We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect apartment, fantastic location”
other travellers have booked this property
Fantastic views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fantastic views
Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Fantastic views
Kitchen
Scenic views
Surrounding views
Surrounding views
Surrounding views
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Glossop, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ashley K
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect apartment, fantastic location”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Gables apartment over the Easter weekend and could not have been happier with the choice.

The location is great for local walks and getting about the Peak District. There is a private car park at the rear of the property so the car is kept safe overnight. Plenty of shops on the high street to get supplies for your stay, although all the basics were provided kindly by Alison so you won't need much. I highly recommend the award winning butchers over the road from the apartment.

The apartment has everything you will need, a well stocked kitchen, spotless bathroom and quite possibly one of the most comfortable beds i have ever slept in. There is a walk in wardrobe in the bedroom to hide all your things away and heaters in each room to keep you toasty warm. The views from the living room are fantastic as you can see from the pictures. There is no WIFI at the apartment but the 3G signal (o2) was very strong and served for everything we needed, maps and directions mainly. Alison also provided a load of books, music and DVD collection (kudos on the Alan Partridge and Ricky Gervais) to keep visitors entertained.

One thing to note the apartment is at the top of a few flights of stairs so keep this in mind when booking.

I have no hesitation in recommending this apartment to people that are looking. Alison was a great host and kept in great communication to ensure we had everything and enjoyed our stay. Many thanks to her.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2014
Pleased that you enjoyed your Easter break at The Gables.Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review. Do hope that you come back and stay with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emilyhadd...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment in a lovely location!”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

From the moment I booked the trip, Alison (the owner) was nothing but helpful, answering any questions I had very promptly.
The apartment was just as beautiful as it appears in the photos - cosy yet spacious, and very clean, with everything you could possibly need. (Alison had provided milk, tea and coffee, biscuits... All of which were a lovely surprise, and meant we didn't have to worry about going out to buy the basics as soon as we arrived)
The location is perfect! Hadfield itself is a very pretty village, with all the amenities you could need, including an excellent butchers, fish and chip shop, and Indian takeaway. There is a train station only a few minutes walk from the apartment, and we took the 5 minute train journey to nearby Glossop, a market town with a few more shops and restaurants etc. than Hadfield. I understand you can also travel to Manchester from this station.
Overall, we had a fantastic weekend away, and would highly recommend the apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay at The Gables. We hope you will come back and stay again. Thanks very much for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the butcher opposite!
Liked least: Early morning deliveries to shops
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Sep 2013
Pleased that you enjoyed your stay & loved the views. Good to hear that you sampled the bacon & sausage from the local butcher.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location - everything in easy walking distance so we didn't need the car
Liked least: Stairs up to the apartment- not a problem for us, but no lift for anyone with restricted mobility
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Aug 2013
Always pleased to hear our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. Our aim is to make you feel at home. Hope you come back and stay with us again. (There is so much to see in the Peak District.)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
rosiemalo...
wolverhampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect!!!”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Have just returned from a weekend break with my partner and must say its been amazing...there are a few dotted pubs very close by and plenty of places to go see, we took a walk around the reservoir which is lovely and locals are very welcoming and happy to assist you .. You have all the shops and takeaways you need. we visited the Indian takeaway which is good value for money and food is lovely. the train station is a stones throw away, we went into glossop which is a little livelier with pubs, clubs and has some great places to eat. if you fancy going into Manchester there is a train every half hour-hour... Alison cannot do enough to make your stay as best as possible,nothing was too much for her and she is a lovely lady... She ensured we had bread and milk on arrival and as it was my partners birthday she bought a chocolate cake for him... I would love to keep this place a secret as its just lovely, however Alison deserves recognition for her hospitality and the place is a real gem. the apartment is home from home, its well equipped with everything you need and is very cosy..we will most definitely be returning soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2013
It is always rewarding to hear guests have had an amazing time. We have made the apartment comfortable with a home from home feel. Pleased that you went on the walk around the reservoir it has stunning scenery. Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing