We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highest standard” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merman Barn B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tideswell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Merman Barn B&B
Ranked #2 of 7 Tideswell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shipley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highest standard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

The accommodation here is of the highest standard. A great deal of effort was made to make out party of four welcome. Breakfast was delicious -plenty of healthy eating . Mr. and Mrs. Read were warm and friendly hosts and we're looking forward to our next visit there.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
140
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We, two couples in our early fifties, stayed at Merman Barn for two nights and it was superb. We had the super king and the twin rooms. The photos do not do them justice! All the rooms are luxuriously and tastefully furnished, spotlessly clean and Linda has thought of everything you could possibly need for your stay. There is a huge lounge solely for your own use, which was lovely to sit in and browse through the abundant linformation about the surrounding areas. There are facilities to sort out your muddy boots etc. after hiking, which we were very glad of. Linda's breakfast table is also absolutely fabulous by the way, the attention to detail and the deliciously cooked breakfasts, it's all just too good. Linda knows the true meaning of hospitality. This is five star quality we are talking about here! We would all certainly love to come back. Thanks for a great Peak District experience Linda and Andrew.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank koekieNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We booked a 2 night break (Friday / Saturday) in the Mermanbarn based upon previous reviews, and were not disappointed. We were welcomed upon arrival by Linda (the perfect host) who showed us around, then to our lovely superking room. Every area of the barn was spotlessly clean, and well worth it's four star rating. Everything seemed to be catered for, from a small fridge in the room, with fresh milk & bottled water, down to a little shed for the bikes. The bed was massive, and very comfy. The breakfast was delicious.
Tideswell was quite busy with shoppers / walkers during the day, and very quiet in the evening (just what we wanted really).
I would thouroughly recommend the Mermanbarn when staying in Tideswell, and like to thank Linda & Andrew for their hospitality. Definitely a 4* experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie_JoeWidnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

My recent visit to the Merman Barn was my fourth in the last two years and the Bed & Breakfast is simply as superb as it was on my first stay.
The hosts, Andrew and Linda are very open and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Visitors are often welcomed with a pot of tea which can be consumed in the comfortable lounge. Our room was the large double which has a super king size bed which has to be seen to be believed. The room was immaculately clean The bed had very attractive bed coverings and was a delight to rest/sleep on. The complimentary tray had a good selection of drinks on it with cups & scourcers (no mugs here) and a couple of packs of good quality cookies/biscuits. There was even a small vase of fresh flowers on the tray too. Next to the complimentary tray was a flat screen colour TV.
The en-suite shower room was also immaculate with complimentary soaps/shower gel/shampoo/shoe shine/shower cap etc. and clean fluffy towels and flannels. Our towels were changed after the second day of our four night stay without prompting which was a nice touch.
Our breakfast was taken in the very attractive breakfast room. Breakfast can consist of a substantial full English, or there is a comprehensive selection of cereals, or there are yogurts, or fresh fruit salads made by Linda.
Overall, the Merman Barn is a delight to stay in and I would recommend the B&B very highly. I would even recommend it to my mum!!!!
Excellent.

Room Tip: All rooms are very comfortable and are decorated to a very high standard. Without doubt the double w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpineySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

We have been to Merman Barn many times as this B & B is a little gem. Linda and Andrew are perfect hosts and the rooms are clean and comfortable, especially the superking room where we normally stay. A little fridge in the room and tea making facilities complete with gorgeous biscuits top off what is a relaxing and enjoyable stay. There is also a comfortable lounge where you can watch TV or a sunny garden to relax in. Breakfast is second to none as you will see. We advise you stay here if you are in the area as you wont go anywhere else in the Peak District once you have stayed here.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FocusYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tideswell
9.6 km away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
10.1 km away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
11.3 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Meadow Lodge B & B
Meadow Lodge B & B
#1 of 7 in Tideswell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.5 km away
Blossom House
Blossom House
#3 of 7 in Tideswell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.6 km away
Horse and Jockey
Horse and Jockey
#4 of 7 in Tideswell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merman Barn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merman Barn B&B

Property: Merman Barn B&B
Address: Merman Barn Alma Road, Tideswell, Peak District National Park SK17 8LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Tideswell
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tideswell
Price range (per night): $99 - $107
Hotel Class:4 star — Merman Barn B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A high quality B&B in the heart of the Derbyshire Peak District. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing