We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Jasmine Cottage

Jasmine Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Jasmine Cottage
Living room Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
Jasmine Cottage
Living room
Master Bedroom
Walk along Bradford River
Enjoying the River Bradford
Outside Jasmine
Twin bedroom
Spacious Kitchen
The Village of Youlgrave
Preparing the Well Dressing boards
Well Dressing
Clapper Bridge on River Bradford
Jasmine Cottage
River Wye  , Bakewell
Bakewell Market
Bakewell Market
Cork Stone , Stanton Moor
Cowslips Gratton Dale
Curber Edge in the mist
Sheep on the moor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Youlgreave, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
carol f
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage break”
Reviewed 4 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Jasmine cottage is a lovely quaint cottage.
The area is perfect for ramblers /walking and quiet rest and relaxation.
There is free wiifii. Towels are supplied. Good kitchen, well stocked with pots and pans etc for you to prepare a meal.
The hosts literally live next door.
There are 2 cottages side by side if you need more space to rent for a larger group.
The hosts are simply lovely.
Chris and Nagarita. A lovely touch to arrive to fresh milk, cake and flowers.
The fire looks like a coal burner.. it is infact gas... it is large and so warm and lovely.
The beds are comfy with good quality quilts. Bedrooms were warm, just right temperature.
There are plenty of board games to play, and information about the local area.
It would be hard to criticise..
I would just say, the music player needs a new plug (no outer cover) and the TV only had one working channel.
Remember to turn the heating off at night.. it's very noisy in the small bedroom however it was fine once turned off and the room was warm.
There's lots to do in the area. There are 3 pubs.. our meal in the local pub was great.
There's a bakery, post office and general store.
I have to say I loved it and hope to return
Thanks Margarita and Chris.. perfect charming hosts.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2018
Thanks for the feed back. The comments on the music player noted - in fact has been dealt with. The TV has loads of Channels, just a matter of knowing the remote controls. If not, you can always ask us next door to show you how. I will put a note in the cottage about how to use the remote controls - thanks for pointing that out to us.
Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2018 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Apr 2018
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We have two shops in the village which sell most things. The shops and the bakery now open on Sundays and one of the shops opens till 8 pm.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
freedom8
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A Serene Stay in Stunning Surroundings!”
Reviewed 14 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Jasmine Cottage is perfectly situated in a quaint, quiet village with views over the hills and dales which I never grew tired of! We arrived to a very friendly welcome from Nagarita, who had placed flowers on the table, milk in the fridge, and a most delicious cake on the kitchen counter! The cottage was spotlessly clean and very comfortable.
Plenty of lovely walks right from the doorstep for the ambitious hiker, or for those like us, who just enjoy a gentle rural ramble ... There's something for everyone! We also enjoyed exploring the many charming small villages and towns in the Peak District, and Youlgreave's location is perfect for that.
We'll be back for sure when next in England!

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2018
Thanks for your review and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back here.
thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M
Deal, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great holiday in a lovely cottage and village”
Reviewed 2 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We stayed in Jasmine cottage for one week in October. The cottage had everything we needed, great location and Nagarita and Chris were wonderful hosts, available but not intrusive. Just take the food and drink you require for your stay and everything else is provided. Warming gas fire for the chillier evenings. Sitting out in the allotment with the sun going down was a lovely way to end the day.
In the village there are three pubs, The George, dated and in need of refurbishment but the food and ale were good. The Bulls Head seems to be the locals pub. Food only served for half of the week. The Farm Yard was the best of the three with great food and service but you do need to reserve your table.
There are some great walks around the Youlgreave area. We walked to Bakewell, Over Haddon, stopping off at the Lathkill Hotel in Over Haddon before making our way back. Mam Tor in Hope Valley is 30 minutes drive but quite spectacular. Ladybower reservoir is also 30 minutes away and is a nice easy walk around it with cafe half way. Chatsworth Gardens are superb, but we found the house itself to be confused and it didn't hold our interest at all.
All in all it was a wonderful relaxing week, with the perfect location to base ourselves. We would absolutely recommend Jasmine cottage, and yes, the cake and flowers were a lovely thought.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2018
Thanks for sharing your thoughts. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nickyj44
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful Cosy Character Cottage is Wonderful Location”
Reviewed 4 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We arrived unexpectedly (due to a mis-communication) but could not have received a warmer welcome. The cottage is located just on a hill above a beautiful picturesque walk along a river which is like stepping back in time. Being set in the Peak Disctrict, there are obviously plenty of wonderful walks and lovely shops can be found closeby in Bakewell and Buxton whilst not being far from Sheffield and Chesterfield.

The cottage was clean and incredibly comfortable with fresh flowers and milk, coffee tea etc provided and then we were treated with a fresh home-made cake delivered.

This cottage did not feel like a holiday rental but more like we were friends/family staying. The owners really are truly lovely people who go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as possible without being intrusive. I only wish we'd had longer and was reluctant to leave.

I cannot rate them and their cottage highly enough and will definitely be returning now we've found it as we have a daughter studying at Uni of Sheffield.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing