We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveller rating
256
18
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
256
18
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrose cottagestayed hereself cateringown private entrancethe main housetea and cakerail stationwithin walking distanceon arrivalb and bfeel very welcomea lovely place to staybreakfast was excellenthope to visit againrace coursethe ground floormain road
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 277 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2016

We we're having a very rare weekend away while our son was on holiday with his grandparents. We were allocated Granary Cottage!
We couldn't believe our luck when we turned up and it was so well kept and pretty. Amanda was very friendly and showed us to our cottage. We instantly felt relaxed and knew we were going to have a lovely time!
The cottage was so well equipped. It had absolutely everything you could need from a Hairdryer right down to tin foil and cling film.
It was clean and the kitchen and the kitchen and bathroom were modern and felt special!
We visited the races while we were there (Unfortunately we didn't win much). It was about a 15-20 minute walk down the road! Would definitely visit The Poplars again!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 1986LG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Room was superb, modern amenities, very clean. Private, plenty of parking room.
Breakfast was sublime.
Friendly owner, willing to help out and give great advice on places to visit.
Those who stay here will stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quovadisjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016

This is the third time I have stayed in The Poplars over the last couple of years or so and I wouldn't stay anywhere else by choice when in this area. The rooms are very clean, spacious and beautifully appointed with all the amenities one requires and would put a lot of far more expensive hotels to shame. The station is very convenient, being only a very short walk away, as are a couple of pubs with reasonable food and drink choices. The hostess, Amanda, is a delightful person and guests are made to feel very welcome here. I would thoroughly recommend The Poplars as an ideal choice for a short or longer stay in this area - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016

We stayed at the Poplars during June and July as a party you of 5 on business. We were able to sample most of the cottages on offer during our stay, we found them all to be extremely comfortable full of amenities. The location was great for us close to the workplace ,peaceful and quiet. Amanda was brilliant nothing is to much trouble for the girl. Would definitely recommend the business to all.

Room Tip: For the best deal your best to speak directly with Amanda
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Service
Thank _djpcontractorsltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

Fantastic. Standard of room better than hotels we have stayed in very spacious bed comfy. Bathroom small but more than adequate. Breakfast superb. Lovely to sit out in the evening in the garden. Amanda was very welcoming. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank loulou90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews