We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great weekend away!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hope Cottage

Hope Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hope Cottage
Sitting room Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
24 reviews
Hope Cottage
Sitting room
Master Bedroom
En-suite
Twin bedroom
Kitchen
Family bathroom
Double bedroom
Bunk bedroom
Snug
Rear of cottage
View from back Master Bedroom
Rear of cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ashbourne, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TravelCK1...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great weekend away!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Myself and seven friends rented this cottage over Easter weekend. When we arrived we were particularly impressed by the grounds as well as the well kept interior. In particular the photos don't do the kitchen diner justice, this was the ideal size and enabled us to cook a full Sunday roast.

Kerry, the owner, always responded promptly to any queries prior to our stay and the information pack we received via email was pretty comprehensive for the stay.

A particular highlight was the trampoline in the garden!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joeltuson
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous cottage and location”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We booked Hope Cottage with Birdsgrove House for our wedding, this is a gorgeous house with stunning views. The house has been decorated to a really high standard and is really cosy. It was perfect as a separate venue to allow the boys and girls to separate on the day of the wedding. Everything you need is in the property and the owners are fab. The grounds are stunning and we would highly recommend the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage is cosy and modern
Liked least: No complaints
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maddie458
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Better Than Expected- Wonderful Owners”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Booking through holiday lettings: booking through holiday lettings (first time) was very straight forward. I received emails at every stage to inform me of the stages that my booking was going through. I was provided with the number of the owner which was a big help as I booked VERY last minute (booking was made one day prior to stay) and was able to contact the owner.

Confirming the booking: Booking was confirmed by the owner very quickly with the payment being processed safely (Paypal). Once the booking was confirmed, the owners promptly sent me a detailed email which included directions to the cottage, instructions regarding the house and a list of useful contacts in the area (hospital, food etc). All was done with no fuss and very easy.

Owner: The owner was a wonderful help. At one point, there was an issue with the heating in the house and the owner arrived promptly (cute baby in tow!) to help fix the situation. Really really sweet lady who later texted with some suggestions of activities we could do in the area.

House: The house is an absolutely gorgeous piece of estate. The house is clean, tidy with all the necessities including towels, iron, cutlery etc- we really didn't need to bring as much as we did! The internal decor is GORGEOUS and there is a beautiful fireplace in which you can burn logs which is really beautiful. There are two living rooms which is fantastic as the children have their own space to watch tv and relax. The house is located in a beautiful area. The local area is also beautiful and there was many activities for the children and adults alike.

Issues: The only issue for us was the heating. We visited during a particularly cold time and deposit the owner coming and resetting the timings, one radiator in the room with the two singles stayed cold throughout the night resulting in additional duvets having to be used.

Deposit: returned promptly. No problems with that what so ever.

Overall, a fantastic stay. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House and Area
Liked least: Heating Wasn't Perfect
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobandpat...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful location”
Reviewed 11 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Booked through holiday lettings which was not a good experience. They do nothing for their fee and leave everything up to the owner and you to sort out. However, Hope cottage is in a delightful location with wonderful views and large grounds down to the river. The cottage was very clean and comfortable and we had an enjoyable long week end with our children and grandchildren who adored it. We were also pleased with the safe, private location with plenty of room for them to run and play. We would have no hesitation recommending this property to other family and friends and look forward to returning next year. Any queries were promptly answered by email from the owner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Len M
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place but”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This is a very nice comfortable cottage. It's in beautiful grounds with a good walk down to the river Dove.
However, the problem is with the owners and Holiday lettings/TripAdvisor. The owner didn't bother to tell us their contact numbers or details of arrival etc. Then there is no way of contacting Holiday Lettings; they ignored our emails. We eventually managed to contact the owner at the 11th hour. After the holiday it took 4 reminders before we got our deposit back! Nice people but no just not organized. Plus I will never use Holiday Lettings or TripAdvisor again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden and river
Liked least: Support from the owner and TripAdvisor
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2013
Thank you for your response. It was very unfortunate that you did have service that was less than satisfactory from both ourselves and the agent. I cannot comment on the agent but from our point of view, I had gone into labour unexpectedly with my little girl and it had left us in a state of rush and confusion. We take on board your comments but can assure you that your experience is the exception rather than the norm and can only apologise once again for any failings on our part.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing