We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A cute and cosy little cottage. Perfect!”
Briar Cottage entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Briar Cottage entrance
parking area the Living area with gas-coals fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Briar Cottage entrance
parking area
the Living area with gas-coals fire
dining area
kitchenette
large bedroom
dressing table in the bedroom
shower area
wash basin, wc & bidet in the shower area
Heathcote House adjacent
Winster Wakes in July
additional parking in the orchard
Bowling Green Public House
Miners Standard PH at the top of West Bank
Village shop and Post Office
Winster Hall in Main Street
one of the many footpaths from Winster
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Winster, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Road56005...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A cute and cosy little cottage. Perfect!”
Reviewed 18 May 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A very cute and cosy cottage, perfect for the weekend. It was part of a celebration for my husbands 50th birthday and we were greeted with a bottle of bubbly and a lovely card. The cottage is full of little surprises as you venture round, up to a beautiful relaxing bedroom, down a little hallway to the bathroom, the shower was fantastic!
My husband was on a photography course for the day. So I took myself off walking. When I came back, I had a lovely surprise visit from the owner. She was warm and friendly and very welcoming, we will definitely be back to stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2017
Dear Amanda
Thank you for taking the time to give your comments in your review, much appreciated .
Best wishes
Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marievont...
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy Cottage Getaway”
Reviewed 17 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Magical , cosy - the perfect getaway. Winster is beautifully Dickensian with breathtaking views . We loved it .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O
Cornwall UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage for romantic getaway”
Reviewed 6 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed in this delightful, cosy cottage for Christmas 2016 so that we could visit my son and grandson in Norton, Sheffield. Briar cottage is cosy and charming. The owners had decorated tastefully for Christmas and we appreciated the lovely bottle of fizz in the fridge. The 4 poster bed was very romantic and comfortable. It was very peaceful and we slept so well. The cottage provided everything we needed and my partner who is a classical guitarist, declared the accoustics good so he enjoyed his daily practice sessions. Winster is a pretty village surrounded with stunning views and lovely walks.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2017
Dear Sarah. Thank you for your kind words. We also enjoyed the muted sounds of the guitar playing over Christmas, very welcome thank you.
Best wishes Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
326Lucy
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cosy countryside visit”
Reviewed 27 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Cosy stay in this beautiful clean and characterful cottage. We didn't go out to eat until the second night and even then we could have stayed in and kept warm in front of the fire. The cottage has all the facilities needed for self catering and boasts a gorgeous bathroom. Winster is the perfect base for exploring the national park, we visited the local villages of Wensley and Birchover when and saw some amazing views on the way, what a lovely part of the country! Feeling very refreshed and relaxed and would definitely recommend. Thank you Anne!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2016
Thank you Lucy for your comments. I have a very conscientious cleaner and will pass on your remarks to her. She will be thrilled to know her efforts have been noticed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hodgepott
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Cosy cottage in beautiful village”
Reviewed 27 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Rare scenario in which the photos of the cottage have undersold it - as one of the reviewers states below, the bathroom was stunning and luxurious, comfy 4 poster bed and although small, everything that you could need in the kitchen. Beautiful area with many walks from the door. Down to earth pubs with hearty home cooking. Really enjoyed our relaxing and peaceful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing