We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from Home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hope Cottage

Hope Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hope Cottage
Sitting room Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
24 reviews
Hope Cottage
Sitting room
Master Bedroom
En-suite
Twin bedroom
Kitchen
Family bathroom
Double bedroom
Bunk bedroom
Snug
Rear of cottage
View from back Master Bedroom
Rear of cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ashbourne, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Richard T
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This is the second visit to Hope Cottage, the first being last April for my daughters 21st Birthday. This time is was to stay and celebrate my sons Graduation from Loughborough university.
The cottage has not changed a bit, and is well maintained to a high standard. I enjoyed my time here more this time as before i did not know the owners or how particular they expected their guests to look after the cottage, but i needn't have worried, Kerry is a happy and charming owner who expects you to enjoy the cottage but treat it with respect, much as we do in our own house. indeed we have similar standards. So this time we were able to fully relax and enjoy it fully.
The views from the dining table/lounge are marvellous, and you have your own garden with the same views for your exclusive use, with barbecue and outside tables and chairs. A stroll around the larger gardens of the property reveal and longer walk down to the river Dove (I think) at the bottom of the slope and on a hot day is fantastic.
There is ample parking on the cottages own drive, and there is even a gate to close off from the quiet road (Birdsgrove lane).
There are four bedrooms here, one master ensuite bedroom with the same fantastic view, a second Double room, a twin room and a room with bunk beds. All have premium bedding and all feel like home with a feel of real quality. A second main bathroom is finished to a similar standard.
Downstairs there are two separate lounges both with TV's and wifi which is genuinely good throughout the property.
The kitchen overlooks the dining area with further easy chairs and is great if entertaining. It is fully equipped and has everything you need and more. There is also a downstairs toilet.
The journey into Ashbourne is a short drive, but the feeling here is of a very nice quiet country retreat. A local taxi cost us £4.50 from Hope Cottage to the centre of Ashbourne (we visited the excellent Bridge wine bar) but the only issue here is that the local taxi's are a bit limited when they work, and it is hard to get anyone after 6 in the evening!
The taxi we had also charged us £4.50 for the return journey at 10:30. (Dovelinn)
I would recommend Hope Cottage to anyone looking for a special getaway, and 'Hope' to return before too long.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the quality of the property
Liked least: it can be a bit cool at first
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaurenCH1...
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage inside and out with incredible views”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The cottage looked great on the pictures but it was even better in real life. All the bedrooms were so cosy and clean. The bathrooms were gorgeous and the kitchen dining area was perfect for socialising. The garden and the views were just stunning and everyone in the group were so impressed with how lovely it was. An ideal location to get into Ashbourne yet far enough out to be quiet and peaceful. Would thoroughly recommend it to anyway and would go back in a flash.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the cosy feeling that the cottage had.
Liked least: Nothing not to like
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin G
1 review
“A beautiful place to enjoy the countryside, without losing touch with real life (and Alton Towers)”
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This is a well appointed, spacious country house that easily accommodated our family group of two couples, two singles and a wild toddler.
Thee gardens are amazing with access to play areas and the river.
Loved it!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdhj
Middlesex
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent base to visit Alton Towers”
Reviewed 23 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We wanted a cottage that had easy access to Alton Towers so that we could visit it a few times during our stay but also a cottage that was in a peaceful setting after the hustle and bustle of the theme park. This cottage was perfect for this, it took just 20 minutes to reach the Alton towers car park so our 5 teenage children had a great time there then we could return to the cottage in the evening and have a peaceful time in the cottage and it's lovely outside space. The cottage was clean and had everything we needed during our stay, a great time was had by all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gardens
Liked least: Hadn't realised there were no towels, fortunately we had some anyway as we were planning on going to swimming pool at Alton towers
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kitneeds
Bristol
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed 15 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Hope Cottage: quiet, well-equipped, comfortable, beautiful garden and surrounding area - everything we were looking for. Perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage itself
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing