We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in spotlessly clean cottage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 23 Thirsk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Another lovely stay at The Poplars for me, my mum and our dog. This time, we chose to stay in Rose Cottage which has two bedrooms, one with a double bed and en-suite with shower, and a twin room. There is also a separate bathroom with bath. Rose Cottage is all on one level so suitable for those with mobility issues. The living area consists of plenty of comfortable seating (two settees), tv, fire and kitchen/dining area. There was everything we needed for our stay. All we needed to do was take a trip to the local supermarket (5 minute drive towards Thirsk centre) and stock up on the food we would need. I don't think there is any WiFi in the cottages, but it is available at the main house, however, I was happy to escape from it for a week. As with the other cottages and B&B Rooms we have stayed in here, everything is spotless, the beds are very comfortable, and the water pressure is great to have a really good shower to start the day.

The cottage is in a great area for travelling to all the "well known" places around North Yorkshire, after a few years visiting, we are now finding the smaller attractions usually overlooked on a short stay. We find something new every year and are more than happy to come back to The Poplars again.

Room Tip: Rose Cottage ideal for those with mobility problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Janis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Went to Thirsk races on Saturday 9th September, had a great day.
We stayed over in the Poplars, what a lovely place, the rooms are spacious and very clean.
Amanda was very friendly and the breakfast was superb, will definitely be returning!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank walshie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

We have returned from a 3 night stay in a 6 bed lodge at The Poplars, Thirsk and I must say that we all had a fantastic time.
First of all the owner was a lovely woman who made us feel welcome right from the moment we arrived.
The service received was excellent and the staff very responsive to our needs
The lodge itself was very clean with all facilities provided and was very adequate for all 6 of us.
The lodge grounds were tranquil and well maintained. A large grass area ample for our children to kick their ball around and observe the farm animals in a neighboring plot
Thirsk is within walking distance
Thank you to Amanda who was always attentive and has great local knowledge.
We will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 40sabinaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

What a wonderful place to stay. We had a double room which was clean, tidy and had all the usualy facilities. Amanda was the most welcoming host we have ever had...anywhere we have stayed! She and her family made us feel so welcome and were so accomodating, nothing was too much trouble. We especially enjoyed meeting Bailey the resident weimeraner and Amandas young daughter and baby. We would recommend this to anyone. Breakfast was fab and plentiful. The hotel is not far from the centre of Thirsk but is a fair trek if you were to walk. Car parking is also no issue as the grounds of the place are quite large. We had a room but would also be very happy to rent one of the cottages or lodges on the grounds as everywhere is immaculately kept. A great place to go! Five star +++ from us!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Pedmidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

We have just returned from a weekend stay (7 of us in total) as were in the area for a friends wedding.
It was absolutely perfect for what we needed, and as a group, having one of the cottages (the others had 2 rooms in the main house) was perfect, as meant we had a place to all convene together.
The owners were very welcoming ( and also the hosts that were covering for them as the owners had a well deserved break!)
Thank you for accommodating us all and for bringing us extra champagne glasses when we hadn't even asked for any! Much appreciated!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank love2travel1704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thirsk hotels
2.4 km away
Golden Fleece Hotel
5.6 km away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
5.2 km away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
The Three Tuns Hotel
The Three Tuns Hotel
#4 of 5 in Thirsk
488 reviews
2.4 km away
Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms
3.2 km away
Old Oak Tree Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages

Address: Carlton Miniott, Thirsk YO7 4LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Thirsk
Price Range: $111 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poplars, originally a farm house, built in 1901, is an impressive detached property with far reaching grounds. Set within an acre of gardens, the Poplars Rooms are all accessed via their own private entrance, affording you the privacy usually associated with a larger hotel, whilst offering our guests the personal touches and attention to detail from a small family owned Bed & Breakfast. Ideally located for access to all major routes ( A1, A61 & A19) as well as being only 250m from the train station, The Poplars is an ideal base for business or pleasure. All rooms are exceptionally well equipped with all the comforts you would expect from a quality driven establishment; Freeview TV, Power Shower, Free WIFI, Bathrobes, Mineral Water and Tea & Coffee facilities, make for those extra special touches. A great night's sleep, complimented by a fantastic breakfast..... Bed & Breakfast as it should be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages Hotel Thirsk
The Poplars - Rooms And Cottages

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing