We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Jewel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shelter Cove
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn of the Lost Coast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shelter Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Jewel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

My husband and I took a road trip from Seattle to San Francisco and we splurged one night here and loved it! We had stumbled upon it on the map and were very happy we did. Our experience was great and we would definitely go back!

I wrote a bit more about it and have some photos on my blog if you would like to see more! http://hiddentraveltreasures.com/getting-lost-in-northern-california/

Room Tip: We splurged and booked the suite, which in our opinion was totally worth it...the hot tub with a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Boscopix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    57
    15
    4
    5
See reviews for
23
109
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

I was traveling solo on motorcycle and stopped in at shelter cove. The place was dead as it was the off season. I was suprised that they were not offering off season rates. I had to pull teeth to get a decent rate. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the view was amazing. I was disappointed that the television didn;t work too well. When I asked about it the staff indicated that they knew it was on the fritz and were not willing to do anything about it. I didn't push it too much because It wasn't worth the battle for somthing I didn't care that much about. All in all, a very cozy place.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iowatraveler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

Once again we enjoyed a great weekend at the cove..Staff is always great. Summer is a little different then winter for adventures. Will go back again

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAL088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

My husband and I drove up the coast from San Francisco to Gold Beach, Oregon. On the way back, we decided to get off the beaten path, and found Shelter Cove. What a spectacular area; not touristy at all - just peaceful, stunning ocean views, and quiet. After calling several places that were a bit pricier than we anticipated, we stumbled upon Inn of the Lost Coast. What a find! Our corner room has a magnificent ocean view with a private balcony. We can hear the waves crashing loudly --- and ahhh, it's going to be like heaven to sleep tonight. I'm not sure why other reviewers stated this place needs a facelift, by the way. Our room, and the building, is fresh and lovely. If you're looking for fine dining, this isn't the place. There's a pizza carry-out attached to the bldg., and it's fine, and there's a few other small places nearby. But that doesn't matter to us. We would highly recommend this magical place.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

We took a trip from San Francisco to the Redwoods National Park via the Pacific Coast Hwy. This Inn was a perfect stop-over along the way. We were only staying for one night but made the most our stay by exploring the beautiful coastline. The beach along Shelter Cove was made up of smooth black pebbles and large boulders. It was a great photo op for the landscape photographer in me!
The owners were very cordial and accommodating and the local restaurant across the street had great food. We felt very honored to have stumbled across this great find and hope to go back someday for a longer stay.

Room Tip: The upstairs, north corner room probably has the best view of the coastline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IslandNiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelter Cove
24.9 km away
Benbow Historic Inn
Benbow Historic Inn
#1 of 5 in Garberville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
1.5 km away
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn
25.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.1 km away
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
#1 of 1 in Garberville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
25.9 km away
Dean Creek Resort
Dean Creek Resort
#1 of 1 in Redway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Lost Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Lost Coast

Property: Inn of the Lost Coast
Address: 205 Wave Dr, Shelter Cove, CA 95589-9158
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Shelter Cove
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shelter Cove
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Lost Coast Hotel Shelter Cove
Hotel Of The Lost Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing