We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 23 Thirsk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2016

We stayed for 2 nights bed and breakfast in a twin room. The bedroom was beautiful and very clean. The breakfasts were amazing. Very good customer service, very welcoming and helpful. We would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank annbuchala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2016

We we're having a very rare weekend away while our son was on holiday with his grandparents. We were allocated Granary Cottage!
We couldn't believe our luck when we turned up and it was so well kept and pretty. Amanda was very friendly and showed us to our cottage. We instantly felt relaxed and knew we were going to have a lovely time!
The cottage was so well equipped. It had absolutely everything you could need from a Hairdryer right down to tin foil and cling film.
It was clean and the kitchen and the kitchen and bathroom were modern and felt special!
We visited the races while we were there (Unfortunately we didn't win much). It was about a 15-20 minute walk down the road! Would definitely visit The Poplars again!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 1986LG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Room was superb, modern amenities, very clean. Private, plenty of parking room.
Breakfast was sublime.
Friendly owner, willing to help out and give great advice on places to visit.
Those who stay here will stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quovadisjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016

This is the third time I have stayed in The Poplars over the last couple of years or so and I wouldn't stay anywhere else by choice when in this area. The rooms are very clean, spacious and beautifully appointed with all the amenities one requires and would put a lot of far more expensive hotels to shame. The station is very convenient, being only a very short walk away, as are a couple of pubs with reasonable food and drink choices. The hostess, Amanda, is a delightful person and guests are made to feel very welcome here. I would thoroughly recommend The Poplars as an ideal choice for a short or longer stay in this area - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016

We stayed at the Poplars during June and July as a party you of 5 on business. We were able to sample most of the cottages on offer during our stay, we found them all to be extremely comfortable full of amenities. The location was great for us close to the workplace ,peaceful and quiet. Amanda was brilliant nothing is to much trouble for the girl. Would definitely recommend the business to all.

Room Tip: For the best deal your best to speak directly with Amanda
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Service
Thank _djpcontractorsltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thirsk hotels
2.4 km away
Golden Fleece Hotel
5.6 km away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
5.2 km away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
The Three Tuns Hotel
The Three Tuns Hotel
#4 of 5 in Thirsk
489 reviews
2.4 km away
Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms
3.2 km away
Old Oak Tree Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages

Address: Carlton Miniott, Thirsk YO7 4LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Thirsk
Price Range: $109 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poplars, originally a farm house, built in 1901, is an impressive detached property with far reaching grounds. Set within an acre of gardens, the Poplars Rooms are all accessed via their own private entrance, affording you the privacy usually associated with a larger hotel, whilst offering our guests the personal touches and attention to detail from a small family owned Bed & Breakfast. Ideally located for access to all major routes ( A1, A61 & A19) as well as being only 250m from the train station, The Poplars is an ideal base for business or pleasure. All rooms are exceptionally well equipped with all the comforts you would expect from a quality driven establishment; Freeview TV, Power Shower, Free WIFI, Bathrobes, Mineral Water and Tea & Coffee facilities, make for those extra special touches. A great night's sleep, complimented by a fantastic breakfast..... Bed & Breakfast as it should be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au and Cancelon so you can book your The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages Hotel Thirsk
The Poplars - Rooms And Cottages

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing