We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy, comfortable and and completely great!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Matchbox Cottage

Matchbox Cottage; front garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Matchbox Cottage; front garden
Matchbox Cottage; rear garden Matchbox Cottage - front garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
47 reviews
Matchbox Cottage; front garden
Matchbox Cottage; rear garden
Matchbox Cottage - front garden
Matchbox Cottage; kitchen
Matchbox Cottage; Main bedroom
Matchbox Cottage; Bathroom with cast-iron roll-top bath
Matchbox Cottage; Dining room
Matchbox Cottage; living room
Matchbox Cottage; 2nd bedroom
Matchbox Cottage; upstairs landing
Matchbox Cottage; stairs
Matchbox Cottage; Kitchen
Matchbox Cottage; 2nd bedroom
Matchbox Cottage; Bathroom with cast-iron roll-top bath
Matchbox Cottage - Feedback
Matchbox Cottage - Feedback
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Wirksworth, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jane H
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Cosy, comfortable and and completely great!”
Reviewed 5 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

My daughter and I (plus Ozzy the dog) stayed here for 3 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. The cottage had everything we could have wished for - in fact we were sad that the weather was so good that we didnt need to light the log fire!

Thank you for the welcome tray and milk in the fridge - such a lovely touch. The cottage was warm and welcoming, the beds comfortable and the cottage well placed for countryside walks (the quarry walk our daily early morning walk with Ozzy) and of course all the attractions that Derbyshire has to offer.

We will definitely return - we loved every minute. For those with walking problems - you should know that this cottage is on a hill and could be a problem if regular trips to the town required!

Any criticisms....? Not really.... perhaps a map of how to find the cottage on booking as we found the locals didnt know where the road was!! But overall - we loved it - when can we come back?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and cosiness of the cottage
Liked least: The draining board!! Seems silly - but really they need to sort out the draining board!!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandalot...
berwick upon tweed
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cosy and quirky”
Reviewed 28 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Loved the log burner and roll top bath. Very enjoyable family holiday in a lovely little town. Lots of character.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log burner
Liked least: Parking and to get out your front gate you step on to a busy road.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F
Lathom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday”
Reviewed 23 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent cottage close to centre of Wirksworth. Well equipped with comfortable beds and furniture. Great location near to Middleton Top and lovely walks from the doorstep. My wife son ad dogs had a great holiday.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwry56...
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely week at cottage very dog friendly. We enjoyed sitting in the garden a real sun trap. Rob the owner is very helpfull nothing is to much trouble for him.Stone woods is 10 minute walk from cottage if you have a dog .

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn B
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely cottage, home from home”
Reviewed 6 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Matchbox Cottage met all of our expectations from the website, it had everything we needed for the week. Private gardens at front and rear catching sun at different times. Nice to have internet access. Great location, it is just a few minutes walk down the hill to the centre of Wirksworth. Good bus service links, we barely used the car! Lovely walks from the doorstep. Wish we could've stayed for longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: The walk up the hill from the pub!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing