We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Clean, comfortable and great for our group of 22”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ebenezer Chapel

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
8 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Belper, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anji08
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Clean, comfortable and great for our group of 22”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This was a birthday celebration and had people aged from 1 to 80. The chapel is a good size with plenty of room. The kitchen has all the amenities you would need, with a large dining area that could fit us all around the table. The building has plenty of character being an old chapel but was clean and comfortable with plenty of bedrooms and bathrooms to cater for all our needs. It was a good place for our get together and good value for money. The owners were very accommodating and we enjoyed our stay. Thank you.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2016
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you found the chapel suitable for your needs and had a good break.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unicrew
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely filthy!”
Reviewed 6 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Came here for Easter. Bathrooms looked good from a distance but webs everywhere. Every other plate was vile. The power meter took coins which is now not allowed so will be investigating at work (work for a utility company), so have to add a lot of cash on top of the weekend for electricity!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2015
I was a little dismayed to read this review as the previous guests to this one had written such a lovely write up and stated how they had enjoyed their stay at the Ebenezer Chapel.
Also the person who booked the chapel for this Easter week end had emailed me and said 'We had a lovely stay at the Ebenezer Chapel over the Easter weekend' and went onto to say that they had left some belongings at the chapel, which have since been returned, and I have spoken to him recently and he has repeated his satisfaction with his Easter holiday stay.
The chapel does have an electricity meter, which is fully mentioned in the web site description, and over a week end works out at approximately 50 pence per person.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
babsLancs
lancs
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Large comfortable house, perfect for our annual family gathering.”
Reviewed 27 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

It's difficult to find affordable accommodation for 20 people and Ebenezer Chapel was perfect for our needs. It is large and comfortable. The kitchen is very well equipped with good working surfaces. The lounge has plenty of seating for everyone and the log fire made it very cosy. The house suited the needs of everyone in the party ages ranging from 3 months to 74. We have an annual family gathering and have stayed in places a lot more expensive which were not as comfortable. Yes when we arrived we were a bit concerned about parking but had no problems over the weekend. Nice pubs in the area. The Holly Bush worth walking up to. The King Wiĺliiam next door also very cosy. We didn't eat out. Nice children's play area 2 minutes away and a Wacky Warehouse across the road. Tesco delivered to the house. Everyone wants to return next year. So ill be making another booking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen size and equipment. Seating for everyone.
Liked least: Having to pick up the key. Could a key box with a code be provided?
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2015
Thank you for your review. I am very glad that you had a good weekend and a comfortable stay and it was suitable for all the age groups holidaying. Really hope to welcome you back for another visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra Y
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Plenty of space for get together of all ages but looking tired in places”
Reviewed 13 March 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here with family over Christmas 2014, with 17 of us (aged 6 to 76) we needed a large place to stay and with that in mind Ebeneezer Chapel was just right. There was a Christmas tree and some decorations in place. Plenty of space for the children to play and us all not to be on top of each other. We were a bit concerned about the parking arrangements but the road is wide enough and we managed without any problems.

However, we did have concerns over the cleanliness of the place. The door next to the window in the Middle bedroom was full of cobwebs and mould and had obviously not been cleaned for many weeks. Also, my husband pulled open the bedside cabinet drawer and the front fell off in his hands this must have happened on many an occasion!

In the Front bedroom, there was an amazing array of cobwebs behind the wardrobe which stood at least 8” away from the wall so easily accessible with a feather duster. This was a very damp bedroom. The tiles and the shower tray were very grubby. Also a pair of adult boxers and socks were found in one of the bedside drawers plus a long lost photo dating back to the 1970’s.

The shower tray in the Cliff Bedroom was filthy and also there was a large amount of mould on the wall to the left hand side of the window. The bedside lampshade was hanging off its frame.

The blind to the velux window in Woodside bedroom is hanging off and serves no purpose at all and we didn’t fancy putting our clothes in the chest of drawers.

The kitchen is very well equipped but we found the knobs on one of the cookers easily came off and needed to be fitted back correctly otherwise gas leaked from the rings. The microwaves were on too high a shelf for safety and on the lower one you needed to hold the microwave door shut to make it work.

There was plenty of room at the dining table to accommodate us all but if the full capacity were staying it would be a bit of a tight fit. The leg fell off one of the dining chairs and one of the others very wobbly.

When we 'plumped up' the cushions and tidied in the downstairs lounge we found a Christmas card (not one of ours), one sock, plenty of crumbs and grot at the back of the sofas. Obviously not been properly cleaned for a while.

It would perhaps be nice to have a second vacuum in the property as the one there did seem to spit out more than it picked up. Some of the furniture, décor and bedding is looking very tired.

Despite the above, we did have a wonderful family time together in Derbyshire and the snow on Boxing Day was an unexpected bonus. Would I stay in Ebeneezer Chapel again? Yes I would if I knew the place had been cleaned properly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Plenty of space
Liked least: lack of cleanliness in some rooms
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
j0n1000
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location and lots of space, but a bit tatty”
Reviewed 7 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a great house in lots of ways with tons of space and a playground just down the road. The owner was helpful and it's easy to get to. It's starting to get a bit worn out and run down in places, but with lots of small children that makes it easier to relax! It was more annoying that it was hard to get hot water consistently, while some of the rooms were persistently cold. Overall, an ok place to stay, especially for the price, as long as you're not expecting five star glamour.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 419
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an enquiry to the owner using the above make enquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing