We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy & quaint cottage in a lovely village”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Oatcake Cottage

Oatcake Cottage built 1690 originally as a bakery.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Oatcake Cottage built 1690 originally as a bakery.
Room for parking outside the property. Welcome!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
67 reviews
Oatcake Cottage built 1690 originally as a bakery.
Room for parking outside the property.
Welcome!
Lounge.
Lounge.
Lounge with TV, DVD player and free wifi.
Lounge towards the dining room.
Dining room.
Dining room with doors to the garden.
kitchen providing everything you will need for your stay
Kitchen.
Double bedroom.
Double bedroom.
Twin bedroom.
Twin bedroom.
Bathroom with bath and shower.
Bathroom with guest toiletries.
New for summer 2018.
Summer house on top terrace.
View over the roof tops from the garden.
View of Mam Tor from the patio.
Lower patio area showing new safety railings.
Towards Peveril Castle
Visitors' Centre and museum
Para gliders over Mam Tor
The Devil's Arse Peak Cavern
Village centre looking towards the castle showing two of the six pubs in the village
Market Place
Oak apple day celebrations in the village every May 29th
Castleton at Christmas
Merry Christmas from Oatcake Cottage!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Castleton, Hope Valley, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nettie230...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy & quaint cottage in a lovely village”
Reviewed 13 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Although at first the cottage seems small, it is more roomy than expected. It was very cosy and comfortable, well equipped with just about everything needed. The welcome pack of tea, sugar, biscuits and jug of milk in the fridge was very welcome, also the bowl for the dog with poo bags (in case needed), also the dentstix and spare towels were a nice touch. The cottage was very homely, with lovely little nic-knacks that made it feel like a home rather than a rented cottage. The village was lovely, with lots of little independent shops, you could anything you needed and" The George Inn" is great very dog friendly. Walks for everyone from the door. Could not ask for much more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2016
Thank you for taking time to write such a glowing review. I'm so glad you had a great holiday. Hope your dog did too. Best wishes, Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poadeley
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Mrs”
Reviewed 14 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Thank you so much for a perfect stay at Oatcake! The only thing we were sorry about was that we'd only booked a couple of nights, next time we will definitely stay longer. We found the cottage very thoughtfully furnished and our stay was extremely comfortable, the bed was like sleeping on a cloud and the sofas were lovely. The cottage was very well equipped indeed, especially in the kitchen, and we enjoyed the DVDs and books, which made for an excellent stay. Demelza (our greyhound) enjoyed her stay too, with a cosy sleeping spot under the stairs in the corner of the kitchen, also stretching out on the floor in front of the fire. Thank you too for the little jug of milk and tea and biscuits left out for us, very welcome after a long drive! :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2016
Thank you Hannah for writing such a glowing review. So glad Demelza had a great time as well. The village is very dog friendly. Also, thank you for leaving the cottage so clean. Please do book again for a longer stay.
Best wishes, Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anneandke...
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Lovely village, location and cottage”
Reviewed 9 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We enjoyed our stay in Oatcake Cottage very much.
The cottage had everything we needed and more for our short stay in beautiful Castleton.
The cottage was very well situated in the village with great views from the rear garden and very quiet at night for a good sleep.
Thanks very much Jane,
From Anne and Ken, Sydney Australia.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for taking time to write such a great review. I'm glad you had a good holiday in Castleton.
Best wishes, Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian J
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cosy, comfy cottage”
Reviewed 10 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This cottage is excellent value for money and we found everything there we needed for a comfortable stay. The cottage was very clean and the little cakes, tea bags and milk on arrival were a thoughtful gesture. The bed was very comfortable with nice quality bedding and pillows. The communication with owner was very good and easy. We enjoyed our first stay in the cottage having visted Castleton for a number of years and would happily stay there again next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2016
Thank you for taking time to write such a lovely review of Oatcake Cottage. I'm glad you had a great stay and I look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Best wishes, Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COTTAGETR
1 review
“Perfectly situated for touring The Peak District.”
Reviewed 6 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Our recent stay at Oatcake cottage in Castleton was very enjoyable because it's everything you expect from a cottage and more.Its warm and cosy,very well equipped and has a lovely garden with bench and patio furniture where we enjoyed a glass of wine after long walks in amazing countryside.We're already looking forward to our next visit.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for taking time to write such a lovely review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Oatcake cottage and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes, Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing