We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy countryside visit”
Briar Cottage entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Briar Cottage entrance
parking area the Living area with gas-coals fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Briar Cottage entrance
parking area
the Living area with gas-coals fire
dining area
kitchenette
large bedroom
dressing table in the bedroom
shower area
wash basin, wc & bidet in the shower area
Heathcote House adjacent
Winster Wakes in July
additional parking in the orchard
Bowling Green Public House
Miners Standard PH at the top of West Bank
Village shop and Post Office
Winster Hall in Main Street
one of the many footpaths from Winster
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Winster, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
326Lucy
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cosy countryside visit”
Reviewed 27 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Cosy stay in this beautiful clean and characterful cottage. We didn't go out to eat until the second night and even then we could have stayed in and kept warm in front of the fire. The cottage has all the facilities needed for self catering and boasts a gorgeous bathroom. Winster is the perfect base for exploring the national park, we visited the local villages of Wensley and Birchover when and saw some amazing views on the way, what a lovely part of the country! Feeling very refreshed and relaxed and would definitely recommend. Thank you Anne!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2016
Thank you Lucy for your comments. I have a very conscientious cleaner and will pass on your remarks to her. She will be thrilled to know her efforts have been noticed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hodgepott
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Cosy cottage in beautiful village”
Reviewed 27 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Rare scenario in which the photos of the cottage have undersold it - as one of the reviewers states below, the bathroom was stunning and luxurious, comfy 4 poster bed and although small, everything that you could need in the kitchen. Beautiful area with many walks from the door. Down to earth pubs with hearty home cooking. Really enjoyed our relaxing and peaceful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas G
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Escapism In The English Countryside”
Reviewed 18 January 2016 for a stay in October 2015

My Wife and I visited this cottage for a weekend getaway and it certainly lived up to it. The cottage was very cosy; my wife described it as a Beatrix Potter style cottage. For both nights of our stay we wanted to stay in rather than go out as it was so lovely just sitting by the inglenook fireplace. The cottage was well decorated and clean and gave us everything we needed. The kitchen was well compact, the four poster bed comfy and the bathroom was amazing. The cottage was also very well situated as it was close to both Chatsworth and Bakewell. We would definitely stay again and also reccommend to family and friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The coziness
Liked least: It could do with having some staple items such as teabags and coffee
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonbpan...
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic bedroom and bathroom!”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Really loved this cottage - a bit cramped downstairs but upstairs was lush! The bedroom is spacious and the bathroom is beautifully designed. Strong WiFi although no phone signal in the cottage. Access to a washing machine would have been beneficial! Winster is beautiful village - excellent walks and surrounding area. Very friendly people and lovely village shop. Did not want to leave. I have found the place I want to retire to! Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bedroom and bathroom
Liked least: No phone signal in cottage and no access to a washing machine
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia91C
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A picture perfect and active weekend in the Peak District”
Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Briars Cottage in the village of Winster is the perfect place for two people to base themselves in the Peak District. During our four night stay in July 2015 my boyfriend and I visited the surrounding villages, the Chatsworth estate and undertook four beautiful walks with breath taking scenery. In particular, I would recommended the walk by Dovedale which finishes/starts by Thorpe's Cloud - challenging climb if you wish to take it!

The cottage has all the necessary amenities and if you feel like recovering from a long walk on the sofa - there is a TV and DVD player to hand. The upstairs has a large bedroom with a four poster bed and the bathroom has been finished to a very high specification with two shower heads to help relax your weary limbs after a long day exploring the surrounding countryside.

In terms of food, I recommend lunch or dinner at the local pub The Bowling Green which is a two minute amble down the road in the centre of the village. The village shop is well stocked and Matlock - a short 15 minute drive away - should suffice for all other necessities.

It is testament to how much we enjoyed our cosy cottage that we cooked for ourselves and ate in three nights out of four!

I would definitely return but next time with the foresight to bring a roadmap (lack of signal, so do not rely on sat nav) and a ONS map for our more advanced walks.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing