We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for a good nights sleep.”
Review of Cranston House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cranston House
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Have stayed in Cranston House a number of times this year and the level of service has been excellent and very consistent. Convenient location only 3 minutes walk from the town centre. Breakfast very tasty and always served at your specified time. Rooms comfortable and a good nights sleep guaranteed.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen777_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranstonhouse, Owner at Cranston House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2012

Thank you for your positive review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to receiving you on your next visit to East Grinstead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 73 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2011

The bright clean rooms are furnished and decorated in a modern style in a house of character set in a quiet street a few minutes walk from the centre of this Sussex market town. There is good off-street parking.

The bedrooms are well equipped with alarm clock/radio, television, DVD player and tea/coffee making facilities. Wifi internet access is available.

The wide choice of breakfasts ranges from continental to full English, all beautifully prepared and cheerfully served. Breakfast is optional but well worth the very reasonable charge.

We stay there whenever I re-visit my home town. It used to be my Doctor’s surgery, but now I always look forward to going there. There is a good rail service to London and it’s an affordable taxi ride to Gatwick airport. It’s a good centre for touring the surrounding countryside and the south coast. We find it a convenient stopover on our way to Dover which is about 90 minutes away by road.

It’s excellent value for money, offering such high quality at such reasonable prices.

Website: http://www.cranstonhouse.co.uk/

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SeldomReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranstonhouse, Owner at Cranston House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2011

Thank you for your positive review. We are glad you found the house convenient for your needs and to the standard you expect.

We look forward to receiving you on your next visit to East Grinstead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

A fabulous guest house in the centre of East Grinstead run by a lovely couple keen on making your stay very comfortable.

Breakfast served in the morning can be ordered the evening before for about 5.95 per person , Good choice of English Breakfast items available considring the price.

Room decor is basic but comfortable and shower/toilet in our room was really small for a double room.

Do be careful about prices qouted on net as the specials are not usually available over peak periods despite the booking showing the cheaper rates being availale etc.

Overall the purpose for which we used the Guest House served its purpose and makesup a good majortyof its business asit is very close to Queen Victoria Hospital.

Room Tip: Try get a non road facing room for lovely views over the back garden and sussex hils.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DOSYROSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranstonhouse, Owner at Cranston House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2011

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you found Cranston House convenient for your visit to the Queen Victoria Hospital.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

On first view of this elegant household I thought "beautiful". My thoughts were then defined by the hospitality of the staff on the desk who ensured that I was comfortable at every point.

At no point during my stay (so far) have I felt more comfortable and also, working within 2 miles of the guest house, I couldn't have asked for a better location.

I leave my best wishes with the owners Brian and Aileen

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattyjenkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranstonhouse, Owner at Cranston House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2011

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our hospitality and found the location convenient.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

My daughter and I stayed at Cranston House twice in August while travelling around the area. When we first arrived from America we were somewhat jet lagged. We were delighted to find a very cheery, clean and well equipped room complete with ensuite. There was a well stocked hospitality tray with excellent tea, coffee and biscuits which we took advantage of right away. It felt like coming to visit relatives! Breakfast was delicious and the owners Aileen and Brian, were extremely helpful when asked for directions or to call a cab. There was also free wi-fi in the room, which worked very well. The B and B is actually a short walk from the town center, and a very short taxi ride to the train station.
We'll be staying with them again when we're over from America.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LosAngelesLeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these East Grinstead hotels
2.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
1,378 reviews
2.5 km away
Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel
Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel
#3 of 4 in East Grinstead
407 reviews
5 km away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Gothic House
Gothic House
#5 of 7 in East Grinstead
68 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Cranston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranston House

Address: Cranston House Cranston Road, East Grinstead RH19 3HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > East Grinstead
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in East Grinstead
Price Range: $104 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranston House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Cranston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing