We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“cute, unusual venue”
other travellers have booked this property
Outside the Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outside the Retreat
The old chapel door The beautiful leaded windows
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Outside the Retreat
The old chapel door
The beautiful leaded windows
View of the Derbyshire hills
The kitchen area
The kitchen
The living area
The living area
The brass bed
The shower room
The graveyard
Winter!
The graveyard again
It really is in a graveyard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Wirksworth, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DKGreen67
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“cute, unusual venue”
Reviewed 31 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Loved this place nestled in a graveyard, gorgeous windows and very clever usage of a small space. Everything you need for an off grid (no wifi but personal network signal fine) seclusion. Definitely need the extra heating in midwinter though! But plentiful bedding and the underfloor heating is a gift to feet. No dealing with anyone, key pickup is genius. Reasonable and equipped with most everything you could need; obviously plenty of thought gone into it. Oh and Mistral the award winning French restaurant in town is marvellous! Thanks for our lovely weekend away.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2017
Thanks for your comments and glad you enjoyed the Retreat. Welcome again anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
risbridge...
lincolnshire , england
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“unique stay”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

i booked this property last weekend , and we actually only stayed there for about an hour , but we did have a good look around it , the parking on the front is limited and we arrived at 3pm so couldn't park any longer for free in this space, the parking opposite that is mentioned was full and remained so , i tried further down the road but simply couldn't find any near the property, apparently there is paid parking further down , so not wanting to leave my car no where near the retreat we decided to lock up and come home ,also it was a wet and cold day and i couldn't see any where to hang our damp clothes , there was no heating available as the owner pointed out in his private message " no need for it in the summer " i wasn't going to leave a review as the parking situation is out of the owners control , but after the message he left me this morning and reading previous comments i thought i would , its a quaint property and we was intending on staying two nights , so if you would like any more information about the retreat or the area please message me , the owner has said that parking isn't a problem and basically it was my fault for not looking around properly as his family never fails to find somewhere when there staying , bear in mind i was not even going to mention any of this to the owner , he messaged me and asked why we didn't stay , and i simply replied not rudely i might add !!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2016
This is so unfair! The only reason I heard anything back from this guest at all is because the cleaner told me that no-one stayed and so I emailed her privately to get a response. She then told me that she couldn't find a place to park and there was nowhere to dry wet clothes. I replied - politely - that there is plenty of free on street parking within a few hundred yards if you are unlucky enough not to be able to park immediately next to the Retreat. I also added that my wife stayed there for 2 months last year and never had to pay to park. There is underfloor heating in the Retreat but this is only turned on before arrival if the outside tempreture merits it. It can be turned on if the temperature drops and will be warm in a few hours. There are coat hooks in the hall. Other people have of course stayed in inclement weather and never had an issue with the Retreat!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollythed...
Fife, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Uniquely vintage”
Reviewed 31 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

It's not often you can stay in such an unusual building. The Retreat has been nicely renovated and is very peaceful. Parking can be a little tricky and whatever you park you need to carry all your stuff to the door - worth bearing in mind if you have disabilities. It's is super cute and our dogs loved it. It did smell a bit musty though. A few hours with the door open aired things. Don't rely on having any TV. The DVD works though. There is no wifi but the mobile signal is good (3G).
If you have dogs there is great walking from the door. Turn right. Walk along past the play area to the car park on the opposite side of the road and go up the track. You can access the High Peak trail from here.
A nice stay but not luxurious.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2016
Thanks for your comments. Sorry you thought the Retreat was " a bit musty". No-one else has ever said anything like that. Sorry too that you didn't think it "luxurious"; it is a small space but has everything anyone would need, the bed is large and very comfortable and the furnishings we think - and so do others - are tasteful . Again no-one else has had a problem with the TV - we were over ourselves a few weeks ago and it worked fine. Will get the cleaner to check
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
112jmel
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely peaceful place to stay”
Reviewed 8 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The Retreat was perfect for a peaceful few days, it was a beautiful building which has been lovingly restored. wirksworth people seemed very friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peaceful atmosphere
Liked least: no microwave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2016
So glad you liked how we've restored the Retreat and enjoyed your stay. You are right Wirksworth folk are very friendly and welcoming.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Mar 2016
Glad you enjoyed the Retreat. Yes the Royal Oak is a great pub and dog-friendly too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 107
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing