We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent holiday rental”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Durham House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Wirksworth, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
nessiewoo...
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent holiday rental”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We all really enjoyed our long weekend - the house is lovely with lots of character and very cosy. All the bedrooms were well furnished and the showers were excellent. The house was spotless and the kitchen and house was well equipped - although we did struggle a little cooking for 12 in oven and ran out of loo roll and bin bags. The garden was well maintained and we made use of the barbeque (although need to ensure supervise children as gate easily opened straight onto road (no pavement) and pond , but this was not a problem as we had a two year old so always supervised).
The owner Tamsin was extremely helpful throughout with prompt replies to email queries before stay and info re local area provided in pack, milk, cake and fresh flowers on arrival and we arranged an early check in with no fuss. One of the group left PJs behind and these were posted on to us (thank you).

Only negative was that the living area is split into 2 small rooms so as a party of 12 we struggled to all sit in the same room when relaxing in evening, but dining room was good size so could all sit at table to eat. Dishwasher was not working well and had to wash some things by hand at end weekend, but due to be replaced/fixed the following week.

Would definitely go back if slightly smaller group so living room more suitable

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tokyolou
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely house, perfect location”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This was a perfect house for a 40th birthday party with friends. The house is full of charm and character while still having every modern convenience you could want for a long weekend. It is perfectly positioned in a delightful town, complete with independent cinema and inexpensive but lovely bistot. Tamsin was wonderfully accommodating and I really can't recommend the house enough. Thanks so much!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt611
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We had four couples, 3 children and 2 babies so needed a big place! This was perfect. All the rooms were big and clean. The house was very quirky yet had all mod cons. Great location too. Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky S
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect venue for a weekend way with good friends,”
Reviewed 17 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here recently to celebrate my husbands 40th and loved it, 3 families making memories and such a wonderful time! The kids loved the house, playing hide and seek up and down the servants staircases, and the grown ups loved the well equipped kitchen, open fires, comfortable surroundings. It was perfect!
The surrounding area was lovely, enjoyed swimming at the Arc Leisure centre in Matlock, great modern pool with views over the Dales. Sunday lunch at the Red Lion - within a 5 minute walk from the house - was fab. And a walk up to the quarry and a trip to the playground all helped make the weekend. Simple pleasures but sometimes the best!
We would definitely stay here again - and indeed intend to. My children are already asking when we can go again.
Thank you Tamsin for all your help - a very attentive and helpful owner - but not shouty and were't presented with a list of rules, felt very at home!
And don't forget to try some cheeses from the local deli - perhaps the highlight of my weekend!

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe
Reviewed 30 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and how well equipped the house was.
Liked least: The parking, but only because we had 5 cars between us.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing