We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing stay with beautiul views”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Orchard Cottage

Dining table overlooking Orchard Cottage garden to the Lakeland fells in the distance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining table overlooking Orchard Cottage garden to the Lakeland fells in the distance
Apples from the Orchard Cottage garden View across Orchard Cottage's field
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
48 reviews
Dining table overlooking Orchard Cottage garden to the Lakeland fells in the distance
Apples from the Orchard Cottage garden
View across Orchard Cottage's field
Sitting area with bed settee
You will see lots of bird life at Orchard Cottage
Wood burning stove for cosy nights by the fire
Lovely comfortable bed looking out over Orchard Cottage field
Beautiful Portmerion tableware
Wooden chess set
View from the kitchen into the living room
Front of Orchard Cottage with apple trees in blossom on the right
View across the wooden deck
Very comfortable couches to relax on
Orchard Cottage
View from the side of Orchard Cottage with Hoad Monument in the distance
View from the back deck
Small shower room with toilet
Orchard Cottage behind the blossoming trees - taken in the month of May
Writing bureau with information on the local area
Check out the lovely comments in our visitors book in the vestibule
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Ulverston, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Natasha R
newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay with beautiul views”
Reviewed 7 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

My boyfriend and I stayed at cottage between 1st and 3rd of september 2017. We drove through fab surroundings to get there. Once found with the help of Jenny (the owner) we arrived to a beautiful cottage with a lush green garden filled with apple and plum trees. The cottage inside was the perfect space for two. A cosy rustic feel with a log fire. The garden area was my favourite as you can sit and take in the amazing views with a drink in hand. There are so many things to do in the surrounding area. We decided to go to our fav place while there - windermere which only took about 30-40 mins. And the local town only 2-3 miles away had plenty of lovely pubs and places to eat. Jenny kindly left us some milk, tea and coffee and also let us check out later on the sunday for a lie in. Was really the perfect stay if you want to just snuggle in for a few days or if you need a great location for walks and drives. My only suggestion for improvement is the cleanliness, the cottage as a whole is lovely and clean. But things like pans and the can opener weren't the best (though i am such a clean freak!) Besides that I would most certainly return and defo reccommend :-) thankyou for having us!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2017
Thanks for the kind review Natasha. It was lovely having you stay and you definitely, as a clean freak, left the cottage beautifully. Take on board your comments about the pans etc. In mitigation would say that, if a back to back booking, 3 hour turn around, difficult to clean cottage and all the pots, pans and cutlery in the cupboard as well so do depend on guests cleaning them properly after use. Everything checked on a longer turn round. However, i will make a point of asking my cleaner to do a quick check on pans etc. on every turn round Look forward to seeing you again, when it's cold next time so you can make use of the log fire.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyble T
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
“Lovely and quiet cottage that is well located for touring the Lake District.”
Reviewed 26 August 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Orchard Cottage is a lovely and very well located spot for getting around all the areas in the Lake District. It's been so nice to come back to its restful quiet after a day hiking or touring the local gardens and estates. Jenny is a warm and very helpful hostess. I would definitely stay here again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2017
Was my pleasure Kybie, you were the perfect guest and will always be welcomed back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoyMcManc...
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect post Xmas unwind”
Reviewed 29 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Arrived Boxing Day with my two children to find a welcome as warm as the open fire that had been lit for us by the owner.
The cottage is spotlessly clean and very charming.
We awoke to beautiful views and a wide assortment of wild birds that were feeding on the feeders on the old apple tree outside the dining area
Breakfast was a delight watching all the different species helped by the thoughtful bird book that had been left for our information
It's the perfect place to explore the Lakes and we will be back
Slept so well in the comfy bed and the sofa was a welcome retreat in front of the fire after a long days walking
Bathroom is small but functions perfectly with a hot powerful shower
The rest of the spacious cottage is a home from home with everything you could need
I will be making it top of my list for a spring visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2017
So lovely to meet you and your charming family Joy and thank you for the review. Hope to meet you all again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Oct 2016
Aw thanks Ben, what a lovely review and of course I ageee with every word you say. Look forward to welcoming you on your next visit when you want to get away from it all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cruiser54...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“5star price, 2star accomodation”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Wet room,very small, poor water pressure & the plug in the very small wash basin wouldn't seal.Basic equipment in kitchen area, 4 ring hob but only a combi microwave for cooking.
The settee & chair in the lounge area had seen better days, when sat in you find yourself much closer to the floor than expected. The bedroom although small was just bearable but
the mattress was like lying on a bag of coal and dipped in the middle.
We were very disappointed with this holiday cottage and won't be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
Oh dear, it sounds like you got all confused while booking. We do not offer ‘5 star’ accommodation. The cottage has only ever been rated ‘3 stars’ by the official tourist board system. The good news is we are very competitively priced in the market and a quick check online tells me that you would indeed have paid more for a budget priced room in Barrow-in-Furness, South Cumbria, than you did for a week in our private, secluded cottage set amongst green fields in the South Lakes.

I was pleased to see you enjoying our deck that overlooks the adjoining fields and it was my pleasure to offer you and your guests to the cottage extra chairs in an effort to make your stay a comfortable one - despite the 2 stars given in this category we hope both the view and the service in this instance exceeded anything you might have experienced in a budget room, with window, in South Cumbria.

If in any doubt about 5 star pricing - a quick search of impressive establishments in the lakes will reveal that one could quite easily spend considerably more for one night in a 5 star room than for one week in our cottage.

If however you were referring to the Trip Advisor star system I fear there is still some confusion. A 5 star rating on trip advisor is not related to price but the overall assessment by previous guests as to what the accommodation offers. As it stands on this date in 2016 there can be no doubt that we are 5 Stars in this sense (as we have an average rating of 5 stars from the previous 30 guests - which includes your own 2 star rating data point).

Yes, it is well documented that the wet room is small. Although unfair to rate the cleanliness of the room down based on its size.

While we take all feedback seriously we need to weigh your negative comments with the overwhelming positive comments we have had about the cottage. I will conclude by saying that we are always maintaining and improving the cottage and will continue to to do our very best to make Orchard Cottage a warm and welcoming place for our valued guests to come and enjoy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing