We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home”
other travellers have booked this property
Comfortable sitting room with stove and with TV/DVD, CD/radio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Comfortable sitting room with stove and with TV/DVD, CD/radio
Well-equipped fitted kitchen, with gas cooker, washer/dryer, dishwasher, microwave and more.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
Comfortable sitting room with stove and with TV/DVD, CD/radio
Well-equipped fitted kitchen, with gas cooker, washer/dryer, dishwasher, microwave and more.
View of the cottage, and its neighbour, from the shared back garden, which is fully enclosed.
Have a great night's sleep in the king size bed.
Twin beds in the large second floor room
Wild primroses in the garden
Nearby attractions include Chatsworth House
... where the gardens are stunning
Each Autumn there is a sculpture exhibition in the gardens.
Also nearby is the Chestnut centre, an otter and owl sanctuary
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Tideswell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
JaneMD90
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home”
Reviewed 26 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Even better than imagined, got an excited buzz exploring this place when we arrived! Cosy, yet spacious we felt instantly at home! The kids beds in the attic room are firmer than the double in the master so we slept there. Be careful of the tiny steps between rooms as we both tripped a few times. Overall primrose cottage is a perfect getaway : comfy, clean, warm, homely, lots of quirky features (love the swirly mirrors in attic room) The tourist info, games, etc are in the dining room cupboard from which we picked a lovely walk! Both Joanna (the owner) and Annie ( who takes care of the house) were very friendly and helpful as were all the local people we encountered. Try the local food boxes too!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley G
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint and homely.”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Loved the painted floor boards and the wood burning stove. Spacious and clean. Loved the extra touches like the family games cupboard. Children loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size and decor.
Liked least: Stairs very steep.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave A
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Neglected; grubby cottage needs redecorating, sad furnishings and mould in kitchen area!”
Reviewed 26 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Booked 4 night stay, arrived 3.00p.m. and had walked out by 4.00p.m. after telephoning owner to complain. General air of neglect seen as soon as walked in, dining room dates from the 1950's by the look of furniture and oil-clothed table!

Kitchen a disgrace; damage to washing machine panel, damp coming through wall plaster, mould in both window reveals, dirty sticky units both outside & in, and mould on exterior of 'fridge door.

No carpets on stairs or landings and woodwork and paint work grubby & damaged.

Bathroom took the prize though: rubber spray hose fixed by BLACK CABLE TIES to bath taps.

We could go on...............

Owners have reimbursed rental fee after complaint and photographs showing conditions sent to them, but have not to-date paid for fuel for 280 mile wasted return journey which took us in excess of seven and a half hours.

Owners need to completely re-decorate inside and out of building, clean thoroughly, plus remove old furniture and replace with modern before letting to another unsuspecting holiday maker!

NOT TO BE RECOMMENDED at least until remedial work carried out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The village of Tideswell!
Liked least: 1 Primrose Cottages !
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2015
We have already said to the writers of this review that we are very sorry that they felt they could not stay in the cottage and we refunded the cost of their booking as soon as we could. We always want people to enjoy staying in the cottage that we enjoy and love. We have had positive comments from many, and regularly have guests who return for another stay. This is the first occasion on which we have had such critical comments.
We took immediate action to remove the cable ties, which had been left by the previous guest and which should have been removed. The fridge door was not mouldy, but had damaged paintwork; this now been replaced. The damage to the washing machine was by a recent guest and a replacement is about to be installed.
There are a number of factual inaccuracies in the review, and some of the criticism seems to be about our choice of décor, such as painted floorboards on the stairs and landing, and the tablecloth which was covering a fairly new Ikea table.
We hope that those of you reading this who are concerned about this review will read the other reviews, including very positive reviews from a few weeks earlier. If anyone still has any concerns, please do get in touch and we will be happy to answer any questions you have.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage
Liked least: no shower
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Jun 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments - look forward to you staying with us again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amy Jane...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would definitely stay again at this beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I would definitely recommend staying at this cottage whether a couple or family it suits to all needs.
Handy location to get to all local ammenities by walking.
The horse and jockey is a few doors down but don't let this put you off,you hear nothing and it is a beautiful pub.
I would defiantly stay here again.
Joanne was very helpful when booking the property and the information given after the booking was very helpful.
The only fault I have with this property is that I could get no signal (Vodafone -I got phone signal just but very intermittent-not strong enough for 3G)This made it hard when trying to find places to eat or postcodes to walks in the peaks. Maybe wifi?

Thanks for all your help Joanne and I shall be sure to book again when I next visit the peaks.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2015
Thank you for your kind comments. We'll have a think about getting wifi!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing