We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely and quiet cottage that is well located for...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Orchard Cottage

Dining table overlooking Orchard Cottage garden to the Lakeland fells in the distance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining table overlooking Orchard Cottage garden to the Lakeland fells in the distance
Apples from the Orchard Cottage garden View across Orchard Cottage's field
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
45 reviews
Dining table overlooking Orchard Cottage garden to the Lakeland fells in the distance
Apples from the Orchard Cottage garden
View across Orchard Cottage's field
Sitting area with bed settee
You will see lots of bird life at Orchard Cottage
Wood burning stove for cosy nights by the fire
Lovely comfortable bed looking out over Orchard Cottage field
Beautiful Portmerion tableware
Wooden chess set
View from the kitchen into the living room
Front of Orchard Cottage with apple trees in blossom on the right
View across the wooden deck
Very comfortable couches to relax on
Orchard Cottage
View from the side of Orchard Cottage with Hoad Monument in the distance
View from the back deck
Small shower room with toilet
Orchard Cottage behind the blossoming trees - taken in the month of May
Writing bureau with information on the local area
Check out the lovely comments in our visitors book in the vestibule
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Ulverston, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kyble T
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
“Lovely and quiet cottage that is well located for touring the Lake District.”
Reviewed 26 August 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Orchard Cottage is a lovely and very well located spot for getting around all the areas in the Lake District. It's been so nice to come back to its restful quiet after a day hiking or touring the local gardens and estates. Jenny is a warm and very helpful hostess. I would definitely stay here again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2017
Was my pleasure Kybie, you were the perfect guest and will always be welcomed back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoyMcManc...
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect post Xmas unwind”
Reviewed 29 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Arrived Boxing Day with my two children to find a welcome as warm as the open fire that had been lit for us by the owner.
The cottage is spotlessly clean and very charming.
We awoke to beautiful views and a wide assortment of wild birds that were feeding on the feeders on the old apple tree outside the dining area
Breakfast was a delight watching all the different species helped by the thoughtful bird book that had been left for our information
It's the perfect place to explore the Lakes and we will be back
Slept so well in the comfy bed and the sofa was a welcome retreat in front of the fire after a long days walking
Bathroom is small but functions perfectly with a hot powerful shower
The rest of the spacious cottage is a home from home with everything you could need
I will be making it top of my list for a spring visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2017
So lovely to meet you and your charming family Joy and thank you for the review. Hope to meet you all again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Oct 2016
Aw thanks Ben, what a lovely review and of course I ageee with every word you say. Look forward to welcoming you on your next visit when you want to get away from it all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cruiser54...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“5star price, 2star accomodation”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Wet room,very small, poor water pressure & the plug in the very small wash basin wouldn't seal.Basic equipment in kitchen area, 4 ring hob but only a combi microwave for cooking.
The settee & chair in the lounge area had seen better days, when sat in you find yourself much closer to the floor than expected. The bedroom although small was just bearable but
the mattress was like lying on a bag of coal and dipped in the middle.
We were very disappointed with this holiday cottage and won't be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
Oh dear, it sounds like you got all confused while booking. We do not offer ‘5 star’ accommodation. The cottage has only ever been rated ‘3 stars’ by the official tourist board system. The good news is we are very competitively priced in the market and a quick check online tells me that you would indeed have paid more for a budget priced room in Barrow-in-Furness, South Cumbria, than you did for a week in our private, secluded cottage set amongst green fields in the South Lakes.

I was pleased to see you enjoying our deck that overlooks the adjoining fields and it was my pleasure to offer you and your guests to the cottage extra chairs in an effort to make your stay a comfortable one - despite the 2 stars given in this category we hope both the view and the service in this instance exceeded anything you might have experienced in a budget room, with window, in South Cumbria.

If in any doubt about 5 star pricing - a quick search of impressive establishments in the lakes will reveal that one could quite easily spend considerably more for one night in a 5 star room than for one week in our cottage.

If however you were referring to the Trip Advisor star system I fear there is still some confusion. A 5 star rating on trip advisor is not related to price but the overall assessment by previous guests as to what the accommodation offers. As it stands on this date in 2016 there can be no doubt that we are 5 Stars in this sense (as we have an average rating of 5 stars from the previous 30 guests - which includes your own 2 star rating data point).

Yes, it is well documented that the wet room is small. Although unfair to rate the cleanliness of the room down based on its size.

While we take all feedback seriously we need to weigh your negative comments with the overwhelming positive comments we have had about the cottage. I will conclude by saying that we are always maintaining and improving the cottage and will continue to to do our very best to make Orchard Cottage a warm and welcoming place for our valued guests to come and enjoy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richie197
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect little cottage”
Reviewed 12 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

What a perfect little spot we found ! The cottage is gorgeous as is the surrounding area . Jenny the hostess is very friendly and is happy to help with anything . Some people I have seen on here have complained about the size of the wet room but I am a 20st builder and I had no problems having a shower , this place really did tick all the boxes for us and we would love to return next year

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2016
Thanks for the lovely review and the positive comment on the shower room. It is not for everyone but most people are ok with it and as you say is big enough and functional. Hope to see you next year, especially as I missed you this year with being away, which accounts for the late response
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing