We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful stay”

Review of Hollybank House

Hollybank House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hollybank House
The log chalet & terrace The Barbecue
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
Hollybank House
The log chalet & terrace
The Barbecue
The Main Lounge
The Dining Room
The Blue Lounge
The Blue Lounge - another view
The Kitchen
The Hall and Main Stairs
Super Kingsize Bedroom - twin or double on request
En-suite Shower Room
The Main Family Bathroom
Twin Bedroom - one of three
The Family Bedroom
The Second Family Bathroom
New Parking Bays
The Garden
The Garden
The Garden
A View from the House
The terrace by night
Hollybank House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Ashbourne, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
stoner1
Newcastle, England
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We had a lovely weekend at holly bank house in May. The house was very well equipped and Ron and Jo left a lovely hamper of goodies for the adults and bags of chocolates for the children. The house was well positioned for easy access into the town. Ron and Jo couldn't have been more helpful with information and they made us feel very welcome. The garden and chalet were great and we spent the evenings sitting on the terrace whilst the kids played the many games in the garden. We would recommend the house for anyone visiting the town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geoartist
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Couldn't wish for a better stay'”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Booked Hollybank house for a 30th birthday get together of thirteen friends and family,
I cannot say how happy we were with our stay! It was more than we could have hoped for - Very well appointed, beautiful venue, stocked with everything you could ever need. So well placed for Ashbourne and near to Carsington Water for a nice day out. The owners were extremely helpful, communicative and very generous leaving us a lovely arrival hamper. Robes in each room along with tea making facilities in the rooms were a lovely touch. Plus a great games cupboard! Shame we didn't get to use the fab BBQ facilities thanks to the rain, but that's England for you! Thank you for a perfect weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How well the property catered for our large group - So well equipped and bedrooms beautiful
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura H
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fab weekend!”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We booked our stay at holly bank house at short notice after being let down last minute by a different holiday rental. The owners couldn't have been more helpful or accommodating providing excellent communication throughout! The house provided the perfect setting for my sisters hen weekend, beautifully decorated and spotless throughout. There is everything you could possibly need from cleaning products and toilet rolls through to hairdryers and bath robes! The welcome hamper awaiting us upon arrival was the icing on the cake!! A perfect weekend in a perfect setting! We hope to return for a family break in the near future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becca H
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very happy hens”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I have just returned from a beautiful surprise stay here for my hen weekend, I arrived to a lovely note and hamper left by the owners, the whole house was beautiful, a large kitchen and massive dining area, huge comfy beds, bath robes for every guest, everything was thought of. A short walk from the lovely town centre we had an amazing time eating, drinking, walking and shopping, there are now 13 very happy but tired hens, we will be returning for a family stay In the near future,

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottishL...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderfull holiday house, 5* would recommend”
Reviewed 4 February 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for New Year and couldn't believe how lucky we were to have found this house. The location was perfect, within walking distance of lovely Ashbourne. The house was spacious, plenty of room for our group of 3 families. Very well equipped making cooking a roast dinner on New Years day easy and our BBQ on New Years Eve amazing. When we arrived we had been given a fabulous welcome pack with lots of goodies getting our stay off to an excellent start. The house was warm and cozy yet spacious. Added touches like the white fluffy dressing gowns was lovely. I could go on for ever but basically it was brilliant, couldn't fault anything, would definately recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and equipment, nothing else could have been provided
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing