We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Sladen Lodge”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sladen Lodge

Welcome to Sladen Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Sladen Lodge
Superking en-suite bedroom Superking en-suite bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
98 reviews
Welcome to Sladen Lodge
Superking en-suite bedroom
Superking en-suite bedroom
Spacious and comfortable lounge with stunning views
Second sitting room for peace and quiet
Dining room with a view
All bedrooms are en-suite
Celebrate with friends and family at Sladen Lodge
Views of the Hope Valley from some bedrooms
Fabulous views from the sunny south facing patio
Well equipped kitchen
Lovely big dining room where you can all dine together around one table
Fabulous location
Recently installed second kitchen
Beautifully light and airy atrium
Superking en-suite bedroom
Sladen Lodge in spring
Enjoy a cool glass of wine on the south facing patio
Sladen Lodge in the Autumn
Spectacular surrounding area
The beautiful Hope Valley
World famous Stanage Edge
The 'shivering mountain' Mam Tor
Hathersage village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Hathersage, Hope Valley, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 98 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sam b
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Sladen Lodge”
Reviewed 19 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We had amazing weekend at Sladen Lodge and from the moment we walked in the door we were impressed. The whole house is so warm and comfortable with the comfiest beds and amazing showers all with lovely toiletries for use during the stay

The kitchen was so well equipped with pots and glasses, caffetierres, serving dishes, mixers and plenty of dishwasher tablets. The utility was a great addition with a "drinks fridge" and to use as snack store

We had an amazing walk up to Stanage Edge which we did in a circle from the the house and so we didn't need to move the car once

Highly recommend Sladen Lodge for a stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosieness
Liked least: No dislikes
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2016
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Sladen Lodge and were able to take advantage of the beautiful location as well
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KezDQ
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gem Accommodation”
Reviewed 23 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

A real gem of a place to stay, well located at the edge of Hathersage but well within walking distance of all amenities. Beautiful accommodation, beautifully furnished and all bedrooms with en suite. Wonderful view, nice gardens and fully equipped with everything you could possibly need. Decorated for Christmas which was lovely and two bottles of prosecco on arrival a really nice touch. Wholeheartedly recommended and hope to return someday soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great bedrooms and communal living room to seat all
Liked least: Intermittent wi fi but minor carp
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
57trish
1 review
“Fantastic lodge”
Reviewed 13 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Wonderfully lodge with 7 lovely bedrooms, spacious lounge and dinner table. Everything was provided that we could possibly need, wonderful location and lots of pubs within walking distance. Plenty of hot water and heating. Perfect place to stay with friends or family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and rooms
Liked least: Weather
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2015
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A perfect house for a hen do”
Reviewed 18 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Our group of 16 spent three nights at Sladen Lodge for a hen party. We really enjoyed the time we spent there. In comparison to a lot of other large houses we looked at online, we were impressed by the ensuite bathrooms in every room, the large living room with space to accommodate our whole group, the large dining area with room for all, and the gorgeous terrace (a fantastic place to have a relaxed Sunday morning breakfast in the sun). The house was clean, extremely well-equipped (two dishwashers and loads of plates/pans/cutlery/glasses) and in a beautiful location. There was enough parking space to fit the six cars we came in. The owner was friendly and quickly showed us around on arrival. During booking and lead-up to our arrival, Anna provided helpful, professional information via email.

The only small downside was the proximity to the train tracks. The point at which they passed nearest to the house seemed to be the point where the train drivers choose to blast their horns! A good pair of ear plugs came in handy!

Great weekend, all the group went away happy! I'd wholly recommend the place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The communal spaces suitable for a large group
Liked least: The nearby train line
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire T
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection!”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We booked Sladen Lodge for a hen party as we thought it would be ideally based in the Midlands and we had people travelling from all over the country. The Sladen team were extremely helpful when booking the accommodation and when we arrived we were not disappointed! All rooms were perfect and made each of us feel totally relaxed and comfortable. We would recommend Sladen Lodge 100% if you are visiting the Midlands :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing