We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage in lovely location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Croft Winster

The Croft, a fully equiped cottage with stunning garden views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Croft, a fully equiped cottage with stunning garden views
Feature bath, wonderfully relaxing.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
63 reviews
The Croft, a fully equiped cottage with stunning garden views
Feature bath, wonderfully relaxing.
Cosy lounge with woodburning fire, 32 inch flat screen tv, Wi -Fi dvd and a great selection of dvds
Large dining kitchen with range cooker, dishwasher and dining table looking onto garden room
Dining area
Kitchen
relaxing garden room
Fabulous walk in shower
Large master bedroom with King size bed.
Large master bedroom with King size bed.
Second bedroom with window seat and 3rd bed
fully enclosed rear garden and swing seat
The garden swing with views over the stunning countryside
Garden view over Peak District National park
Views over the garden
The patio with table and chairs
garden flowers
garden flowers
garden flowers
Alton Towers nearby
Gullivers Kingdom nearby
Chatsworth House nearby
Robin Hoods stride nearby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Winster, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Rebecca C
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in lovely location”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed at The Croft for 3 nights, 2 couples, couldnt have asked for a nicer place. The garden room is lovely, spent many hours reading in there, the woodburner was a bonus, only just cool enough in the evenings to have it on. We ate at The Old Bowling Green, just a few minutes walk from The Croft, lovely meal and we could take our dog. Lovely walks from the village and great location to tour the Peak District, looking forward to our next trip already.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke M
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant stay! Highly recommended”
Reviewed 13 November 2013 for a stay in January 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Great location, a short walk up from the lovely village of Winster with cosy pubs nearby serving good ale and food. Great base for exploring other areas of the peak district like Bakewell and Buxton. Good variety of scenic walks nearby .

The accommodation was very cosy , good sized kitchen (all kitchen implements were included), lovely conservatory to relax in and two good sized double rooms upstairs. Everything was very clean and tidy when we arrived . We were a group of 5, so 3 went in one room and two in the other, however there was potential for more to sleep in the lounge downstairs which could turn into a sofa bed.
Cannot honestly fault anything with our stay here ! Thank you !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JArth91
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage home in a quiet but wholesome village with fantastic scenery”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed there twice before and thoroughly enjoyed it both times. It was in spotless condition when we arrived, the place was wet roomy and had fantastic scenery from the back garden. Fantastic bathroom and bedroom layout. Would highly recommend to anyone.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siying...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderland in peak district”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I spend four days here, it is a really really lovely house, home-like place, clean, comfortable, far more better than 5-star hotel~!! Winster is a wonderland with colourful stylish doors and beautiful stone houses. Day trip to chatworth house is an unforgettable experience~Walking around made me so happy and excited~I like the swinging chair and the fireplace~!
Family owners are very nice and friendly~love u all~! Bakewell is a lovely small town nearby with a lot of shops selling small things. Pubs serves delicious UK food and cheese and milk here are of very high quality~
Additionally, video games, books and DVDs in the house are a good relax, especially in raining days~
I hope I could stay here for longer time and come back again if possible. XXXX

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: fireplace
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica R
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking views”
Reviewed 25 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The Croft is situated in a beautiful area, a five minute walk from two pubs and much less to many alternative walks with the cows and sheep! Shame there was a mix-up over how to get into the property, resulting in my family waiting for an hour before managing to get inside. Having said that, I would definitely recommend this cottage to others - the cute garden, cosy living room and excellent bathroom made it such exciting accommodation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the wifi access, once you had paid for it!
Liked least: Waiting for an hour without the combination to access the key
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2013
Thanks for your review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and liked our cottage. I am sorry that there was a mix up over how to get in. We always send access details by email and have not had any previous problems.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;