We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (487)
Filter reviews
487 results
Traveller rating
315
117
40
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
315
117
40
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews halo suite plaza suite skewers residents lounge function room crab lobster double shower beer garden roast beef wedding venue bar area pudding evening meal modern bathroom lovely place four poster bed poached eggs
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 487 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

First visit to this delightful pub however there had been a problem with the drains so the smell was a bit off putting .We ate our meal which was really nice then left soon after .Shame really as it is a really nice pub and staff lovely so would have stayed longer as very pleasant .Food great
Lovely Xmas decorations

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank JeanetteM419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

A gem of a find. I cannot sing the praises of this place enough. It has been nearly two weeks since we stayed and if I'm honest we can't wait to get back up there.
We stayed for just the one night and paid a little extra for the room so we could enjoy the Halo suit. The room and en-suite did not disappoint at all (well worth the extra £'s).
The pub itself is just what you would expect from a lovely country pub, warm, inviting and very cosy.
The food we enjoyed in the restaurant was cooked to a very high standard and the service was faultless, the staff were attentive without being to intrusive.
In short this is the perfect little hideaway if you just want to enjoy the company of a loved one in great yet calm surroundings.

Room tip: Pay the extra for the Halo Suit it's as good as any 5* hotel we've stayed in
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

Great pub, great food and great accommodation. Excellent menu with great variety. The food is well cooked and presented. Good service in bar and restaurant. Good selection of real ale and wines. The rooms are well equipped and maintained with comfortable beds and great showers. Good location for touring the area Thirsk, Ripon, York and the coast. Ideal for going to the races in the area.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank StephenLCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

The hotel was warm and inviting, the staff welcoming. Our bag was taken to our room which was warm and cosy with a comfortable bed. The bathroom was clean with toiletries provided. We went downstairs to eat in the restaurant and our meals were well presented and delicious. The staff were helpful and efficient.
After a good night's sleep we had breakfast which again was very tasty.
It is a long time since we have enjoyed a weekend away as much as our stay at The Angel.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ssnsykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

Stayed here for the night whilst attending a nearby wedding. The staff were so welcoming, the rooms were immaculate, spotlessly clean and the place in general had such a lovely feel about it. We intend to return to enjoy a night in the restaurant and another few nights staying over. Would thoroughly recommend

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews