We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages
Nearby Hotels
USD 126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 126/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Three Tuns Hotel(Thirsk)(Great Value!)
USD 65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
USD 93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 86
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveller rating
250
17
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
250
17
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrose cottagestayed hereself cateringwithin walking distancethe main houseb and babsolutely everythingfeel very welcomebreakfast was excellenta lovely place to staypot of teahope to visit againon arrivalrace coursemain roadthe ground floorreceived a warm welcome
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 270 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2016

We couldn't have been more comfortable here - we stayed in a tastefully decorated and beautifully appointed room, which was typical of the rest of the house. The bathroom amenities were of the highest quality, and we were hugely impressed by the many small but important things that had been thoughtfully provided for our comfort. Breakfast was excellent, and we were made to feel welcome in every possible way. We would most definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lebrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016

it was a wonderful place things could not have been any better.when we are in the region again we will certainly be trying it again .the breakfast was great quality .the landlady was friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 0mreidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mindy77Uk, Owner at The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2016

Thank you Martin for taking the time to leave a comment and pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to welcoming back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

Myself and my wife were attending a wedding locally so decided to stay over at the poplars and make a weekend of it.

I have to say the trip advisor reviews did not let us down.

Amanda was in contact via E-mail before our arrival and helpful regarding arrival times / check in.

When we arrived it was to a warm welcome and a quick tour of the accommodation which was a delight.

The accommodation was well laid out with ample storage space and a generous en suite with plenty of towels.

A well stocked tea tray with fresh milk offered if required and restocked daily.

Amanda was very helpful in giving local information and restaurant recommendations and the offer of arranging cab services if we needed one.

The available breakfast range was one of the best I've experienced should you decide to stray from the full Yorkshire breakfast, which was to die for and freshly cooked by Amanda herself.

On the whole I couldn't recommend this B&B enough, the whole experience felt more like I was a guest at Amanda's home rather than a paying customer.

Thank you for making a rare child free weekend something extra special.

PS: make an effort to meet Bailey he is adorable!!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Steven Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mindy77Uk, Owner at The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016

Steven, thanks for the lovely feedback, glad to hear you felt refreshed after your child free break... Hope to see you back here again, in one of the cottages, this time with the kids in tow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

I would of given the poplars a 5 however on our last night stay my partner went down to have breakfast around 9 am (breakfast is served till 9.30am) to be told she was busy and there was abit of bacon left of which was cold.
Apart from this the room was lovely and cosy. Beautiful surrounds.
Just a shame about the breakfast though

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank gemillingworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mindy77Uk, Owner at The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment, and pleased that you found the accommodation nice and cosy and appreciated our beautiful grounds. My apologies that your partner wasn't satisfied with his breakfast, but our room information folders do outline that we serve breakfast until 9am Mon - Fri and 9.15 on a weekend, and i always ask people to give me a time, so that i ensure i serve a piping hot, fresh breakfast is served. When guests run very late, that becomes difficult. Hope that it wont prevent him returning when next in the area working on his campervan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

The Poplars is an excellent choice for accommodation offering traditional B & B and self catering cottages. The grounds are stunning and beautifully maintained.
Our host Amanda was especially welcoming and greeted us with tea and cake. However, it was a pity her husband completely ignored us despite greeting him twice.
Our accommodation was very nice and clean and had a private entrance.
Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of options and served by the very helpful Amanda.
The facility is well placed for exploring the area and handy to shops, pubs and the like.
Would definitely return.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mindy77Uk, Owner at The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2016

Thank you for your comment, and thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. Can only assume that Richard didn't hear you greet him, so my apologies if any offence was caused. I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip and catching up with your family. Shall look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews