We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cake......”
Review of Gillam's

Gillam's
Ranked #16 of 81 Restaurants in Ulverston
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

Lovely surroundings. We sat upstairs which was nice and quiet. Sat by the window although our view was slightly restricted, sitting n the corner.

Had a large slice of cake. Was quite nice although I would like to try other items.

Staff were very friendly and welcoming

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank jimbK1727CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

Lovely characterful building.
Amazing range of teas and my pot of Darjeeling was so delicious!
Fantastic cheese toastie and awesome cakes
Friendly staff.
Perfecto !

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank TravellersontheTyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018

It took someone in our family several visits here to realise it's a veggie restaurant! The food is so good, and feels so indulgent, yet is all made with really top notch ingredients and with a healthy approach. The kids' menu is incredible value and they are very tolerant of messy mini eaters! The Welsh rarebit is incredible, and the tea selection here is wonderful.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank TripSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

Absolutely brilliant tearoom that oozes character, great staff, superb food with great options including vegan food,wine and beers, the food is of superb organic quality.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank 330stevev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

We visited today after a stroll around Ulverston. It was very busy when we arrived, so I thought it must be popular. There are various options to sit downstairs, outside in the garden or upstairs inside. There’s a huge choice of leaf teas (which are also available for purchase). We had avocado on toasted sourdough, a toasted tea cake, tea & coffee. All was lovely. Despite the place being super busy when we arrived, our order was taken swiftly (table service!) and also arrived quickly. The staff were derwishly quick to clean vacated tables. Atmosphere was nice with piano music in background. Would come again.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Conny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gillam's also viewed

Ulverston, Lake District
Ulverston, Lake District
 
Ulverston, Lake District
 
Ulverston, Lake District
 

Been to Gillam's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing