We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (279)
Filter reviews
279 results
Traveller rating
257
19
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
257
19
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rose cottage stayed here self catering own private entrance the main house tea and cake rail station within walking distance b and b on arrival a wonderful place to stay feel very welcome breakfast was excellent hope to visit again the ground floor main road an ideal location
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 279 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed here on 22nd april for one night...we will definately come back... A lovely b&b so welcoming and friendly... It sets a standard that other b&bs simply cannot reach... Lovely decorated rooms... Clean...comfy bed..soft fluffy towels. We stayed here to visit thirsk race course and its ideally placed for this just a 15 minute walk away... Breakfast is amazing too... Thankyou Amanda we will see you again

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank sheldont-hx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017

My husband and I stayed here with my grandson for a trip to Lightwater Valley. Having stayed in many hotels, we stumbled upon this one totally by accident . We normally stay at a well know hotel in Harrogate however they did not have the courtesy to call us back as promised so we searched and up popped The Poplars! We were greeted by Amanda who is just lovely, she went through everything with us and we were delighted with our room. I am fussy to say the least but was not disappointed, home from home. THe decor and furnishings were lovely, good quality and very comfortable beds! We all had a great nights sleep and were provided with a nice breakfast. Amanda is very helpful and knowledgeable of the surrounding areas. There are pubs up the road but the food isn't great - were were advised to go out of the village to eat but having spent a full day at the theme park we were all exhausted and chose just to walk up to the local pub as it advertised food. The food was only OK and I wish now we had driven out of the village as it wasn't pub grub prices and the drinks were expensive. We should have listened to our host.!!!!
Anyway, you will not be disappointed if you stay at The Poplars, we loved it and were treated well and will be back at somepoint to stay in one of the cabins

Room tip: We stayed in the Nidderdale
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jnfhappydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017

We only stayed here one night but absolutely loved it. We received a warm welcome on arrival and offered a pot of tea and cake, which was lovely. We stayed in the Wensleydale room, which was on the ground floor and had a conservatory next to it so we sat in there drinking tea and overlooking the garden.
The bedroom was big and had everything you would need. The bed was huge and comfy and the bathroom was a great size with a shower and bath.
The breakfast was fab. The best we have had from a B and B. There was a great range of food, catering for veggies and meat eaters. The owner was lovely and very friendly. The house is beautiful with three B and B rooms plus holiday cottages,
We would definitely go back here again and recommend it to anyone.

Date of stay: April 2017
Thank CAC010809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Having stayed here many times it's always good to come back. The cottage we stayed in have been recently updated with a new kitchen and bathroom.
It's in an excellent location to get out and enjoy the best of North Yorkshire.
Amanda looks after us incredibly well and always recommends places to visit.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank cyclingPhotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017

My son and I stayed in one of the cottages and had a terrific time, wonderful hosts, clean and comfortable cottage to return to in the evenings. We visited the Herriott Centre, the Humber Bridge,walked 8 miles up and down a mountain, met the \yorkshire Vets Peter and Julian and walked with Alpacas at Larks Edge Alpacas. A wonderful break full of interesting sights and beautiful countryside. Everyone was very friendly.

Room tip: The cottages are fantastic there is also a room that is available attached to the hosts home.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lindsay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews