We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Dickensian Christmas in Winster”
other travellers have booked this property
Peak cottage on East Bank; a quiet lane leading up from the main street.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Peak cottage on East Bank; a quiet lane leading up from the main street.
Christmas in Winster Sitting Room: A spacious open plan room with a large L-shaped sofa, fireside chair & flat screen TV
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Peak cottage on East Bank; a quiet lane leading up from the main street.
Christmas in Winster
Sitting Room: A spacious open plan room with a large L-shaped sofa, fireside chair & flat screen TV
Peak Cottage entrance is from the top cottage.
Sitting Room showing the original stone fireplace and a wood burning stove
Breakfast outside with views over Winster and the rolling hills of the Peak District.
Dining/Morning room: With solid oak flooring, dining table, four chairs & 2 comfortable wing chairs
Calming hues, antique oak and richly coloured fabrics give the cottage a cosy, country retreat feel.
A compact but well equipped, stylish kitchen with a solid oak floor.
The twin bedroom has two large single beds with comfortable, semi firm mattresses,
En-suite: Has a large shower cubicle with fixed and movable, rain shower heads, hand basin and a WC.
The master bedroom has a semi firm double bed, for a great nights sleep.
There's also a comfortable armchair by the side of an original stone fireplace.
Family bathroom: Has a shaped bath with a rain shower head, and waterfall taps.
A plan of Peak Cottage
Top stairs from master bedroom door.
Bottom stairs looking up from sitting room.
Winster overlooking the Derbyshire Peak District.
Plenty of outside seating.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Winster, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DarrenHac...
Pescia, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Dickensian Christmas in Winster”
Reviewed 27 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

What great accommodation this was and what a great time we had in Winster. The cottage has everything you will need and very nicely decorated and furnished. We had wine and Christmas crackers waiting when we arrived from the owner which were gratefully received. The village community shop was open Christmas Day and Boxing Day if needed and is very well stocked with helpful staff. The local pub was welcoming and friendly with a Christmas atmosphere but the food average. The cottage and the Georgian village and church were like a Christmas card particularly at night-time. Great time was had by one and all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was a memorable Christmas experience
Liked least: We understand it's an old village with narrow roads but there were too many cars. They need to clear the streets and make people park on the edge of the village in car parks.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monicablu...
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable Cottage in Winster”
Reviewed 13 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We visited this lovely cottage in Winster for a long weekend. The cottage is very comfortable and warm with log burners in both rooms, also a good central heating system. The kitchen although small is very well equipped. Very comfortable beds . Not suitable for the very elderly or disabled as there are 4 levels in the cottage, but very,very nice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Quirkyness of the cottage.
Liked least: Nothing I did not like.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2015
So pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind comments. Hopefully we may see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jandgfish
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfectly located cottage for exploring Derbyshire.”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our short stay in the village of Winster. The cottage was more than big enough for a family of four and was nicely decorated and well equipped. We had good weather so were able to make use of the well kept outside area and eat outdoors a couple of times. The village of Winster is very pretty and the locals were very friendly. It has a well stocked village shop and the children loved the playpark. The local pub on the street looked very nice but unfortunately we were not able to try the food as it didn't serve food on the nights we stayed, however there are plenty of places to eat in nearby villages. The cottage is an ideal base to explore Derbyshire as it is only a short drive away from Matlock, Bakewell, Dovedale and Chatsworth.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location of the cottage, layout of the cottage and character
Liked least: no DVD player, not great WiFi - (but wouldn't expect it in the area)
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spanners7...
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely comfy cottage in a quaint village”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The owner was very friendly and efficient with replying to any questions I had.
The cottage was gorgeous. It had great character and was comfy. It also had pretty much everything you would need. I had my twin 8 year old sons with me and they loved it also.
You do need to be physically able as there are quite a few steps in the cottage and also a steep incline to the cottage. There is no parking at the cottage. If you are lucky you might be able to park on the road but we found we had to park on the Main Street in the village.
The villagers were friendly and the cottage was close to the local shop and a pub. There is also another pub in the village a bit further out but still in walking distance. They both did lovely food.
We really enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing