We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great, spacious large group accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chevin View

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Belper, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
leighp81
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great, spacious large group accommodation”
Reviewed 11 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We spent 3 nights at Chevin View as part of a large group of school friends with small children of various ages. There were 11 adults and 5 children. The booking process was very efficient and Jack was always very quick to get back to me with answers to queries.

The accommodation was exactly as described. It was spacious and very well equipped for such a large group. The large dining table was a real bonus. All the rooms were very spacious and the bathrooms were many and well equipped.

We had a very good stay and I would recommend this house for large groups,

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet_Haw...
Devizes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Roomy, clean, modern house which suited our reunion of university friends (all over 60) perfectly.”
Reviewed 30 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The house on 3 floors was large and roomy so that our group of 11, plus 2 large dogs, was not at all cramped ... and the view across to the hills was magnificent. We could all eat together in either the kitchen or the dining area of the lounge. The kitchen was well appointed and we were able to cook our own Christmas dinner. Four bathrooms and a cloakroom meat that there was no queuing at any time; we parked 5 cars on the drive and 2 in the road. The house was within walking distance of the centre of Belper and the area nearby. There is no Wi-F/internet access but we managed without it. The owner was most helpful and brought us a delicious sponge cake and litre of milk on arrival. It was very reasonably priced. We would certainly consider booking this house again and would recommend it to other large groups, young or old.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsey W
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great lay-out, child-friendly and relaxing environment”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Really good communication with owner made this an easy decision to get the correct format of rooms for several differently-sized families. The location makes it perfect as a base to explore the area and trips to places like Alton Towers are an easy travel from here. The venue is clean and tidy and there is ample parking for the 5 cars that our party needed to bring. A great week, venue is recommended.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimthefis...
oxford
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant multi-family getaway”
Reviewed 7 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed here as a group of three families, with 9 kids aged 6 through to 15 years old. House was lovely and spacious, beds were really comfortable, kitchen was really well equipped and we even had some nice weather!

We visited Calke Abbey, Dovedale and more locally Belper Water Gardens - al;l recommended!

Booking was very easy and all communications with the owners in the run up to our stay were straightforward. I would highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a base in the area for a large group, it's fantastic. Thanks to Jack and team for a wonderful stay.

And the complimentary Victoria sponge was one of the best cakes I've ever eaten, delicious!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Violet-su...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful property”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Stayed in this property for a hen do and it was perfect. The views are outstanding, the property is large, light and airy and perfectly placed for visiting numerous places. Used the hot tub and garden which was lovely In the afternoon and evenings. Would definitely recommend a stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: That the upstairs bathroom didn't have a shoŵer attachment
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing