We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Trip”
Review of The Okeover Arms

The Okeover Arms
Ranked #14 of 103 Restaurants in Ashbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 16 - USD 24
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Country pub with bed and breakfast set on the edge of the Peak District close to Dovedale, lots of lovely walks for all abilities, close to Alton Towers, Carsington Water, Ashbourne and the Tissington Trail. We serve good quality pub food with an extensive choice also offering a gluten free menu
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Fantastic location for a walking weekend. We walked from Dove Dale to Wolfscote Dale - with the start only a 10 min drive from The Okeover Arms. Breakfast options were filling and room was comfortable. Dinner has lots of options and staff are pleasant. Would definitely stay here again!

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 65 of 512 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

It was very busy day with walkers but we were found a table the staff were very friendly and helpful the menu had plenty of choice the Food tasted really good. Gluten free options were very tasty

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank 501helenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Sid & Jean who own the Oakover Arms are both Lovely and warm and welcoming Landlord and Landlady of the Pub. Food is a defo Must. All cooked fresh to Order. Never had a bad meal there yet. All the Staff are lovely and make u feel welcome. Would definitely recommend going there even if it’s for a drink while out walking or Driving past.
My Reccomened food of the menu is The Ploughman’s salads. Also If your Vegetarian or Vegan. Jean is very good At Adapting the menu to Suit your Needs.

Date of visit: March 2018
2  Thank RamsLad69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

We went on a Friday evening, (we booked a table about 4 days before going) we were a group of 7 and were well looked after by a very young gentleman, who really knew what he could deliver. I guess we made it easy by all ordering fish and chips. They also do smaller portions which are really quite enough for say a smaller appetite.They all arrived with the correct accompanying veg etc. Great fish and chips, this was actually our second visit to the Oakover and I am very pleased to report that the excellent standard of service and pub grub appears to be the norm.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Hugh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

Made several visits to this lovely pub whilst on a week’s break in the Peak District. Menu is fantastic especially Fish and Chip special on Fridays. Lots of local ales and very nice restaurant offering excellent value meals. Great service and welcome in this lovely pub, we will definitely be returning.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Sandylily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Okeover Arms also viewed

 

Been to The Okeover Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing