We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Complete and very comfortable holiday cottage.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Spacious lounge and dining area
Super King size bed which can be divided into two 3ft beds
Family bathroom with shower over bath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Belper, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Raymondvd...
Grave, The Netherlands
1 review
“Complete and very comfortable holiday cottage.”
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a very comfortable stay with our daughters (aged 12 and 8) at The Byre this year. Upon arrival we were greeted by owners Helen and Tony who were very friendly indeed and eager to help us with any question or little problem. Inside there were fresh scones with clotted cream and strawberry preserve to welcome us after our journey from Harwich.
We come from The Netherlands and had never visited this part of the UK before. We were pleasantly surprised by the beauty of the Peak District and the interesting sights in and around Derbyshire. The Robin Hood Festival in Sherwood Forest, Treak Cliff Cavern, Haddon Hall and the village of Tissington are but a few of the many interesting and entertaining sights in the region.
Would I recommend this cottage to others? Yes indeed!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
Hi Raymond
Thank you for the great review we are very pleased that you all enjoyed your stay in Derbyshire.
Best wishes
Helen and Tony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs Jean...
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 6 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Stayed at the Byre near Belper and what excellent accommodation, one of the cleanest holiday places I have ever visited, lots of welcoming touches too. Helen and Tony make you feel very welcome and are charming too. I would thoroughly recommend a stay here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2017
Dear Jean and Chris
Thank you very much for telling us how much you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Best wishes
Helen and Tony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vernonmor...
Boston, United Kingdom
1 review
“week at the Byre to visit family”
Reviewed 30 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Lovely cottage has everything you need for a comfortable stay.Really lovely owners we were made to feel very welcome.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2017
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Blackbrook and thank you for your lovely review!
Best wishes
Helen and Tony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyandJa...
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 22 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

What a fabulous place! The location is beautiful. When we arrived and drove up Helen and Tony’s drive, passing their bungalow, we immediately had a good impression as their front garden is so well looked after. The small ornamental lamp posts bordering the drive completed the picture. As we got out of the car Helen and Tony came out of their property to give us a warm welcome.
The Byre is behind their bungalow – not overlooked and with plenty of space to park the car. It is a pretty property with a front patio (including patio furniture) with flowers and large potted shrubs around the edge.
Inside, the property is spacious yet cosy, and everything is immaculate. The living room is well presented and includes books and board games. The kitchen is very well equipped with everything you need, including a dishwasher. There is also a large downstairs bathroom.
Upstairs there are two large bedrooms, each with an en-suite. Also, both bedrooms have full-length mirrors which every woman needs but doesn’t always get, either in rentals or hotels. Helen and Tony have thought of everything and I really do mean everything. When we arrived there was even milk in the fridge and scones with jam and clotted cream …as I said …everything. We were really pleased with The Byre and could find no faults. We would most definitely recommend it. Well done Helen and Tony and thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2017
Wow! Thank you for that fabulous review and thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future.

Best wishes
Helen and Tony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue D
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home from hime”
Reviewed 23 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

A great location and fabulous accommodation. Loved our stay here and we felt relaxed from the moment we arrived. Owners are kind and friendly and yummy scones were left for us on arrival. So spacious inside and lots of thoughtful little extras that make it well equipped e.g. Hairdryer in both rooms. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this property.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Feb 2017
Thank you for taking time to review The Byre, we much appreciate your kind words.
Best Wishes
Helen and Tony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing