We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy cottage, quiet location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge A well equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Lounge
A well equipped kitchen
Up-Stairs
The Lounge
The Lounge
Local Cows
The playground
Local farm shop
The hoad monument
High Sweden bridge
Above High Sweden bridge
Windermere from Waterhead
Ulverston Channel
Roan head beach
Roan head
Phinlain Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ulverston, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mr_Squirr...
Formby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage, quiet location”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I booked this cottage for a short break with family and it was ideal for us. 2 comfortable bedrooms, well equipped kitchen and the added bonus of an open fire meant that we had a very cosy stay. Across the road is the Wellington pub, with a warm and friendly welcome from Cathy and Darren for everyone who went in. It also has it's own onsite brewery, making at perfect for the real ale drinker. It is ideally located for the South Lakes Wild Animal Park (Safari Zoo), Walney Island nature reserves, Sandscale Haws NT site as well as shopping in Ulverston or Barrow. I would definitely recommend staying here for anyone looking for their "own place" in the Cumbrian countryside for a few days.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2015
Ah yes, we love the open fire. I'm glad you enjoyed it, too. Thanks for a lovely review, we are so grateful
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyH3648
Kuwait City, Kuwait
1 review
“Visiting family in the Lakes.”
Reviewed 22 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Perfect location for what I needed, visiting family in the area. Village is very quiet but not too far from amenities (Ulverston). The Wellington pub is excellent with a very friendly welcome.
The cottage was very clean and more than comfortable. Everything I could possibly need was available in the cottage, with good wi-fi being an added bonus.
Happy to recommend and will definitely be staying again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness & location
Liked least: Parking is a bit tight and I will down-size my hire car next time! Although I was made aware of this before I booked so not complaining!
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We look forward to welcoming you back some time soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BiscuitNJ...
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Needed a good clean”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

When we arrived the place appeared not to have been cleaned properly between stays - mouldy crisps and lemon slices on the floor, crumbs in the grill tray and generally a lot of dust and dirt. If you go outside summer and want the place to be heated on arrival ask the owners to switch the storage heaters on the night before you arrive. If you don't the place will be cold as the storage heaters generate the heat overnight. No starter pack was provided for the fire so it would be a good idea to you bring your own fuel, firelighters and kindling. Parking is very limited outside the cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2015
Since your visit we have undertaken a deep clean and we have improved the way that we schedule routine / deep cleans for the benefit of future guests. This has been a difficult review to receive, but I am grateful to you for bringing this to our attention.

Over Easter, we have also redecorated, installed a new fridge/freezer, added a dining table and chairs to the garden, and fitted blackout curtains to the bedrooms. Sadly too late for you, unless you would like to give us a second chance.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terri F
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great little hideaway close to the lakes!”
Reviewed 19 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Fantastically stocked kitchen, with all the implements you can hope to have. great coal fire. Sadly the carpets up the stairs and in bedrooms were a bit grotty and could have done with a deep clean. Admittedly it is hard keeping things clean out in the countryside, surrounded by farmland! My children had fun admiring the sheep and lambs in the field at the back. we even tried to show the way out to a lamb who had strayed into another back yard, but it would not budge. I think eventually his mummy or a human being must have helped him out! Thank you for books and DVDs left on the dresser, they were really appreciated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fireplace.
Liked least: Bathroom was cold!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2015
Thank you for your kind comments and we agree about the carpets. We'll be getting them cleaned as soon as we can.
Also, we have redecorated, fitted black out curtains and replaced the fridge freezer and the hoover over Easter 2015.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rawtenstall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the open fire and the pub 20 metres away!
Liked least: slightly cold bathroom!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Apr 2015
thank you for your kind comments.
Over Easter 2015, we have updated the cottage to improve our guests' experience
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing