We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in a lovely area of Peak District”
other travellers have booked this property
Comfortable sitting room with stove and with TV/DVD, CD/radio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Comfortable sitting room with stove and with TV/DVD, CD/radio
Well-equipped fitted kitchen, with gas cooker, washer/dryer, dishwasher, microwave and more.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
Comfortable sitting room with stove and with TV/DVD, CD/radio
Well-equipped fitted kitchen, with gas cooker, washer/dryer, dishwasher, microwave and more.
View of the cottage, and its neighbour, from the shared back garden, which is fully enclosed.
Have a great night's sleep in the king size bed.
Twin beds in the large second floor room
Wild primroses in the garden
Nearby attractions include Chatsworth House
... where the gardens are stunning
Each Autumn there is a sculpture exhibition in the gardens.
Also nearby is the Chestnut centre, an otter and owl sanctuary
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Tideswell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Lynnemc64
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a lovely area of Peak District”
Reviewed 8 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We had a lovely stay and enjoyed switching off from busy lives. The cottage was in a good location and was well equipped for families, groups and couples. The log burner was a real treat and soon warmed the room up as we stayed at a very chilly time! I missed having a shower as hadn't read the spec properly about there not being one! Also stairs were very steep - just a warning for anyone who may find stairs a bit tricky! Overall a great place with all the essentials and a good base for exploring the Peak district.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: log burner - brilliant for our winter stay
Liked least: no shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tidswellf...
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great cottage in good location”
Reviewed 11 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Primrose Cottage in the lovely village of Tideswell. The cottage was well equipped, the beds very comfortable and a good selection of games and maps. The cakes and milk whIch greeted us on arrival were very welcome! There was plenty of space and room for our teenage sons and ourselves.
Tideswell has a useful selection of shops, with a lovely family run butchers and is a good centre for exploring the Peak District.
We look forward to returning!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevejone...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a really nice week. The house is perfect for those with children, comfortable with everything you need, but not so immaculate that you are constantly worried about what the children might do.

I would thoroughly recommend this house for those with a family!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2016
Thanks for your review Steve - glad you enjoyed your week!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martyn L
Fishguard, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wow, What a lovely cottage.”
Reviewed 20 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The cottage was very spacious , we have a large family and we managed fine, lovely and warm and the kids loved there bedroom !!
Tideswell was a fantastic little village with everything you needed, The butchers in the village had fab sausages !!!!
And in the "horse and jockey" just next door !! you can get some tasty homemade meals.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2016
Thank you for your lovely review and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Tideswell is a very special village. Hope you can come back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
murrayand...
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“lovely stay”
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Great little cottage in a fantastic location, Tideswell is a pretty and lively little village even at the end of October. The cottage was warm and pretty, comfy and homely rather than swanky - although I was jealous of the very posh curtains in the main bedroom, which is beautiful. Kids will love the attic room. If there had been tv up there my 12 year old would never have left the house - glad there wasn't! No shower - that is made clear in the description - but we enjoyed having lazy baths which we don't normally find time for at home, and as the water is heated as it runs (if you see what I mean) there's no issue if you all want baths one after the other. Very welcome after a hard (scary) day's walking on Kinder Scout. Had a fantastic breakfast in the Peak Cafe and a great dinner in the very friendly Horse & Jockey a couple of doors down, and there are plenty of other options without leaving the village, but the kitchen is very well equipped for self catering too. We could have done with a couple of larger pans but no-one else seems to have mentioned this so perhaps we're just greedy! Great value for money. We were happy to book three nights so that we could leave late on Sunday to allow for a trip over to Sheffield for lunch. We were sent lots of information in advance and there were helpful books about the area in the cottage as well as the usual tourist information leaflets. Thanks for a great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2015
Thank you for your lovely review - I'm very glad you had a good time. We'll look into getting a larger saucepan!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing