We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xmas break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Fleece Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Thirsk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2017

Lovely hotel just avoid room 26 above kitchen and backing onto store room making it very noisy but that was our only complaint as the hotel and staff were very friendly and helpful. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Maureen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo R, General Manager at Golden Fleece Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that it was an enjoyable time. Please call the hotel direct next time you wish to book a room and we will be sure to pick a nice quiet room for you.

kind Regards

Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,087)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 1,087 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2017

We stayed a night here and were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the decor and the comfort of the hotel. The staff were excellent and helpful. Comfortable room and a good nights sleep followed by a good breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo R, General Manager at Golden Fleece Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Many thanks for reviewing your stay with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the décor from our recent refurbishment. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017

Stayed a few times and recommended to a friend who stayed there always very pleasant stay. I hadn't booked but luckily room available and was checked in in no time also managed to get a table in the dining room

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank melaniej791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo R, General Manager at Golden Fleece Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Thank you for reviewing your visit with us. I am glad to hear we were able to find a table for you !

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017

We met with family for a night. Hotel has been fully revamped since our stay last year. Excellent in every way. The staff were all so pleasant and the rooms very comfortable. Would have no hesitation in recommending to others.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CJHaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo R, General Manager at Golden Fleece Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Thank you for the review. I am glad that you like the new look Golden Fleece Hotel and I hope you welcome you back again soon when visiting family.

Kind regards

Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017

Very clean comfortable room in the Mews but staircase very noisy so could hear all guests toing & froing. Breakfast adequate. Staff were pleasant & helpful. Could've done without the outside doors being painted leaving the doors open during the day whilst we were out. In spite of all this we enjoyed our stay & would come again.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BirgitC55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo R, General Manager at Golden Fleece Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am sorry that the stairs were noisy, it has been mentioned a couple of times for that room so we will see if there is anything we can do to minimise the disturbance. You will also be glad to know that the painters have now finished the Mews building !

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirsk
0 km away
The Three Tuns Hotel
The Three Tuns Hotel
#4 of 5 in Thirsk
501 reviews
6.8 km away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
2.8 km away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 km away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,686 reviews
10.3 km away
Solberge Hall Hotel
Solberge Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newby Wiske
751 reviews
18.4 km away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Fleece Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Fleece Hotel

Address: 42 Market Place, Thirsk YO7 1LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Thirsk
Price Range: $119 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Fleece Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Fleece Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Fleece Thirsk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing