We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly fine tea room.”

Upstairs Downstairs Tearooms Deli & Sandwich Bar
Ranked #8 of 69 Restaurants in Thirsk
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Haven't been here for a while, but was pleased to find that the service was still friendly and the pot of tea hit the spot perfectly. We only had a scone, so can't comment further on the food this time.

I don't know if there has been a change in ownership but I didn't think that the downstairs Deli was as interesting or as well stocked. There is a fine array of fresh foods on offer, but I thought that the selection of goods on the shelves was a tad sparse, and there wasn't enough of interest to tempt me to browse.

Thank johnhouston2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie P, Partner at Upstairs Downstairs Tearooms Deli & Sandwich Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Johnhouston2, many thanks for your review, we are pleased to hear that the both the tea and the service hit the spot.

With regards to the Deli, we have just undertaken a major refurbishment completed only last weekend, we are now in the process of re-stocking the shelves with old favorites as well as many new lines including a fine selection of wines and local beers, so hopefully on your next visit you will not be disappointed by the selection of goods on offer.

Once again thanks for taking the time to post a review

Emily, Charlie and the UD team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Being Good Friday, the cafe was busy at lunchtime, but we felt welcome and were accommodated quickly. The food and drinks were all very tasty, quickly served considering how busy they were and we didn't feel rushed.

Nice atmosphere and pleasant staff. Highly recommended

Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie P, Owner at Upstairs Downstairs Tearooms Deli & Sandwich Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Graham many thanks for taking the time to post such a positive review, we hope to see you again soon

Emily, Charlie and the UD Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018

We had delicious coffee and cakes after everywhere else in Thirsk had stopped serving coffees! - and it was so nice we event went back next day for lunch!

Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie P, Partner at Upstairs Downstairs Tearooms Deli & Sandwich Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Sue, many thanks for your review and so pleased you found us for coffee and cakes after 4.00pm, I hope lunch the next day was equally delicious.
Look forward to seeing you again soon

Emily, Charlie and the UD team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

Popped in for lunch today and was tempted by the Roasted onion and blue cheese soup. Good decision. Absolutely beautiful and made on the premises. Owner and staff in tearoom, deli and sandwich bar very cheerful as always. Thanks all.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AndrewHelliwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie P, Partner at Upstairs Downstairs Tearooms Deli & Sandwich Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Andrew, many thanks for your review and kind words., always pleasing to hear that our hard work is appreciated.. the onion and blue cheese soup is also my favorite

Emily, Charlie and the UD team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

Light lunch upstairs on New Year’s Eve. The toasted sandwiches were excellent but the sausage sandwich was very ordinary. This was disappointing as the manager had said Times were tough and I agreed that it was worth paying a little extra for something special. Prices are higher than available locally and the toasties were worth it but not my favourite sausage sarnie. Good selection of deli foods and cheeses though so worth going in.

Thank Ballyline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie P, Partner at Upstairs Downstairs Tearooms Deli & Sandwich Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Ballyline, thank you for taking the time to post a review which, despite the sausage sandwich( not sure why it was not up to standard) is very positive and very pleasing to hear.

Hope to see you again soon when we can discuss the merits of a good sausage sarnie!

Thanks again
Emily, Charlie and the UD team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Upstairs Downstairs Tearooms Deli & Sandwich Bar also viewed

Thirsk, North Yorkshire
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
 
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
 
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Upstairs Downstairs Tearooms Deli & Sandwich Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing