We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (889)
Filter reviews
889 results
Traveller rating
373
263
139
61
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
373
263
139
61
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesmain buildinglovely locationcottage roomhand picked hotelsthe fine dining restaurantbanks of the riverafternoon teawedding venuetravelzoo dealwine listwedding guestswedding breakfastsconesrelaxing breaktwo night staywedding reception
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 889 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2018

This could be an excellent hotel with a little more effort from maintenance and housekeeping. A beautiful setting and frontage, grassy bank to the river with abundant wildlife, then the car park and paths are a mess -why. One way system that is totally ignored by staff and tradesmen, why bother. Reception very good, efficient and friendly so on to the room. The booking said "executive double" so we expected something a little different to the normal standard double we are used to in 4* hotels but not so, just a good double room. All a bit 1980s really, lots of wood, decent carpet, and an excellent Hypnos bed, (Premier Inns use them don't they?) so nothing special to warrant executive. We found the en suite had issues but serviceable, good mirror with a heated centre panel, no misting after a shower here, all executives should get one. Excellent nights sleep, we had concerns being so close to East Midlands, but peaceful and quiet throughout our stay. We had dinner in the bar, a nice area with good seating and a more than adequate menu. The food was first class, my sea bass was just right with the fricasse of beans and courgette adding to the flavour of the fish. Joan was delighted with the lamb shoulder, supported by a panache of vegetables making a really satisfying main. The sweets were equally good, my churros reminded me of Spain, with the pear and almond tart being declared a triumph. The breakfasts were up to standard, good buffet choices and a very good selection of cooked dishes to suit most tastes. The staff were at all times friendly, polite and helpful, correcting the minor issues with a smile when requested.
We should not be able to identify five opportunities for improvement in the course of a two night stay in a 4* hotel. The discussion on check out left me with the impression that most had been drawn to the attention of the staff by other guests, so why do they still exist? We had a very good two days in the area and would consider staying at the Priest House again, but would hope the various issues we encountered were resolved before doing so.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Martin_Joan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn C, Guest Relations Manager at The Priest House by the River, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Many thanks for your review. We really do appreciate your comments and feedback regarding your stay. We will ensure your points are addressed with management at the hotel regarding our maintenance and housekeeping. If you wish to discuss further please do not hesitate to contact us directly to do so.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future and look forward to it.
Many thanks again.
The Priest House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018

We went to this hotel for a afternoon tea for 2 that we had been brought as a xmas present, and very nice it was as well,the staff were very friendly and helpful,there was also a wedding happening that day, although some were a little noisy they didn't bother us at all,very nice surroundings,peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank pamela l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn C, Guest Relations Manager at The Priest House by the River, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Many thanks for your lovely review. We really do appreciate your comments and feedback regarding your stay.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon and look forward to it.
Many thanks again.
The Priest House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

It was our wedding anniversary and I decided to take my wife back to the venue of our wedding reception. The setting is idyllic, picture postcard! We arrived at the unattended reception and waited for someone to appear to show us to the dining room. It is a large room and apart from a table of four we were the only diners, which concerned me. We were seated by an open door looking onto a garden which was very unkempt with large weeds and untended shrubs in abundance.
The wine list was the worst I have seen in a “fine dining” restaurant it was presented on a folded single sheet like an American Diner, very poor choice and the only decent wines were out of stock!
The menu is very limited, not what it appears to be on the website however the food we ordered was cooked and presented very well.
Unfortunately the staff were not well presented neither was the venue as a whole. All in all a disappointment. It will a long time before we return.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn C, Guest Relations Manager at The Priest House by the River, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Many thanks for your review. We really do appreciate your comments and feedback regarding your stay. We will ensure your points are addressed with management at the hotels next management meeting and if you wish to discuss further please do not hesitate to contact us directly.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future to see how we have improved for you.
Many thanks again.
The Priest House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

It would be difficult to imagine any improvement on the late lunch that the four of us ordered. The food was totally exquisite in presentation, quality and stunning in taste. No one nowhere could have offered us more as both food and service of staff were outstanding. The young gent who was looking after the bar and our dining room was a gem, a great asset to the management and this beautiful hotel. Which is set in one of the most stunning settings. .. Did we book before we arrived, no. As we had just enjoyed an afternoon at Norton.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn C, Guest Relations Manager at The Priest House by the River, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Many thanks for your lovely review. We really do appreciate your comments and feedback regarding your stay and will ensure they are passed on to the relevant staff.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon and look forward to it.
Many thanks again.
The Priest House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

Disappointing. Even though I had confirmed the booking there was confusion over whether we had booked for lunch or tea. The member of staff serving our table was not welcoming an not customer orientated. The afternoon tea was delicious.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn C, Guest Relations Manager at The Priest House by the River, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Many thanks for your feedback. We do appreciate your comments and feedback regarding your experience and take all comments fully on board.
If you would like to discuss this further so we can get more information from you and give you a full response once we have investigated into further then please email us on enquiries@thepriesthouse.co.uk.

Many thanks.
The Priest House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews