We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great stay, friendly host”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Robyn Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Wigton, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cordel777
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great stay, friendly host”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Stayed here for the bank holiday weekend. Great place to base our day trips from and perfect to come back to after an active day. Great hospitality from the host.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: ensuite rooms
Liked least: wifi was intermittent but I was meant to be getting away from it all!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C
1 review
“Lovely, Comfortable, Practical. Love it.”
Reviewed 23 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Our second stay here with our four of our grandchildren. Great accommodation, beautifully clean, comfortable, well appointed and practical. Lots to do locally, especially if you are outdoors type people. Owners Elaine and Bob are nice people, friendly, approachable, making sure we are happy and okay without being intrusive.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Time to do stuff with the kids.
Liked least: Didn't not like anything. Its on a working farm which may not suit everyone but we loved it.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Xmas break”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We went to the cottage as a family of 6 adults to spend Xmas.
The cottage was perfect.
Extremely clean and well presented.
Lovely log fire and very welcoming indeed..
The mountain biking at Whinlatter is well worth doing and plenty of good walking
The owners are very friendly and helpful and provided us with fresh milk from their dairy farm when we needed it.
We will definitely return .
Highly recommend

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
d t
bham
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 26 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

What a beautiful place. I cannot rate it highly enough. Log fire, ensuites, superb quality throughout, lovely owner. Gorgeous horse in the field opposite who came for apples everyday. Actually nicest cottage aive ever stayed in.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JTM613
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday house and hosts - makes magnificent memories”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I travelled with my husband and three teenagers and we stayed at Robyn cottage for 2 glorious weeks. One of the best features (there are lots) has to be the owner, Elaine. She is so HELPFUL, friendly and kind, although never intrusive. E.g. she helped us research some outings, photocopied some detailed walks for us and even gave us a lift to the bus stop on the day that the family did different outings. There is a display of outing leaflets like you would get in a shop! The cottage was a delight, totally clean and it felt luxurious. The beds were particularly comfortable. Everything about it was faultless and each room having its own ensuite was a bonus. The showers are extremely powerful. The grassy area was nice and my teenage daughter made friends with Trooper the horse in the adjoining field and she enjoyed chats with his owner, Elaine's niece. We enjoyed the tour of the dairy farm given by Elaine's husband, it was so interesting and informative. There are lots of fantastic outings but be prepared that all are about 20+ minutes away. We did Go Ape, kayaking, climbing, railway, steamer etc.... The heating is very easy to manage and easy to keep at the temp that you like. The memories will keep us going till our next holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So many things - so difficult to say..... maybe that we just settled in so well it felt so comfortable
Liked least: Leaving after 2 weeks
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing