We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveller rating
256
18
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
256
18
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrose cottagestayed hereself cateringown private entrancethe main housetea and cakerail stationwithin walking distanceon arrivalb and bfeel very welcomea lovely place to staybreakfast was excellenthope to visit againrace coursethe ground floormain road
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 277 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Went to Thirsk races on Saturday 9th September, had a great day.
We stayed over in the Poplars, what a lovely place, the rooms are spacious and very clean.
Amanda was very friendly and the breakfast was superb, will definitely be returning!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank walshie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

We have returned from a 3 night stay in a 6 bed lodge at The Poplars, Thirsk and I must say that we all had a fantastic time.
First of all the owner was a lovely woman who made us feel welcome right from the moment we arrived.
The service received was excellent and the staff very responsive to our needs
The lodge itself was very clean with all facilities provided and was very adequate for all 6 of us.
The lodge grounds were tranquil and well maintained. A large grass area ample for our children to kick their ball around and observe the farm animals in a neighboring plot
Thirsk is within walking distance
Thank you to Amanda who was always attentive and has great local knowledge.
We will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 40sabinaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

What a wonderful place to stay. We had a double room which was clean, tidy and had all the usualy facilities. Amanda was the most welcoming host we have ever had...anywhere we have stayed! She and her family made us feel so welcome and were so accomodating, nothing was too much trouble. We especially enjoyed meeting Bailey the resident weimeraner and Amandas young daughter and baby. We would recommend this to anyone. Breakfast was fab and plentiful. The hotel is not far from the centre of Thirsk but is a fair trek if you were to walk. Car parking is also no issue as the grounds of the place are quite large. We had a room but would also be very happy to rent one of the cottages or lodges on the grounds as everywhere is immaculately kept. A great place to go! Five star +++ from us!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Pedmidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

We have just returned from a weekend stay (7 of us in total) as were in the area for a friends wedding.
It was absolutely perfect for what we needed, and as a group, having one of the cottages (the others had 2 rooms in the main house) was perfect, as meant we had a place to all convene together.
The owners were very welcoming ( and also the hosts that were covering for them as the owners had a well deserved break!)
Thank you for accommodating us all and for bringing us extra champagne glasses when we hadn't even asked for any! Much appreciated!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank love2travel1704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay here very much. We had been to a family wedding prior to our stay and needed a total relaxing time, and we certainly got it.

Great big comfy bed, large bathroom. Hospitality tray was full of all you needed. We even had a little conservatory that we sat in and had our coffee watching the birds and world go by.

Amanda was friendly and chatty, plus made the most delicious breakfast. Try the homemade apple juice my husband said it was tasty.

Thank you Amanda, we certainly enjoyed our stay very much and will definitely recommend your B and B to friends etc, and will stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Great for the train station and the race course.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kiki01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews