about 5pm they served free hot snacks on the bar. When all our party had arrived (about 15 people) we left to have dinner at a local restaurant and then returned to the down stairs lounge where we sat in front of the fire, talked and drank Guiness. A very relaxing and an enjoyable night. My room was old style with shower and hand basin and the toilets were just up the hall. Both were well maintained and comfortable and reminded me of classy old time hospitality. We ate as a group in the restaurant on the Saturday night and we all agreed that the meal was one of the best we have had, far better than the cost would have suggested. Overall it was a trip back to the days of grand accommodation, good and friendly service at a reasonable price. I would definately recommend the Bundanoon Hotel to anyone wanting a relaxing weekend away.
.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 98 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2011

The rooms were clean, comfortable & spacious. The main lounge with the open fire & comfortable seating encouraged relaxation & conversation. The dinner was excellent & reasonably priced. A gem, reeking with edwardian elegance, We'll be back!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

This is a step back in time, excellent staff, excellent food, great little bar and for guests a full size snooker table with large open fire place. Don't wait for the staff just light it up if you are cold. The restaurant was book out and a group of 15 people without a booking had to be turned away, dinner was served with a smile.

Being old some of the furnishings are by their very nature dated (1940's!) which for me adds to the stay. Not all rooms have their own bathroom but you are advised this when making a booking. Great for a night or two away.

Did I say the food was good, it is and breakfast is recommended. (I didn't need lunch :)

Great country pub, one of the best.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a bathroom, and if you enjoy the sounds of trains go for room 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bam1748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We ate in the restaurant 6yrs ago and vowed to not return but on seeing an advert"New Chef" with a french cuisine background thought we might give it another go as this is a convenient location when we visit. With dimmed lights,cobwebs and shabby tables with plastic liners thought that the food might change our opinions, a well done steak came out too quick for our liking obviously finished in the microwave as the sinew curled it up, and the chicken schnitzel was thigh meat yak pepper sauce was literally cracked pepper in gravy not the traditional green peppercorns with a few crushed for flavour, disappointed again we shut the door on this establishment for good....

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minx88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We knew we were getting a room with no en-suite facilities, but didn't expect to be charged the same as other rooms with better facilities. The bathrooms were very old and tired. OK if you are paying bargain prices. We loved the bar and the fire. Would have been better if the fire was lit before 5.30 as it was Very Cold. We went for Xmas in July and a fire was part of the promise. The chairs were not grouped for small groups.
All would have been forgiven if we had a great meal which we paid $70.00 a head for. It was like a 'roast of the day' at the local club that you would get for $15. The chef admitted he hadn't made the desert - it was tinned Xmas pudding - the other was Woolies meringue with cream and strawberries - YUK!!
We thought it was all very tired and relying on some past times that must have been successful. The piano player didn't even have the same song books as the diners.
All in all, a very poor Xmas in July experience.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front get noise from the trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundanoon
10.3 km away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
910 reviews
23 km away
Peppers Craigieburn
16.9 km away
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 km away
The Sebel Bowral Heritage Park
21 km away
Links House
Links House
#1 of 9 in Bowral
389 reviews
0.3 km away
Bundanoon Country Inn Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bundanoon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bundanoon Hotel

Address: Erith Street, Bundanoon, New South Wales 2578, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Bundanoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bundanoon
Price Range: $83 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bundanoon Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bundanoon Hotel is in the Southern Highlands of NSW, the Hotel was built in 1922 and is set on 2 hectares of beautifully manicured gardens containing many cold climate species. The Hotel is located a short walking distance from the Bundanoon Station and is a short drive to the Morton National Park which offers spectacular bushwalking as well as the opportunity to see the glow worms after dark in Glow Worm Glen. The Hotel offers different levels of Hotel / Pub Style accommodation to suit all guests. There are ensuite rooms, shower rooms, hand basin rooms and budget rooms. The Hotel also boasts a tennis court, swimming pool, full sized Billiards table, table tennis table and cosy open fires for those cold winter nights. Racquets and sports equipment is also available at the office. The Hotel has a restaurant/bistro and was awarded the 2012 Sydney Morning Herald Good Pub Food 3 Schooner Award. Bikes can be hired from the Bicycle Shop and cafe conveniently located across the road so guests can enjoy an exciting tour of the town at their own pace before returning to the Hotel for a soothing hot drink in front of the open fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Odigeo and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Bundanoon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing