We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow. Words cannot describe”
Review of Socius

Socius
Price range: USD 9 - USD 38
Description: The Socius ethos is simple: to create a memorable food and drink experience in a completely relaxed environment. Located in Foundry Place, just off North Street, Socius offers locally sourced produce in dishes which change to reflect the seasons. Our food is served on small plates - as a modern British take on tapas.
Restaurant details
Description: The Socius ethos is simple: to create a memorable food and drink experience in a completely relaxed environment. Located in Foundry Place, just off North Street, Socius offers locally sourced produce in dishes which change to reflect the seasons. Our food is served on small plates - as a modern British take on tapas.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

There are no words to describe how incredible this place is. You will just have to go and see for yourselves. Hands down the best meal you will get this side of London.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Go765303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 163 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018

We decided to visit on Easter Monday (Socius is usually closed Monday/Tuesday). Socius is located next to a car park, so parking not a problem and easy for wheelchairs or pushchairs.
After a warm greeting to welcome us in, we sat for a moment and ordered cocktails whilst we looked at the menu. I recommend the Gin fizz they are especially good! The décor in this new restaurant is modern, bright and appealing with a modern twist. People are able to view the chefs hard at work whilst dining, or sit in the galleried area if you prefer not to do that. The waiters and waitresses are trained and look professional. The menu was a sharing menu, choosing from the many small dishes on offer, which appear at the table in a steady flow. We decided as a group of five to try all of the dishes. This turned out to be an excellent choice, with varied tastes and flavours to suit all palates. Guidance is on hand if you require help regarding choice etc. Good wines are available to compliment the food.
This establishment seems to appeal to all age groups, as a children's,
menu was on offer. Well behaved dogs are made very welcome.
This really was a "experience" to sample some lovely tasting dishes in a well located restaurant.
We shall definitley return again in the summer when I gather we shall be able to sit outside.
This new eatery is worth a visit when you find yourself in Burnham Market, but maybe phone ahead and book first to avoid dissapointment. We shall be returning very soon.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank christine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Great service and delicious food. Highly recommended this to anyone visiting Burnham Market or nearby villages.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank CarrieLondon82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

As the title says, in my view this is comfortably the best new restaurant opening in North Norfolk for a long time.

The decor is sleek modern and somewhat minimalist. May not be everyone’s cup of tea, but we loved it.

Open kitchen is good to see - adding a little extra buzz to the restaurant.

Service is lovely, friendly and professional, but the star of the show is the food.

I could easily have eaten the whole menu twice.

Creative, innovative and excellently executed cooking - particular highlight was the hake, with korma carrot purée and carrot bhaji. Really delicious.

We enjoyed it so much we cancelled a booking elsewhere 2days later to go back before heading home.

Good luck to all involved in this fabulous little restaurant - get ready for a very busy summer!!

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank FiveBellys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Modern dining concept - contemporary interior, fresh and enthusiastic service. The food is amazing, a group of 4 of us had everything from the menu, and everything we tasted was incredible.

Hats off to you guys!

Date of visit: March 2018
3  Thank inspectorClouseau1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Socius also viewed

 
Snettisham, Norfolk
Burnham Market, Norfolk
 
Docking, Burnham Market
 

Been to Socius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing