We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A special place for a special occasion” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dannah Farm Country House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dannah Farm Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Shottle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A special place for a special occasion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

There is no doubt that Dannah Farm is not cheap. However we we looking for somewhere special, or certainly different for our 10th Wedding anniversary. Dannah Farm looked to meet all our needs. We accepted that the price was high for a B&B because we wanted a special place for a special occasion. I have to admit that some of the comments on here made us nervous that we had done the right thing.

We stayed in the Studio Hideaway and it is rather dinky, and the spiral staircase is a struggle with a big bag or if you have had a few, but otherwise it is a lovely little place. There is a nice private feel to it and the hot tub on your own little deck with a little glass of something on a cool night was a great experience.

Because we did not want the fuss of going out the night we arrived we went for the platter - again not an inexpensive option but good lord, that was a feast worth having - we could not finish it and we are both big eaters - Cold meats, prawns, cheeses, salads and fresh warm home made bread - with a pudding also - it was a wonderful choice after a hard weeks work and a great start to the weekend.

The breakfast as most people have mentioned is lovely - a real cooked breakfast. None of this ghastly help yourself stewed rubbish under hot lamps that you get in the plastic chain hotels that I have the misfortune of staying in so often. This is freshly cooked (so bring a book and relax!!) with nice bacon, sausage,tomato, mushroom , egg, lovely toast including toasted fruit bread - beautiful preserves including home made jams and local honey. Thankfully no sight of the dreaded hash brown - to those that require such gruesome American gastromomy may I suggest they try McDonalds.

The owners are not what I would call gushing but then I suspect they have learnt that people will talk if they want to talk and keep to themselves if that is what they are after. I found both of them pleasant without being "in your face". Perhaps one or two of their notices in the book and stuck up around the place may feel a little officious to some but I suspect that they have occsionally come accross some more unsavoury members of the public who direspect their property therefore feel the need to lay some laws down. I find this is a little irritating wherever I go but I do understand owners have to make things clear for the antisocial amongst their guests. The lady who served us breakfast was a lovely friendly person.

We went to Wirksworth on the Saturday night and and a very nice meal in La Mistral which had a good atmosphere downstairs in the cellar. If you like real ale then The Blacks Head opposite served some very nice beers and the landlord was a nice chatty fellow.

If we return to Dannah which I suspect we may, we will splash out and try one of the other larger suites - probably because by then I will be too infirm to climb the stairs! But I think The Studio was a great wee place and in Dannah farm we found what we wanted -

A special place for a special occasion!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric_J0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    38
    18
    7
    7
See reviews for
17
209
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton keynes
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

Just back from a long weekend at Dannah Farm and I think it’s the first time we failed to find something that we felt needed improving – sheer perfection! A lovely welcome, great facilities and an amazingly comfortable room, not sure there was actually anything missing throughout the entire stay.

We opted to stay in the Studio Hideaway and despite reading reviews regarding its size, it was ideal and far bigger than most places. How much space can you possibly want when it’s just the two of you?! Fabulous bedroom upstairs and shower room and lounge area downstairs, not to mention the hot tub and courtyard just out the back.

All of the staff were always so chatty and helpful whenever you bumped into them and the atmosphere seemed to rub off on the guests as everyone was very relaxed and friendly. A perfect retreat in the middle of nowhere and a great place to unwind...and don’t forget to stock up on breakfast! It’s been a long time since we’ve experienced the quality of food served at the Dannah Farm (if you have time definitely opt for one of their evening platters – utterly faultless).

If you’re looking for a great place to relax, enjoy the countryside, walk for miles and be spoilt in your accommodation, then this really is the place to go. Looking forward to coming back!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiltonkeynesSmudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huddersfield
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Having recently revisited dannah after a number of years of absence I can only say that this is my favourite b&b by far. The rooms are all individual and quirky which adds to the charm. Dannah is located in the middle of nowhere - so it's a taxi to the pub - but is that such a bad thing? The breakfast is lovely - I'm a poached egg fan - and they are truly gorgeous. If you know you are going to arrive late at night ask for the cold platter when you book your room - and you will receive a lovely mixture of salads, meat and or fish plus a little sweet treat. Highly recommended. And the beds - heavenly comfort

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heaton45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Nothing like a 5 star establishment. No meet & greet or help with luggage. No water provided in rooms. Too many 'rules' to follow i.e. no drinks or food etc.

We stayed in the Ecclesbourne Room. Windows don't open. Bathroom fittings falling apart, toilet seat chipped, sink didn't drain.

Breakfast - average

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a long weekend staying in the Granary Suite, and thoroughly enjoyed our experience.

The Granary Suite itself was large and sumptuous, with beautiful interior design features. From the huge bed, the incredibly comfortable sitting chairs in the bedroom, the lovely walk in wet room, the deep two person spa bath, the fabulously relaxing hot tub, the amazing amount of space, and having your own private entry we couldn't fault the standard of the accomodation.

On arrival we were greeted swiftly, given a quick tour of the facilities and then shown to our suite where we had complimentary coffee and tea brought to us with some delicious cakes which made our mouths water.

The breakfast's were incredible and I managed a full English on both days, thick cut bacon, juicy sausage, two eggs, mushrooms, tomato, black pudding and toast made from fresh homemade bread. There was also a good selection of cereals, juices and yoghurts (for the more health conscious), and tea and coffee.

In one of the sitting rooms there was a selection of walks which they had kindly photocopied so you could take a copy on the walk with you. The walks ranged from a short 1/2 hour one up to 3 to 4 hours. We chose a medium walk of about 1 1/2 hours which was very pleasant and the scenery was stunning.

the first night we ate out a the Hanging Gate Pub in Shottle, which had a lovely cosy atmosphere, and was very well design with a nice blend of rustic charm and contemporary chic. The food was delicious and there was a good selection of beers, including some real ales.

On the second night we dined at O-Kra which is a contemporay Indian restaurant in Belper. The food was some of the best Indian cuisine we had tasted and the service was excellent.

I would have now hesitation in recommending both restaurants for a great meal.

I know some people have said that Dannah Farm is expensive, and it is, but at least you get what you pay for. The whole experience was one of opulent luxury, and whatever the reason for the visit, it's always nice to spoil yourself from time to time. We would definitely recommend it and would seriously consider returning.

Room Tip: We didn't see any other rooms, but we couldn't fault any single thing about the Granary Suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Lang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shottle
6.8 km away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
4.2 km away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Belper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
23.8 km away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#1 of 15 in Chesterfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 km away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
17.1 km away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
11.5 km away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dannah Farm Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dannah Farm Country House

Property: Dannah Farm Country House
Address: Bowmans Lane, Shottle DE56 2DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Shottle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Shottle
Price range (per night): $153 - $336
Hotel Class:5 star — Dannah Farm Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a ridge high above the Ecclesbourne Valley on The Chatsworth Estates at Shottle, Dannah is the place to relax, unwind and re-charge the batteries. Small and intimate enough to offer a truly unique and personal experience, yet large enough to be professional and unobtrusive. Whether you are coming to Derbyshire to see the sights, visit relatives or to celebrate a romantic occasion, Dannah aims to give you an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dannah Farm Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dannah Farm Country House Hotel Shottle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing