We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Party starts on the steps to the door”
Hollywood House - perfect for large groups and events
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hollywood House - perfect for large groups and events
Large terrace with perfect views, garden furniture, and sun all year round Large decking area with swim spa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Hollywood House - perfect for large groups and events
Large terrace with perfect views, garden furniture, and sun all year round
Large decking area with swim spa
Beautiful all year round
Hot Tub on a large decked area with rattan sofas and swim spa heated all year.
Artic Cabin, perfect area for BBQs
Artic Cabin for those cooler evenings , toasting marshmallows
We offer a professional croupier service to give a casino night experience.
James Dean Bedroom with Bluetooth Juke Box!
Audrey Hepburn Bedroom
Hollywood House 'The place to stay & celebrate'
Judy Garland bathroom
Hollywood House main entrance
Impressive  entrance gates to Hollywood House
Swim Spa over looking fabulous rural views
Marilyn Monroe Bathroom
Judy Garland Bedroom
Marilyn Monroe room ofcourse !
1920's Greta Garbo !
Sophie Loren and her Italian villa
John Wayne Room
Impressive Entrance to Hollywood House
2 spacious lounges
Grand Entrance
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
16 Bedrooms, 14 Bathrooms, Sleeps 40
Belper, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cowleygan...
UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Party starts on the steps to the door”
Reviewed 11 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This house was booked by our family to celebrate a 90th, 60th, two 40ths and two 30ths. This house was built for partying! The minute you walk up the red carpet, seen the stars in the paving you are already in the mood for fun. Although there were 40 adults plus a couple of under 5s, we never got in each others way. Every room has a wow factor. We ate together, we played lots of fun games, enjoyed the hot tub and plunge pool, lounged around on the beautiful decking and enjoyed a night gambling with two excellent croupiers. All in all a fantastic family weekend in this fantastic house. Thank you Julie for being so helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That every room was tastefully done and created the fun
Liked least: Not enough washing up area in kitchen. Dishwashers were great though.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sindy7
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Amazing House for a Special Celebration”
Reviewed 20 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Stayed here to celebrate my 60th birthday weekend with 30 family & friends. Everyone was blown away by this stunning property. Driving up to the house past the wonderful Monkey Puzzle trees lining the drive, then up to the impressive entrance with red carpet, appropriately rolled out, is a great welcome for your guests.

The entertaining rooms on the ground floor are stylish & versatile with bags of space and allow you a choice of ways to configure the furniture, depending on your requirements.

The outdoor space is equally impressive with a huge terrace opening off the dining room offering sweeping views and plenty of seating. Below this is the terrace with the hot tub & plunge pool - both were put to good use as we were lucky enough to have a wonderfully sunny & hot weekend.

Of course, the real star attractions are the amazing themed bedrooms. The attention to detail in each room is excellent. They do vary in size quite a lot, John Wayne room is very compact, Elizabeth Taylor is huge! We also found some of the rooms to be very hot, even with the heating off, so I would suggest, if you are lucky enough to have a hot weekend, to nip round before the guests arrive and open all the windows!

We did a nice stroll across the fields on Saturday lunchtime to a local pub (The Bluebell) which was great at feeding our crowd of 30 - we just rang ahead with menu choices. We used Upper Crust Catering on Saturday evening for our formal dinner & they were superb, highly recommended!

We only had a few small criticisms of the house. The kitchen could be better designed. We found the low level cupboard type fridges very awkward to use. There is a massive, freestanding freezer, the space for this would be better utilised for an American style fridge.

The other minor niggle was that no hair dryers are provided in any of the bedrooms. This took many of us by surprise & could have been an issue if it weren't for a few of our guests having the foresight to pack their own. A quick checklist on what you should bring with you would be helpful.

Throughout our planning & the lead up to the weekend, Julia, of Ashbourne SelfCatering was incredibly helpful. If you are looking for a celebratory location with the 'wow' factor, this is definitely it! The amazing weekend will live long in our memory.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjclement...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hollywood House, Belper, Derby”
Reviewed 5 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Held a joint 40th celebration here with a best friend and our other friends. The place is fantastic, so it's hard to know where to start. The house is set in beautiful grounds and has some incredible views over the countryside. Each of the rooms has been set and styled according to a Hollywood legend and the attention to detail and theming is excellent. The house was immaculate and is quite clearly cleaned by professionals before you arrive. The bedrooms were ample sized as were the bathrooms. The kitchen really is a "catering kitchen" and is fully equipped with cooking facilities for 40 people and sufficient glasses etc, massive fridges and there are also two very efficient dish washers that complete a cycle in a bout 5 minutes. There is one huge conservatory and two reasonable sized lounge rooms as well as a room with a pool table. Although the weather was cold we still used the hot-tub and the Yurt with BBQ in the grounds is a brilliant touch (BBQ is extra cost £50). Everyone who arrived was blown away with the place and wanted to know how we managed to find it. I would definitely recommend - many of my friends wanted to know when we could go back!!! A fantastic weekend. The pictures do not do the place justice it feels far more impressive/bigger when you arrive. (Note in the conservatory room the electricity powers off at 1am - not sure why but it remains on throughout in every other part of the property).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon H
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect for large groups”
Reviewed 1 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Rented Hollywood House for my wives 30th birthday celebrations and had the best weekend we could ever have imagined. The pictures do this place no juice at all and the attention to detail in each room is what makes it so special. We hired a murder mystery and inflatables company separate to add to the fun!

Julia helped with everything and responds almost immediate every time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave342
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great weekend stay”
Reviewed 23 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a 30th weekend break. House was done to a very high spec and each room's theme was brilliant and carefully thought out. Plenty of activities to keep us occupied for the weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing