We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
16
51
26
10
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
51
26
10
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold stylecountry pubdining roompub foodclean roomsstep back in timeopen firefriendly servicefew drinkshand basinold worldwall heatergrand old ladysunday lunchlovely old hotelschnitzelmulled wine
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2011

The rooms were clean, comfortable & spacious. The main lounge with the open fire & comfortable seating encouraged relaxation & conversation. The dinner was excellent & reasonably priced. A gem, reeking with edwardian elegance, We'll be back!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

This is a step back in time, excellent staff, excellent food, great little bar and for guests a full size snooker table with large open fire place. Don't wait for the staff just light it up if you are cold. The restaurant was book out and a group of 15 people without a booking had to be turned away, dinner was served with a smile.

Being old some of the furnishings are by their very nature dated (1940's!) which for me adds to the stay. Not all rooms have their own bathroom but you are advised this when making a booking. Great for a night or two away.

Did I say the food was good, it is and breakfast is recommended. (I didn't need lunch :)

Great country pub, one of the best.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a bathroom, and if you enjoy the sounds of trains go for room 8.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bam1748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We ate in the restaurant 6yrs ago and vowed to not return but on seeing an advert"New Chef" with a french cuisine background thought we might give it another go as this is a convenient location when we visit. With dimmed lights,cobwebs and shabby tables with plastic liners thought that the food might change our opinions, a well done steak came out too quick for our liking obviously finished in the microwave as the sinew curled it up, and the chicken schnitzel was thigh meat yak pepper sauce was literally cracked pepper in gravy not the traditional green peppercorns with a few crushed for flavour, disappointed again we shut the door on this establishment for good....

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minx88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We knew we were getting a room with no en-suite facilities, but didn't expect to be charged the same as other rooms with better facilities. The bathrooms were very old and tired. OK if you are paying bargain prices. We loved the bar and the fire. Would have been better if the fire was lit before 5.30 as it was Very Cold. We went for Xmas in July and a fire was part of the promise. The chairs were not grouped for small groups.
All would have been forgiven if we had a great meal which we paid $70.00 a head for. It was like a 'roast of the day' at the local club that you would get for $15. The chef admitted he hadn't made the desert - it was tinned Xmas pudding - the other was Woolies meringue with cream and strawberries - YUK!!
We thought it was all very tired and relying on some past times that must have been successful. The piano player didn't even have the same song books as the diners.
All in all, a very poor Xmas in July experience.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front get noise from the trains.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

A Tudor-revival survival from the 1920s and a delightful place for a meal, especially in cold weather. Built in the 1920s, the Bundanoon Hotel has changed remarkably little. The dining room adjacent to the saloon bar is a cosy original from that era, with original furniture and wood panelling (only pity is that the original open fire is no longer operating). Good pub food with friendly service and congratulations to the management - no canned music when we were there. Proper espresso machine. The public bar is also unchanged, furnished with 1920s tiles and chrome and beer advertisements from that era. Atmospheric entrance hall and staircase.

Right next to the similarly antique Bundanoon railway station.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank higvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews